Skip to main content

International Advertising and Marketing: Germany

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Collections

Frankfurt Office Advertisements Collection, 1950–1991

Ads span the years 1950 through 1991 and include newspaper and magazine print advertisements, tear sheets and proofs. Clients include BASF, Burger King, De Beers, Dunlop, Ford, Kraft, Lever Brothers, Pan Am, and Singer. Most advertisements are in German, although some are in English.

Frankfurt Office Audio-Visual Materials, 1956–1993

Primarily television commercials for various clients and products represented by the Frankfurt office of the J. Walter Thompson Co. advertising agency. Also includes slides and videos used in corporate presentations.

Black (George) Papers, 1968–1989

Includes long-term account planning for individual clients, regional strategy planning for Scandinavia and for the GSA, comparison of international advertising styles and regulations, and J. Walter Thompson Co. worldwide organizational changes. Well-documented clients include: Braun, Campari, DeBeers, Elida Gibbs, Ford, Jacobs, Kellogg, Kraft, Lever-Sunlicht (Unilever), Nestle, Singer, Pepsi, Warner-Lambert, and Wick.

Brungs (Herbert) Papers, 1969–1988

Account manager and executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt Office in the 1970s and 1980s. The papers of Herbert Brungs span the years 1969 to 1988 and document Brungs' activities as representative to the German trade organization GWA and the as the executive in charge of employee education. The collection contains general files, client files, organizations files, and writings and speeches files. Approximately 80% of collection is in German.

Clark (Harry) Papers, 1970–1973

Focus on his career at J. Walter Thompson Co. GmbH (Frankfurt) Office during the 1970s. extensive records from the Frankfurt Office., major clients include De Beers, Pan American, and Unilever. Majority of collection is in English, the remainder is in German.

Gilow (Peter) Papers, 1960–1978

Papers document the development of the J. Walter Thompson Co. GmbH/Frankfurt Office, specifically covers the developments and transformation of German advertising since the end of World War II in television, radio, and print.

Henkel (Wilfried) Papers, 1957–1987 (bulk 1975–1984)

Papers of the managing director of J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt, an early proponent of corporate advertising and the T-plan (target plan) of JWT's corporate strategy, 70% of collection is in German.

Ihlfeld (Hans) Papers, 1969–1978

Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. offices in Frankfurt, Zurich and Vienna in the 1970s.

Lanigan (Denis) Papers, 1958–1964

Covers J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt Office, specifically the efforts to increase and improve the use of television and print advertising in Europe and to improve coordination of international J. Walter Thompson Co. Offices, majority of documents are in English.

Miscellaneous Files, 1960–1992

Contains small quantities of surviving files that document the activities of a number of high-ranking officers at J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt, along with material from subject files. Unprocessed.

Schwarz (Burkhard) Papers, 1973–1989

Correspondence, personnel files, financial summaries, client files, and files of prospective business contacts. Clients include Nestle, Kodak, Burger King, Ford, Sunlicht, Elida, Kellogg, and DeBeers.

Siebel (Paul-G.) Papers, 1968–1975 (bulk 1969–1975)

Primarily in German, contains correspondence with domestic and international offices, mostly concerned with the advertising industry, media planning, account direction, production of advertisements, and business management of J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt.

Thomas Sutton Papers, 1965-1975

Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT's international operations during the 1960s-1970s. Annual Marketing Plans and Reports Series Contains status and planning reports from JWT's international operations. The documents assess the respective country's economy, politics, and the advertising and media market as the context for then reviewing the individual JWT office's financial and organizational performance. Frankfurt, 1967-75.

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Dusseldorf office (1984-85), Frankfurt office (1980-91), and Hamburg office (1987-88).

International Offices Records, 1929–1998

The International Offices Records primarily contain financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. Includes office files from Germany (1929, 1974-85, 1996).

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Germany (1961-95).

Advertising Vertical File, 1950–1994

The Advertising Vertical File consists of files on a wide range of advertising topics, comprised of news clippings, articles, and pamphlets. Includes undated files on Germany.