Skip to main content

International Advertising and Marketing: Finland

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Collections

Joseph O'Donnell Papers, 1947-1987

Joseph O'Donnell was an executive with JWT and served as the company's Chief Executive Officer during 1986. International Offices series contains primarily correspondence and memoranda between JWT employees and clients in international offices, including Helsinki (1986). Speeches and Writing series also contains materials on Helsinki.   

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Finland (1985-86).

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Helsinki office (1985-87).

16mm Microfilm Investigations, 1913--1950 and undated

The Investigations collection consists of research reports, market and campaign studies, account histories, and other investigative documents. Contains numerous Finnish market studies for automobiles.