Skip to main content

International Advertising and Marketing: England

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Advertisements Collections

Advertising Vertical File, 1950–1994

The Advertising Vertical File consists of files on a wide range of advertising topics, comprised of news clippings, articles, and pamphlets. Includes undated files on Great Britain.

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from London office (1921-97) and Manchester office (1981-91).

35mm Microfilm Proofs Collection, 1906--1960 and undated

Collection contains pre-1934 advertising proofs for a number of JWT's international offices including London. Clients include Pineoleum, Odo-ro-no, Marconiphone Loudspeaker, McVitie & Price Ltd., Lux soap and flakes, Horlicks, Libby, McNeill & Libby, Johnson Sea Horses, Jantzen, Ideal Hrue Dairies, Royal baking powder, Sun Maid raisins, Swift's, Vaseline, Eastman Kodak, Goodrich, Hall's wines, Harpic, Pond's, Pyrex, Ramntree's candies, Rinso, General Motors, Atkinson face powder, Beech-Nut chewing gum, Bink's paint spray, Boot's chemists, Frank's Foods, Brisling, Chileau Nitrate Producers Association, Ltd., L.C. Smith and Corona, Cream of Wheat, Cutex, and Courtauldo rayon.

Personal Papers

Sidney Ralph Bernstein Company History Files, 1873-1964

The collection consists of materials Sidney Ralph Bernstein gathered for writing a commemorative history of the JWT Company at the time of its centennial anniversary. The history was not published. The collection documents the history of JWT through personal reminiscences, recollections, and evaluations of the company by its executives and other employees; advertising executives; women in the advertising industry; and J. Walter Thompson, founder of the company. The International Office series contains personal narratives and research about England.

Harry Clark Papers, 1945-1992

Harry Clark was an advertising executive who served as Director of JWT's Frankfurt Office and eventually of JWT's New York Office; Managing Director of Landsdowne Advertising, a JWT subsidiary; and co-founder of Smith Clark Associates, a consulting firm based in Princeton, N.J. Includes correspondence, financial reviews, marketing plans, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT in England (1969-75). Includes advertisements from Bermuda, undetermined office (1928-31).

Peter Gilow Papers, 1960-1978

Peter Gilow was an advertising executive of JWT. The papers document the development of the Frankfurt Office. They consist primarily of correspondence between Peter Gilow and the heads of JWT's international offices, including London (1962-74).

Arnold Grisman Papers, 1934-1997

Arnold Grisman joined JWT as a copywriter and rose to become Creative Director of the New York Office and an Executive Vice President. Contains speeches, interviews, presentations, proceedings, clippings, and correspondence that document the work of key JWT staff, including London office (1958-86).

Howard Henderson Papers, 1867-1978

Howard henderson was a JWT advertising executive. Client material on Chesebourgh-Ponds includes correspondence with London office (1938-62), soome of which describes life in London during the Blitz and the ways in which World War II impacted the advertising business. Papers include research about the London office for a history of JWT.

Denis Lanigan Papers, 1958-1964

Denis Lanigan was an advertising executive at JWT and joint manager of JWT's Frankfurt Office. The Other Offices series contains letters, telexes and telegrams, memoranda, notes, clippings, client lists, printed materials, policy statements, reports, drafts of speeches, and meeting minutes with over thirty-five JWT offices worldwide, including London (1958-64) and Salisbury (1960).

Samuel W. Meek Papers, 1917-1980

Samuel Meek served as Vice President in Charge of International Operations of JWT. Working out of the New York office as the head of the International Department, Meek established offices around the world, provided continuing support and advice to the heads of these international offices, made policy decisions related to international operations, and served as a consultant to a number of U.S. government and private agencies concerned with international relations and commerce. The International Offices series include correspondence with and market research about England (1942-79).

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including London (1982-88) and Manchester (1983-84).

Thomas Sutton Papers, 1965-1975

Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT's international operations. Annual Marketing Plans and Reports series contains status and planning reports from JWT's international operations. The documents assess the respective country's economy, politics, and the advertising and media market as the context for then reviewing the individual JWT office's financial and organizational performance, including London (1966-70).

Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991

Edward G. Wilson was an executive with JWT from 1930 until his retirement in 1971, and held the positions of General Counsel, Executive Vice-President and Secretary of the Company. The International Offices files document Wilson's tenure as head of JWT's international operations, including London (1933-71).

Other Records and Papers

London Office. Terry Bullen Papers, 1979-2002

Terry Bullen was an advertising executive at the JWT London Office who worked in New Business and as Director of Planning. The papers consist primarily of presentations and research reports made by JWT. Clients represented include Allied Breweries, Ansell's Bitter (Carlsberg), Beconase (GlaxoSmithKline), British Airports Authority (BAA), Esso, Golden Wonder, Mr. Kipling, Tetley, and Warner Lambert Health Care.

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from England (1935-2003).

16mm Microfilm Investigations, 1913--1950 and undated

The Investigations collection consists of research reports, market and campaign studies, account histories, and other investigative documents. Contains numerous British market studies for baking powder.