Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Advertising and Marketing: Venezuela

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Advertisements Collections

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Caracas office (1950s-89).

Personal Papers

Loy Baxter Papers, 1954-1978

Loy Baxter was an executive who held a range of positions during a 30 year career with JWT, including General Manager of JWT Mexico.The collection includes material on Baxter’s trip to Caracas (1966-67).

Harry Clark Papers, 1945-1992

Harry Clark was an advertising executive who served as Director of JWT's Frankfurt Office and eventually of JWT's New York Office; Managing Director of Landsdowne Advertising, a JWT subsidiary; and co-founder of Smith Clark Associates, a consulting firm based in Princeton, N.J. Includes correspondence, financial reviews, marketing plans, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's Caracas office (1974-75).

Peter Gilow Papers, 1960-1978

Peter Gilow was an advertising executive of JWT. The papers document the development of the Frankfurt Office. They consist primarily of correspondence between Peter Gilow and the heads of JWT's international offices, including Caracas (1963-74).

Denis Lanigan Papers, 1958-1964

Denis Lanigan was an advertising executive at JWT and joint manager of JWT's Frankfurt Office. The Other Offices series contains letters, telexes and telegrams, memoranda, notes, clippings, client lists, printed materials, policy statements, reports, drafts of speeches, and meeting minutes with over thirty-five JWT offices worldwide, including Caracas (1963).

Joseph O'Donnell Papers, 1947-1987

Joseph O'Donnell was an executive with JWT and served as the company's Chief Executive Officer during 1986. International Offices series contains primarily correspondence and memoranda between JWT employees and clients in international office, including Caracas (1986).

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Caracas (1981-86).

Lee Preschel Papers, 1964-2001

The W. Lee Preschel Papers span the years 1964-2001 and document Preschel's career as president of JWT's Latin American operations. Preschel founded JWT Venezuela in 1964 and served as President of JWT Latin America from 1980-1987. includes series of newsletters from JWT Venezuela (1970-84) and other publications about Venezuela.

Thomas Sutton Papers, 1965-1975

Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT's international operations. Annual Marketing Plans and Reports series contains status and planning reports from JWT's international operations. The documents assess the respective country's economy, politics, and the advertising and media market as the context for then reviewing the individual JWT office's financial and organizational performance, including Caracas (1966-73).

Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with JWT from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The International Offices series contains files documenting Wilson's tenure as head of JWT's international operations, including Caracas (1958-67).

Shirley F. Woodell Papers, 1943-1958

The collection documents the operations of JWT primarily through correspondence and reports written by Woodell during and immediately after his business trips. The Office Files and Correspondence series contains carbon copies of correspondence, memoranda, reports, expense reports, a survey form, maps, notes, and itineraries, including Venezuela (1946-58).

Other Records and Papers

International Offices Records, 1929–1998

The International Offices Records primarily contain financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. Includes office files from Venezuela (1974-91).

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Venezuela (1970-85).