Skip to main content

Korean Studies

Dictionaries

NTC’s compact Korean and English dictionary
East Asian Collection PL937.E5 N15 1997

Includes 20,000 entries with Korean words in Romanized Korean and Korean characters

Hangugŏ pyojun parŭm sajŏn : parŭm kangse ridŭm  
한국어표준발음사전 : 발음강세리듬
East Asian Reference PL915 .Y42 2002

This dictionary can be used as a good guide for the standard pronunciation of spoken Korean language. It also includes vowel length, accent, rhythm and intonation. Every word is followed by Chinese characters, which makes it easier to understand the meaning of the words.

Chinese characters in Korean: a “radical” approach: learn 2,300 Chinese characters through their 214 radicals
East Asian Reference PL935.5 .W458 2001

This book is intended as a practical guide to learning Korean through Chinese characters. The approach in this book is, using the 214 Chinese “radicals (roots)” to explain the meaning of some 2,300 Chinese characters including all of the 1,800 “standard” characters used in Korean.
The vocabulary lists are alphabetized by Korean, English, and first Chinese character.

Korea: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS902 .P737 1999

This dictionary provides factual information about events, people, and topics in the history and culture of Korea. It also provides readers with five pages on the McCune-Reischauer Romanization system. Included in this dictionary are entries on historical events from ancient Korea to today, an extensive list of persons, politics, literature, language, philosophy, religion, and art. 

All entry headings are capitalized, in bold font, and listed alphabetically, using the English alphabet. The entries appear sometimes in English and other times in Romanized Korean with an English translation of the term. Many of the entry headings include Chinese characters, which are useful.

Historical dictionary of the Republic of Korea
Perkins/Bostock Reference DS904.8 .N34 2004

This dictionary written in English covers various aspects of South Korean life, including domestic, political, and social events; foreign affairs; and the men and women who have influenced the country’s history. The extensive bibliography includes the most current and useful books, journals, and websites, making this a valuable reference source for the scholar, student, and general reader.

Hanguk munhwa sangjing sajon = Dictionary of Korean myths and symbols
한국문화상징사전
East Asian Reference DS904 .H26993 1992

This dictionary is intended to illuminate Korean culture by describing the cultural meaning of traditional Korean myths and symbols.

North Korea Handbook
Perkins / Bostock Reference DS932 .N6658 2003

This book is the English-language version of the North Korea Handbook published by the Yonhap News Agency in Seoul, Republic of Korea. This handbook contains updated and comprehensive information on North Korea, including politics, the economy, society, diplomacy, the military, geography, culture and sports, and many other useful reference data, such as biographies of around 1,200 influential North Koreans.

Hanguk hyondae sosol sosoro sajon
한국현대소설소설어사전
East Asian Reference PL967.7 .K569 2

This dictionary includes the words used in Korean novels from 1888 to 1999. For each word it provides examples of sentences within the novels with the names of the authors and books. It also includes a chronology of the history of Korean novels.

Hanguk Hyondae munhak taesajon
한국현대문학대사전
East Asian Reference PL951.6 .H276 2004

As the Encyclopedia of Modern Korean Literature, this book covers modern Korean literature from the late 1900s to 2000. This book includes authors, works, historical literary events, etc.

Hanguk munhak taesajon
한국문학대사전(韓國文學大事典)
East Asian Reference PL951.6 .H36 1992

This book includes authors, literature, the history of Korean literature, etc.

Hanguk yosong munin sajon
한국여성문인사전
East Asian Reference PL957.9 H.359 2006

Hanguk ui soktam taesajon
한국의속담대사전
East Asian Reference PN 6519.K6 C535 2006