Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Advertising and Marketing: Canada

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Canada

Advertisements Collections

Advertising Vertical File, 1950–1994

The Advertising Vertical File consists of files on a wide range of advertising topics, comprised of news clippings, articles, and pamphlets. Includes undated files on Canada.

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Montreal office (1940-99) and Vancouver office (1981-90).

35mm Microfilm Proofs Collection, 1906--1960 and undated

Collection contains pre-1934 advertising proofs for a number of JWT's international offices including Montreal and Toronto. Clients include Gruen, Goodrich, Gillette, Fleischmann's baking powder and yeast, Royal yeast cakes, Shell Oil, Kraft, Magic baking powder, Libby's, Lafayette, Windsor Duo towel, Chase & Sanborn coffee, Clover Leaf salmon, Cream of Wheat, and Cutex.

Professional Papers

Sidney Ralph Bernstein Company History Files, 1873-1964

The collection consists of materials Sidney Ralph Bernstein gathered for writing a commemorative history of the JWT Company at the time of its centennial anniversary. The history was not published. The collection documents the history of JWT through personal reminiscences, recollections, and evaluations of the company by its executives and other employees; advertising executives; women in the advertising industry; and J. Walter Thompson, founder of the company. The International Office series contains personal narratives and research about Canada.

Harry Clark Papers, 1945-1992

Harry Clark was an advertising executive who served as Director of JWT's Frankfurt Office and eventually of JWT's New York Office; Managing Director of Landsdowne Advertising, a JWT subsidiary; and co-founder of Smith Clark Associates, a consulting firm based in Princeton, N.J. Includes correspondence, financial reviews, marketing plans, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's Toronto office (1973-75).

Glen Dell Papers, 1969-1989

Glen Dell served from 1984-1986 as an executive in finance and administration with JWT Group. Collection includes financial reports, correspondence, acquisition and investment information, as well as materials on JWT's subsidiaries and international operations. International Operations series includes material on JWT in Canada (1985-86).

John F. Devine Papers

John F. Devine was first an administrator of the Radio/Television Department  at JWT and then a corporate executive in the New York office.There is a significant amount of correspondence, memoranda, and reports focusing on the Montreal office and the difficulty of establishing and sustaining profitable accounts in Canada (1966-1970).

Herbert Eames Papers, 1974-1985

Herbert Eames was an executive at JWT and served as the company's Chief Financial Officer and Executive Vice President of Finance and Administration. The papers relate to the operations and finances of JWT offices and subsidiaries around the world. The collection includes material on JWT Canada, a subsidiary of JWT (1980-84).

Peter Gilow Papers, 1960-1978

Peter Gilow was an advertising executive of JWT. The papers document the development of the Frankfurt Office. They consist primarily of correspondence between Peter Gilow and the heads of JWT's international offices, including Montreal (1967-70), Toronto (1962-74), and Vancouver (1962-67).

Denis Lanigan Papers, 1958-1964

Denis Lanigan was an advertising executive at JWT and joint manager of JWT's Frankfurt Office. The Other Offices series contains letters, telexes and telegrams, memoranda, notes, clippings, client lists, printed materials, policy statements, reports, drafts of speeches, and meeting minutes with over thirty-five JWT offices worldwide, including Montreal (1960), Toronto (1959-64), and Vancouver (1963).

Samuel W. Meek Papers, 1917-1980

Samuel Meek served as Vice President in Charge of International Operations of JWT. Working out of the New York office as the head of the International Department, Meek established offices around the world, provided continuing support and advice to the heads of these international offices, made policy decisions related to international operations, and served as a consultant to a number of U.S. government and private agencies concerned with international relations and commerce. The International Offices series include correspondence with Toronto (1945-65) and market research about Canada.

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Canada (1984-86).

Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with JWT from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The International Offices series contains files documenting Wilson's tenure as head of JWT's international operations, including Montreal and  Vancouver (1954-65).

Other Records and Papers

International Offices Records, 1929–1998

The International Offices Records primarily contain financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. Includes office files from Canada  (1963-85).

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Canada (1959-76).

16mm Microfilm Investigations, 1913--1950 and undated

The Investigations collection consists of research reports, market and campaign studies, account histories, and other investigative documents. Contains numerous Canadian market studies for household ammonia, newspaper reading habits of adolescents, baking powder, yeast cakes, and Pond's.