Skip to main content

Selected JWT Collections: D-H

Selected J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT) Collections in the Hartman Center

D-H

Dawkins (Colin) Papers, 1776–1986 (bulk 1920–1981)
Research files gathered for a proposed book on the history of the advertising business as it was influenced by the growth and international development of JWT; spotlights Ford Motor Company, Kraft, Chesebrough–Ponds, Pan American, and Lever Brothers.
Dell (Glen) Papers, 1983–1986
Chief Financial Officer with J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1980s.
Devine (John) Papers, 1956–1974
Director Radio and Television Department (1950s); General Counsel (1960s) for JWT
Dignam (John F.) Papers, 1958–1980s
Account executive and sfcript writer with J. Walter Thompson Co., Lansdowne, and Victor A. Bennett Company.
Eames (Herbert) Papers, 1974-1985 and undated
            Chief Financial Officer, JWT.  Papers relate to the operations and finances of JWT offices and subsidiaries around the world.
Elton (Wallace W.) Papers, 1909–1990 (bulk 1940s–1960s)
Collection of documents spanning Elton's career in advertising and his role as J. Walter Thompson Co. creative director, especially his work on advertising campaigns for the automobile industry. Includes client information on Chesebrough-Pond's, Ford Motor Company, and Pan American.
Findlow (Nan) Papers, 1938–1995
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. advertising agency, Bamberger's and Macy's department stores, as well as her own consulting business; specialist in marketing toward women.
Eames (Herbert) Papers, 1974-1985 and undated
            Chief Financial Officer, JWT.  Papers relate to the operations and finances of JWT offices and subsidiaries around the world.
Elton (Wallace W.) Papers, 1909–1990 (bulk 1940s–1960s)
Collection of documents spanning Elton's career in advertising and his role as J. Walter Thompson Co. creative director, especially his work on advertising campaigns for the automobile industry. Includes client information on Chesebrough-Pond's, Ford Motor Company, and Pan American.
Findlow (Nan) Papers, 1938–1995
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. advertising agency, Bamberger's and Macy's department stores, as well as her own consulting business; specialist in marketing toward women.
Gaeta (Lois A.) Papers, 1956–1961
Radio and television commercial script writer with J. Walter Thompson Co.
George (Ed) Papers, 1980s
Items comprising primarily finished advertisements for a variety of clients, ad mockups, package designs, original art, billboard sheets, and other memorabilia.
Gilow (Peter) Papers, 1960–1978
Papers document the development of the J. Walter Thompson Co. GmbH/Frankfurt Office, specifically covers the developments and transformation of German advertising since the end of World War II in television, radio, and print.
Glah (Roy) Papers, 1976–2002
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. New York, San Francisco, Tokyo, and Amsterdam offices.
Grisman (Arnold) Papers, 1969–1994
Creative Director of JWT's New York Office and an Executive Vice President.
Gutierrez (Victor) Papers, 1970–1987
Served as Executive Vice President of the Finance division, and as Chief Financial Officer, at JWT.
Hamilton (John J.) Papers, 1978–1982
Copy writer and account representative with J. Walter Thompson Co. Unprocessed.
Hatcher (Edgar) Papers, 1952–1992
Executive with Benton & Bowles; Ogilvy Benson and Mather; Kenyon & Eckhardt; Batton, Barton, Durstine & Osborn; McCann Erickson; and J. Walter Thompson.
Henderson (Howard) Papers, 1867–1978
Bulk of materials from 1954–1960, particularly illustrates the changes in company advertising philosophy through the 1960s. Well-documented clients include: Jergens, Chesebrough-Ponds, Kodak, General Cigar, NATO, US Playing Card Company, Union Central Life Insurance, Arbuckle, and Standard Brands.
Henkel (Wilfried) Papers, 1957–1987 (bulk 1975–1984)
Papers of the managing director of J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt, an early proponent of corporate advertising and the T-plan (target plan) of JWT's corporate strategy, 70% of collection is in German.
Hilton (Jack) Papers, 1969-1979 and undated
    President, Telecommunications Department, JWT, and Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, JWT.Files primarily relate to Hilton's   
    work in the Public Relations Department.
Hinks (Kennett Webb) Papers, 1955–1963
Materials are copies of Hinks's outgoing office correspondence and memoranda on print, film, radio, market research, product design, selling strategies, and summaries of business meetings. Major clients include Level Brothers, Wool Bureau, and the New Holland Machine Co.
Holland (Maury) Papers, 1948–1959
Includes scripts for outgoing memoranda regarding content and format of TV programs and advertisements, all produced by the New York Office's Radio and Television Department; clients include Kraft, Quaker Oats, Rinso Blue, and Advertising Council.