Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Advertising and Marketing: Turkey

This is a guide to collections at the Hartman Center documenting the J. Walter Thompson Company's history as a transnational advertising agency, including its international advertising and marketing activities outside of the United States.

Collections

Harry Clark Papers, 1945-1992

Harry Clark was an advertising executive who served as Director of JWT's Frankfurt Office and eventually of JWT's New York Office; Managing Director of Landsdowne Advertising, a JWT subsidiary; and co-founder of Smith Clark Associates, a consulting firm based in Princeton, N.J. Includes correspondence, financial reviews, marketing plans, meeting reports, travel documentation, presentation files, as well as general administrative memoranda for JWT's Turkey office (1975).

Victor Gutierrez Papers, 1970-1987

Victor Gutierrez served as Executive Vice President of the Finance division and as Chief Financial Officer at JWT. International Offices series contains primarily office agreements and reports related to the business, including financial gains and losses, and files related to trips made to international offices by Gutierrez; includes Turkey (1986).

Samuel W. Meek Papers, 1917-1980

Samuel Meek served as Vice President in Charge of International Operations of JWT. Working out of the New York office as the head of the International Department, Meek established offices around the world, provided continuing support and advice to the heads of these international offices, made policy decisions related to international operations, and served as a consultant to a number of U.S. government and private agencies concerned with international relations and commerce. The International Offices series includes small collection of correspondence about Turkey (1959-62).

Joseph O'Donnell Papers, 1947-1987

Joseph O'Donnell was an executive with JWT and served as the company's Chief Executive Officer during 1986. International Offices series contains primarily correspondence and memoranda between JWT employees and clients in international office, including Turkey (1986).  

Sidney A. Olson Papers, 1957

The papers of Sidney A. Olson consist of reports and artwork created during a trip to identify production locations in Asia and the Middle East for the Ford Motor Company television campaign, " Proved and Approved Around the World." Includes reports about Istanbul (1957).

International Advertisements Collection, 1900-2004

The International Advertisements Collection consists primarily of print advertisements, along with some transparencies, photocopies of advertising, and other collateral material that document some of JWT's international advertising campaigns through the 20th century. Includes advertisements from Istanbul office (1980s).