Skip to main content

Korean Studies

About Korean Film Collection

Duke's Korean Film collection
The collection includes about 1,900 DVDs and some videocassettes. 
Videos, DVDs and CDs are stored in the closed stacks of Lilly Library. You can search for all materials at Catalog Home.

Related Web Resources on Korean Films

•  e-영상역사관
   Korean Government media archives; Taehan News and documentaries (films, voice recording)

•  EBS DocuPrime (EBS 다큐프라임)
EBS (Educational Broadcasting System in Korea) provides documentary programs produced by EBS. It is also available at YouTube.

•  Korean Film Archive (한국영상자료원)
   The Korean Film Archive collects and preserves moving image materials as cultural heritage. In addition, the Archive has a specialized film library to provide easier digital access to film-related information.

•  Korean Classic Film Theater at Youtube
   Korean classic films with Engish subtitles at Youtube provided by Korean Film Archive

•  Korean Film Council (영화진흥위원회)
   Searchable Korean film database including information on film, people, and film company. Directory and Korean Film News are provided.

•  KMDB (한국영화데이테베이스)
   Searchable Korean Movie Database on films, people, images, articles, criticisms, scenarios, and publications

• Korean Classic Film VOD

   KMDB VOD provides well-known Korean films from 1930 to 1990 including some quite classic films, documentaries and national videos as well as independent films. As of September 2018, 346 films are provided with free VOD service. Needs login to KMDB account. 

•  Koreanfilm.org
   Fansite launched in 1999 that includes reviews, discussion board, and blogs

•  Books about Korean Cinema

•  Bibliography of Korean Cinema