Skip to main content

International Advertising and Marketing: China

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Collections

Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with JWT from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The International Offices series contains files documenting Wilson's tenure as head of JWT's international operations, including Hong Kon (1955-63).

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Hong Kong (1961-90) and Shanghai (1997).

John R. Maher Papers, 1970-1987

John R. Maher managed corporate development for JWT. The collection contains research and presentations regarding the state of advertising in China; materials related to preparing a trip to China; slides from a presentation given on advertising in China; and information about JWT client activity in China (1977-1986).

International Offices Records, 1929–1998

The International Offices Records primarily contain financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. Includes office files from Hong Kong (1978-85).

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including China (1985-86) and Hong Kong (1981-86).

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Hong Kong (1984).

Penney P. Burnett Papers, 1973-1987

The papers cover the years during which Penney P. Burnett worked for JWT as a consultant for investor relations. General Office Documents include observations on economics and politics within the Republic of China on JWT companies located in Japan, Hong Kong, and Beijing (1985).

Glen Dell Papers, 1969-1989

Glen Dell served from 1984-1986 as an executive in finance and administration with JWT Group. Collection includes financial reports, correspondence, acquisition and investment information, as well as materials on JWT's subsidiaries and international operations. International Operations series includes material on JWT China (1985).

Joseph O'Donnell Papers, 1947-1987

Joseph O'Donnell was an executive with JWT and served as the company's Chief Executive Officer during 1986. International Offices series contains primarily correspondence and memoranda between JWT employees and clients in international office, including China (1986).  

From the Collections

Advertisement for the Red Cross from the Hong Kong JWT office, 1987. JWT International Advertisments Collection, Box AP3.