Skip to main content

International Advertising and Marketing: Non-JWT International Collections

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

From the OAAA Collection

http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/media/jpg/oaaaarchives/med/BBB5743.jpg

General outdoor advertising press conference at the Inmerial Hotel, Tokyo, Japan. March of 1959.

Agency Records

Bates Worldwide Records, 1934-2003

The Bates Worldwide, Inc. Records spans the years 1934-2003 and includes correspondence, corporate policy manuals, photographs, publications, graphic designs, print advertisements, electronic records and videocassettes that document the activities of this major global advertising agency over the course of its corporate life. Due to its many mergers, Bates Worldwide maintained numerous international offices in Asia, Europe, Latin America and North America.

D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles Archives, 1929-1995

The D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) Archives consists of advertising agency records spanning the years 1929 to 1995. The bulk of the material dates from the 1950s to the mid-1980s. The Archives includes material that documents aspects of three advertising agencies: D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B), Benton & Bowles (B&B), and D'Arcy-MacManus & Masius (D-MM). International material ranges from papers and speeches on the best methods for developing global markets and records pertaining to the London office, founded in 1962.

McCann-Erickson Audiovisual Collection, 1980s-1990s and undated

The McCann-Erickson Audiovisual Collection spans the 1980s and 1990s and consists of over 700 videocassette tapes of commercials for domestic, international and global advertising campaigns. Also included are tapes of competitor commercials; interviews with agency and industry leaders and marketing specialists; and presentations. The bulk of materials consist of advertisements for campaigns in the United States, but Brazil, Japan and Germany are also heavily represented, as are commercials for Europe-wide campaigns.

Wunderman Archives, 1946-2010 and undated

The Wunderman Archives span the years 1946-2010 and comprise the administrative records of direct-mail and direct marketing agency Wunderman and its predecessor entities Wunderman Ricotta & Kline, Wunderman Worldwide, Wunderman Cato Johnson, and Impiric, as well as its subsidiary offices in the U.S. and abroad, associated firms such as Stone & Adler and Chapman Direct, and its relations with parent company Young & Rubicam. It includes general office files, policy and procedure manuals, training materials, awards, account files, new business records, professional papers of founder Lester Wunderman and other key executives, samples of client campaigns, photographs, slides and audio cassettes and videocassettes. Due to its many mergers, Wunderman maintained numerous international offices in Asia, Europe, Latin America and North America.

Professional Papers

Jock Elliott Papers, 1945-2005 and undated, bulk 1961-1982

John Jock Elliott was an executive with Ogilvy & Mather (O&M) during 1960-1982, including tenure as Chairman of O&M U.S. and O&M International. The collection contains news and magazine clippings related to Jock Elliott's overseas travels as Chair of O&M international. Also features notes from meetings that pertain to the management of international accounts.

John O'Toole Papers, 1954-1990 and undated

The John O'Toole Papers cover the years 1954-1990, with the bulk of materials dating from the 1980s, roughly the period when O'Toole served as Chairman of Foote, Cone & Belding (FCB), and as an executive with the American Association of Advertising Agencies (AAAA). The collection contains reports, correspondence, and organizational information related to the operations of FCB's international offices. Also includes itineraries from O'Toole's trips to visit several of these offices.

Anthony Weir Papers, 1954-2006 and undated

The Anthony Weir Papers span the years 1954 through 2006 and include advertising copy, brochures, clippings, memoranda, correspondence, photographs, and slides representing Weir's advertising career, especially his work for BBDO and Ogilvy & Mather (O&M). The collection contains materials pertaining to Weir's tenure as managing director of several international offices, including Euramerica International Advertising, Leo Burnett Asia and Leo Burnett Argentina.

Leo Bogart Papers, 1912-2005 and undated

The Leo Bogart Papers span the years 1912-2005 and document Bogart's professional work with the Newspaper Advertising Bureau; as a mass media expert; and as an author and public speaker. The collection includes correspondence, clippings, articles, speeches, books, journals, chapters, drafts, proposals, notes, reports, scrapbooks, resumes, interviews, schedules, programs, pamphlets, administrative records, research materials, publications, promotional materials, ephemera, yearbooks, student papers, military records, photographs, negatives, and slides. Materials of note include records pertaining to Bogart's tenure as mass media consultant with the Innovation International Media Consulting Group.

Advertising Associations

Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA) Archives, 1885-1990s

The Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA) Archives document the operations and activities of the OAAA, the primary professional organization throughout the modern history of the outdoor advertising industry in the U.S. The series contains files on a wide range of outdoor advertising companies, associations and expositions around the world. Most of the material is dated in the 1970s and 1980s, and serves to provide more of a sense of the global reach of outdoor advertising than an in-depth understanding. Canada and England are the most heavily represented countries in this series, but there are also limited materials on the outdoor industry elsewhere in the world.

Preliminary Guide to the Mobius Advertising Awards Collection, [1970s]-2002, bulk 1984-2002

Collection consists primarily of television commercials, although it includes some radio commercials, which were entered for Mobius awards presented in 1971-1999. The collection is divided into two main series: North American and International. The tapes are then ordered according to product type/category (105 in all) ranging from automotive, children's products, commercial products, food, home care, set design, talent, and others. The entries document what ad agencies feel are their best works from the U.S. and abroad.

Subject Guide

Josh Larkin Rowley's picture
Josh Larkin Rowley
Contact:
Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library
919-660-5833