Skip to main content

Selected JWT Collections: A-C

Selected J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT) Collections in the Hartman Center

Collections A-C

Account Files Collection, 1885–1987
Account histories and records for various J. Walter Thompson Co. accounts of the 20th century. Collection is fully processed as of May 2013, but is subject to change if there are new acquistions.  Check with archivist for most current collection guide.
Achenbaum (Alvin A. Papers), 1948-2011
Market researcher and account executive who worked for J. Walter Thompson Co. as well as other agencies.
Advertising and Marketing Intelligence (AMI) Records, 1979–1981
Information on the Advertising and Marketing Intelligence (AMI) database, a JWT/NYT advertising and marketing news database; and, AD/KIT, or "Advertising Key Information Tracking System."
Advertising Vertical File, 1950–1994
Subject files on a wide range of advertising topics. Comprised of news clippings, articles, and pamphlets.
Artifacts and Memorabilia Collections, 1888–2004
Wide range of material from various J. Walter Thompson Co. offices, including tapes, clothing, plaques, coffee mugs, etc.
Audio-Visual Materials, Frankfurt Office
See entry under Frankfurt Office.
Balestrino (Charles J.), 1987–1993
Executive Vice President of J. Walter Thompson Co. New York in the 1990s.
Bartos (Rena) Papers, 1966–1996
Chiefly files related to her research on various marketing trends, in particular, marketing and women. Includes speeches, articles, book manuscripts and supporting slides, graphics, research and subject files.
Bathon (Greg) Papers, 1967–1970
Managing Director of J. Walter Thompson-India in the 1960s and 1970s; President and Chief Operating Officer of J. Walter Thompson Co. USA in the 1980s.
Baxter (Loy) Papers, 1954–1978, bulk 1966–1967
Executive in management and public relations 1947–1977.
Bernstein (Sidney Ralph) Company History File, 1873–1964
Primarily research files created for a commemorative history of J. Walter Thompson Co. at its centennial (1964).
Biographical Information, ca. 1916–1998
Biographical information about employees of J. Walter Thompson Co. assembled by the Information Centers and Public Relations departments. Files contain clippings from newspapers, magazines, and J. Walter Thompson Co. publications, press releases, company biographical sheets, memoranda, thumbnail sketches, and photographs.
Black (George) Papers, 1968–1989
See full entry under Frankfurt Office.
Brungs (Herbert) Papers, 1969–1988
See full entry under Frankfurt Office.
Bullen (Terry) Papers, 1967–1992
See full entry under London Office
Burnett (Penney P.) Papers, 1970–1987
Collections contains material related to her work as a consultant for investor relations at JWT, primarily pertaining to investments and acquisitions made by JWT in the US, Europe, Australia, Asia and South Africa.
Carlton (William James) Diaries and Biography, 1862–1877
Transcripts of Carlton's diaries and a draft manuscript of a biography of Carlton by F. M. Robins. Carlton created the agency that became J. Walter Thompson Co.
Carroll (Carroll) Papers, 1934–1979
Personal and professional correspondence, memoranda, and telegrams, relate to Carroll's role as head writer of "Kraft Music Hall," his involvement with the Office of War Information, his writing for Bob Hope, and as a contributor to Variety magazine.
Chicago Office
Marketing Vertical File, 1937–1997
Contains publications on magazine, television, and other media marketing that J. Walter Thompson Co. staff used for reference. Paper collection guide in the Reading Room.
Media Resources and Research Department Records, 1959–2000
This department was responsible for media research and media planning support activities within JWT's Chicago Office. The collection primarily primarily includes proprietary research reports on a wide variety of topics relevant to media planning, usage and evaluation.
Non-Proprietary Research Reports, 1980–1999
Research prepared or collected by the J. Walter Thompson Co. Chicago office for use as a reference and research tool, but not on behalf of specific clients; includes market and consumer research reports.
Personnel Records, 1978–1983
Personnel records for "exempt" and "nonexempt" employees. Records from 1980 are missing. Unprocessed. Access restricted.
Records, 1908–2000
Vertical files from J. Walter Thompson Co. Chicago and other J. Walter Thompson Co. offices, along with proof files and several hundred market research summations of various product categories.
Clark (Harry) Papers, 1970–1973
See full entry under Frankfurt Office.
Competitive Advertisements Collection, ca. 1910s–1997
Advertisements of products which were competitors of J. Walter Thompson Company clients. Ads were clipped from magazines and newspapers by J. Walter Thompson Co. staff. Paper collection guide in the Reading Room. [only post 1955 open to research.]
Connell (Hugh P.) Papers, 1926-1986 and undated (bulk 1966-1986)
            Executive Vice President and Director of JWT and JWT Group, Inc.
Corporate Documentation, 1896-1988
Primarily consists of minute books to the regular meetings of JWTs stockholders and Directors; administrative and finance records; and reports. The collections also includes background information relative to annual meetings, etc.
Corporation Vertical Files, 1915–1999 (bulk 1960–1990)
Alphabetical files of miscellaneous information on U.S. corporations, some domestic and some multinational, includes major J. Walter Thompson Co. clients and competitors of J. Walter Thompson Co. clients (AT&T, McDonald's, General Motors, etc.). Files contain widely diverse formats.
Cronin (John J.) Papers, 1950–1987
President of J. Walter Thompson Co. Toronto Office in the 1970s and 1980s. Unprocessed.