Skip to main content

Selected JWT Collections: I-P

Selected J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT) Collections in the Hartman Center

I-P

Ihlfeld (Hans) Papers, 1969–1978
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. offices in Frankfurt, Zurich and Vienna in the 1970s.
Jones (Alun), 1930–1984
Financial executive at JWT's Toronto and New York offices during the 1960s–1970s, holding the positions of Secretary–Treasurer and Executive Vice-President; elected to their Board of Directors in 1974. The bulk of the collection dates from the late 1970s, and contains files primarily relating to Jones's work as a financial executive and administrator.
Johnston (Don) Papers, 1964-1996
CEO of J. Walter Thompson in the 1970s. Chairman of JWT Group in the 1980s.
Kaatz (Ronald B.) Papers, 1915–1996
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co.; taught at Northwestern University.
Kennedy (James W.) Papers, 1979–1982
Executive and Director of Human Resources with J. Walter Thompson Co. Unprocessed.
Lanigan (Denis) Papers, 1958–1964
Covers J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt Office, specifically the efforts to increase and improve the use of television and print advertising in Europe and to improve coordination of international J. Walter Thompson Co. Offices, majority of documents are in English.
Maher (John R.) Papers, 1970–1987 and undated
Executive specializing in corporate development and account management.
Manning (Burt) Papers, ca. 1970s–1986
Administrative files including client and account files, newspaper clippings, correspondence, personal materials, and speeches. Unprocessed. Access restricted.
Meek (Samuel Williams) Papers, 1917–1980 (bulk 1945–1962)
Contains Meek's correspondence as the head of the International Department of the J. Walter Thompson Co. New York Office on international operations and policy
Metter (Bertram) Papers, 1960s–1980s
Direct marketing specialist; Chairman of the Board of J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1980s.
Newman (Blaise) Papers, 1964–2002
Executive and account representative with J. Walter Thompson Co. Detroit Office. Paper collection guide in the Reading Room.
Newman (Eleanor) Papers, 1974–1985
Office Manager of the J. Walter Thompson (JWT) Entertainment Group, and Account Representative for the Health & Tennis Corporation account.
O'Brien (Wally) Papers, 1978–1987
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. New York, Chicago and London offices; directed Multinational Client Services in the 1980s. Unprocessed.
O'Donnell (Joseph) Papers, 1947–1987
Executive with JWT and served as the company's Chief Executive Officer during 1986. The bulk of the material in the collection documents that one year.
Olson (Sidney A.) Papers, 1957
Reports and artwork created during Olson's trip to identify production locations in Asia and the Middle East for the Ford Motor Company Television Campaign "Proved and Approved Around the World."
Peters (Jack) Papers, 1965–1989 and undated
Chief Operating Officer and President of JWT–USA (1984–1987) and JWT–Worldwide (1986–1987).
Platt (Lucile Turnbach) Papers, 1926–1930
Documents testimonial advertising campaigns and spokesperson selection for campaigns for Simmons beds, boxsprings and Beautyrest mattresses.
Preschel (W. Lee) Papers, 1966–1998
President of J. Walter Thompson Co. Latin American operations.