Skip to main content

International Advertising and Marketing: Greece

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Collections

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Athens office (1972-90).

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Italy (1963-83).

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Greece (1964).

International Offices Records, 1929–1998

The International Offices Records primarily contain financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. Includes office files from Greece (1975-85).

Harry Clark Papers, 1945-1992

Harry Clark was an advertising executive who served as Director of JWT's Frankfurt Office and eventually of JWT's New York Office; Managing Director of Landsdowne Advertising, a JWT subsidiary; and co-founder of Smith Clark Associates, a consulting firm based in Princeton, N.J. INternational Offices series includes general information about Greece (1974-75).

Glen Dell Papers, 1969-1989

Glen Dell served from 1984-1986 as an executive in finance and administration with JWT Group. Collection includes financial reports, correspondence, acquisition and investment information, as well as materials on JWT's subsidiaries and international operations. International Operations series includes material on JWT Greece (1985-86).

Peter Gilow Papers, 1960-1978

Peter Gilow was an advertising executive of JWT. The papers document the development of the Frankfurt Office. They consist primarily of correspondence between Peter Gilow and the heads of JWT's international offices, including Athens (1967-78).

Samuel W. Meek Papers, 1917-1980

Samuel Meek served as Vice President in Charge of International Operations of JWT. Working out of the New York office as the head of the International Department, Meek established offices around the world, provided continuing support and advice to the heads of these international offices, made policy decisions related to international operations, and served as a consultant to a number of U.S. government and private agencies concerned with international relations and commerce. The International Offices series includes small collection of correspondence with Greece (1959-62).

Joseph O'Donnell Papers, 1947-1987

Joseph O'Donnell was an executive with JWT and served as the company's Chief Executive Officer during 1986. International Offices series contains primarily correspondence and memoranda between JWT employees and clients in international offices, including Athens (1986).  

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Greece (1980-86).

Paul-G. Siebel Papers, 1968-1975

Paul-G. Siebel was Geschäftsführer (General Manager) of JWT's Frankfurt Office. Offices series contains typed and handwritten letters, memoranda, telexes and telegrams, notes, speeches, reports, news releases, articles, and questionnaires pertaining to JWT's international offices worldwide, including Athens (1972).