Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Advertising and Marketing: Brazil

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Advertisements Collections

Iconographic Collection, 1848-2005

The Iconographic Collection includes black-and-white and color photographs, negatives, slides, contact sheets, photograph albums, and microfiche. It is an artificial collection created to document the facilities, key events, advertising highlights and corporate culture of JWT. Photographs from Brazil (1946-86) cover people, buildings, and clients.

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Rio de Janeiro office (1969-2004) and Sao Paulo office (1930-89).

35mm Microfilm Proofs Collection, 1906--1960 and undated

Collection contains pre-1934 advertising proofs from a number of JWT's international offices including Sao Paulo. Clients include Atlantic Refineries, Blue Star Lines, Casa Pratt, Eastman Kodak, Fleischmann's yeast for health, Goodrich, General Motors, Oakland, Jantzen, Johnson Sea Horses, Maiyena, Dryea, Leite Moca, RCA tubes, Refinacoes de Milbo Brasil, Royal baking powder, and Casa Forte de Sur America.

Professional Papers

Harry Clark Papers, 1945-1992

Harry Clark was an advertising executive who served as Director of JWT's Frankfurt Office and eventually of JWT's New York Office; Managing Director of Landsdowne Advertising, a JWT subsidiary; and co-founder of Smith Clark Associates, a consulting firm based in Princeton, N.J. International Offices series contains includes correspondence, financial reviews, marketing plans, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Rio de Janeiro (1975) and São Paulo (1972-76).

Glen Dell Papers, 1969-1989

Glen Dell served from 1984-1986 as an executive in finance and administration with JWT Group. Collection includes financial reports, correspondence, acquisition and investment information, as well as materials on JWT's subsidiaries and international operations. International Operations series includes material on JWT in Brazil (1985).

Peter Gilow Papers, 1960-1978

Peter Gilow was an advertising executive of JWT. The papers document the development of the Frankfurt Office. They consist primarily of correspondence between Peter Gilow and the heads of JWT's international offices, including Rio de Janeiro (1962-74) and Sao Paulo (1962-73).

Denis Lanigan Papers, 1958-1964

Denis Lanigan was an advertising executive at JWT and joint manager of JWT's Frankfurt Office. The Other Offices series contains letters, telexes and telegrams, memoranda, notes, clippings, client lists, printed materials, policy statements, reports, drafts of speeches, and meeting minutes with over thirty-five JWT offices worldwide, including Rio de Janeiro (1960 and 63).

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Brazil (1983-86).

Thomas Sutton Papers, 1965-1975

Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT's international operations. Annual Marketing Plans and Reports series contains status and planning reports from JWT's international operations, including Rio de Jianero (1966-73). The Central and South American Office Files series contains documents assessing countries' economies, politics, and advertising and media markets as the context for then reviewing individual JWT offices' financial and organizational performance, including for Brazil (1967-69).

Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with JWT from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The International Offices series contains files documenting Wilson's tenure as head of JWT's international operations, including Brazil in general, Rio de Janeiro, and Sao Paulo (1945-71).

Shirley F. Woodell Papers, 1943-1958

The collection documents the operations of JWT primarily through correspondence and reports written by Woodell during and immediately after his business trips. The Office Files and Correspondence series contains carbon copies of correspondence, memoranda, reports, expense reports, a survey form, maps, notes, and itineraries, including Brazil (1943-58).

Other Records and Papers

Diamond Information Center Vertical File, 1930s-1980s

The Diamond Information Center (DIC) operates as the public relations division of the diamond marketing group at J. Walter Thompson on behalf of De Beers Consolidated Mines, Ltd. The file is organized into numbered, topical sections that cover a broad range of subjects relating to diamonds, the diamond industry, and the fashion design industry, including diamond mining in Brazil.

International Offices Records, 1929–1998

The International Offices Records primarily contain financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. The General Office Files and Sepecific Offices and Countries series include materials on Brazil (1943-91). Collection also includes undated audiovisual materials from Brazil.

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Brazil (1958-85).

16mm Microfilm Investigations, 1913--1950 and undated

The Investigations collection consists of research reports, market and campaign studies, account histories, and other investigative documents. Contains numerous Brazilian market studies for Blue Star Line, Lehn and Fink, Pond's, and Royal baking powder.