Skip to main content

Korean Studies

History

Korean History On-line (한국역사정보통합시스템)

Integrated digital library on Korean history. Korean History On-line provides a rich and unique resource on Korean history to provide historical materials in Korea. The database includes classical works, ancient documents, historical maps, official court records of the Choson Dynasty such as the Sungjongwon ilgi (Diary of the Royal Secretariat), materials related to anti-Japanese movement during the colonial period, important modern literature, newspapers and magazines, Korean translations of the works in Classical Chinese, and a basic dictionary of Korean history among many other items.

Korean History: A Bibliography

Compiled by Kenneth R. Robinson, this is on-line searchable bibliographies written in English on Korean History. This bibliography covers many features of Korean history. The subjects include political, diplomatic, and economic history, historical linguistics, art history, literature, philosophy and religion, and overseas Koreans, etc. History index includes archaeology, Kochosun, Three Kingdoms, Koryo, Choson, late 19th century, post-liberation era, Korean War, North Korea, etc

The Annals of the Choson Dynasty (조선왕조실록)

The Annals of the Choson Dynasty (朝鮮王朝實錄) comprise 1,893 books covering 472 years (1392~1863) of the history of the Choson Dynasty, from the reign of King Taejo, the founder, to the end of the reign of King Cheoljong. To broaden public access to the annals, the Korean government has supported the project of translating them into Korean from the original classical Chinese.
This searchable online resource of the Annals of Choson Dynasty is treasured historical, political, and diplomatic materials for research on the relations of Japan, Manchuria, China, and the Ryukyus. They also provide useful information about Korea's modern history, the initial period of the open-door policy advancing to the European nations, America, and other countries. Accessible to articles by calendar or by searching key words for integrated materials, translated text (Korean translation) and original text (Chinese scripts).

The Daily Records of Royal Secretariat of Chosun Dynasty (승정원일기)

Seungjeongwon Ilgi, The Diaries of Royal Secretariat of the Joeson Dynasty, recorded for the 271 years of the dynasty from March 1623 (the 1st year of King Injo, 仁祖) to the June 1894 (the 31st year of the King Gojong, 高宗) the daily royal accounts, administrative affairs, and court ceremonies which were in the purview of the Royal Secretariat. The keeping of diaries began in the founding year of Joseon Dynasty, but those of the kings before King Injo were burned to ashes during the Japanese invasions of Korea and by palace fires.
It provides primary reference sources for the compilation of Annals of the Joseon Dynasty, which are already listed as a documentary heritage on UNESCO's Memory of the World, testimony to their invaluable attributes. Accessible to articles by calendar or by searching key words.

Korea Studies Information Center (왕실도서관장서각디지털아카이브)

This is an Internet service for experts in Korean Studies, providing a standard for Korean history. The Academy of Korean Studies has been building Korean Studies Database by digitalizing the old books and documents from the royal Jangseogak Library and the researches done by the Academy of Korean Studies since 1999. With the Korean Studies Database, it is easy to access to the valuable old books and documents in Korean history.

Korean History Database (한국사데이터베이스)

한국사연구휘보