Skip to main content

International Advertising and Marketing: Thailand

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Collections

Glen Dell Papers, 1969-1989

Glen Dell served from 1984-1986 as an executive in finance and administration with JWT Group. Collection includes financial reports, correspondence, acquisition and investment information, as well as materials on JWT's subsidiaries and international operations. International Operations series includes material on JWT Bangkok (1985-86).

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Bangkok office (1985-2003).

Sidney A. Olson Papers, 1957

The papers of Sidney A. Olson consist of reports and artwork created during a trip to identify production locations in Asia and the Middle East for the Ford Motor Company television campaign, "Proved and Approved Around the World." Includes reports, descriptions, and production sketches of Bangkok (1957). 

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Thailand (1982-86).

Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with JWT from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The International Offices, Trip Files, Financial Files, and Personnel Files series all include materials from or about Thailand (1969).