Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Advertising and Marketing: Argentina

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Advertisements Collections

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. The Latin America series contains advertisements from Argentina (1930-1990), including Ford, Exxon, and Rolex, among other clients.

35mm Microfilm Proofs, 1906-1960 and undated

Collection contains pre-1934 advertising proofs a number of JWT's international offices including Buenos Aires.  Clients include General Motors, Frigidaire, Eastman Kodak, and numerous local clients.

Professional Papers

Harry Clark Papers, 1945-1992

Harry Clark was an advertising executive who served as Director of JWT's Frankfurt Office and eventually of JWT's New York Office; Managing Director of Landsdowne Advertising, a JWT subsidiary; and co-founder of Smith Clark Associates, a consulting firm based in Princeton, N.J. International Offices series contains correspondence with Buenos Aires office (1973-75).

Denis Lanigan Papers, 1958-1964

Denis Lanigan was an advertising executive at JWT and joint manager of JWT's Frankfurt Office. The Other Offices series contains letters, telexes and telegrams, memoranda, notes, clippings, client lists, printed materials, policy statements, reports, drafts of speeches, and meeting minutes with over thirty-five JWT offices worldwide, including Buenos Aires (1963).

Jack Peters Papers, 1965-1989

Jack Peters worked at JWT 31 years and served as Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT-USA and then JWT-Worldwide. International Offices series contains correspondence, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, audit information, information on features of various markets in specific regions, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's international offices, including Argentina (1980-86).

Thomas Sutton Papers, 1965-1975

Thomas Sutton was an executive in charge of JWT's international operations. Annual Marketing Plans and Reports series contains status and planning reports from JWT's international operations, including Argentina (1965-73). The Central and South American Office Files series contains documents assessing countries' economies, politics, and advertising and media markets as the context for then reviewing individual JWT offices' financial and organizational performance, including Argentina (1967-68).

Shirley F. Woodell Papers, 1943-1958

The collection documents the operations of JWT primarily through correspondence and reports written by Woodell during and immediately after his business trips. The Office Files and Correspondence series contains carbon copies of correspondence, memoranda, reports, expense reports, a survey form, maps, notes, and itineraries, including Argentina (1943-58).

Other Records and Papers

International Offices Records, 1929–1998 and undated

The International Offices Records primarilycontain financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. Includes office files from Argentina (1972-94).

Newsletter Collection, 1910-2005 

The Newsletter Collection comprises the agency's internally produced newsletters. The International Newsletters Series of this collection includes publications from Argentina (1956-86).

16mm Microfilm Investigations, 1913-1950 and undated

Collection consists of research reports, market and campaign studies, and other investigative documents.  Contains numerous populations studies on various Argentine cities, studies of dentifrice use, the local press, and brand-specific reports for General Motors and Royal Baking Powder.

From the Collections

A magazine advertisement for Ray Ban sunglasses, 1984. International Advertisements Collection, Box LA1.