Skip to main content

Selected JWT Collections: D-F

Selected J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT) Collections in the Hartman Center

Collections D-F

Dawkins (Colin) Papers, 1776–1986 (bulk 1920–1981)
Research files gathered for a proposed book on the history of the advertising business as it was influenced by the growth and international development of JWT; spotlights Ford Motor Company, Kraft, Chesebrough–Ponds, Pan American, and Lever Brothers.
Dell (Glen) Papers, 1983–1986
Chief Financial Officer with J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1980s.
Devine (John) Papers, 1956–1974
Director Radio and Television Department (1950s); General Counsel (1960s) for JWT
Detroit Office
Goldfarb Consultants' Ford Research Reports, 1974–1988
Goldfarb Consultants' evaluation of advertising concepts for various Ford cars, vans, 4x4s, and pickup trucks. Includes focus groups, statistics, print advertisements, and study questionnaires.
Newman (Blaise) Papers, 1964–2002
Executive and account representative with J. Walter Thompson Co. Detroit Office. Paper collection guide in the Reading Room.
Records, 1947–1999
Miscellaneous files from the J. Walter Thompson Co. Detroit office, including Ford Motor Company and competitive collateral literature (mostly domestic), includes accessions from 1991–1999.
Diamond Information Center: Vertical Files, ca. 1930s–1970s
Chiefly an informational file concerning all aspects of diamonds from mining to fashion. Topics include famous diamonds, the annual Diamonds International Awards, diamond mining in Africa, jewelry and fashion designers, diamond marketing and sales, etc.  
[see also the Jeffery Collection of Diamond Promotional Materials]
Dignam (John F.) Papers, 1958–1980s
Account executive and sfcript writer with J. Walter Thompson Co., Lansdowne, and Victor A. Bennett Company.
Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875–2001 (bulk 1920s–1990s)
Collection of J. Walter Thompson Co. Domestic Advertisements, grouped by client and then by year, not specific to any certain J. Walter Thompson Co. office. Also includes Oversized Domestic, International, and J. Walter Thompson Co. House Ads, 1919–1990s (bulk 1970s–1990s). Unprocessed additions.
Eames (Herbert) Papers, 1974-1985 and undated
            Chief Financial Officer, JWT.  Papers relate to the operations and finances of JWT offices and subsidiaries around the world.
Elton (Wallace W.) Papers, 1909–1990 (bulk 1940s–1960s)
Collection of documents spanning Elton's career in advertising and his role as J. Walter Thompson Co. creative director, especially his work on advertising campaigns for the automobile industry. Includes client information on Chesebrough-Pond's, Ford Motor Company, and Pan American.
Findlow (Nan) Papers, 1938–1995
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. advertising agency, Bamberger's and Macy's department stores, as well as her own consulting business; specialist in marketing toward women.
Frankfurt Office
Advertisements Collection, 1950–1991
Ads span the years 1950 through 1991 and include newspaper and magazine print advertisements, tear sheets and proofs. Clients include BASF, Burger King, De Beers, Dunlop, Ford, Kraft, Lever Brothers, Pan Am, and Singer. Most advertisements are in German, although some are in English.
Audio-Visual Materials, 1956–1993
Primarily television commercials for various clients and products represented by the Frankfurt office of the J. Walter Thompson Co. advertising agency. Also includes slides and videos used in corporate presentations.
Black (George) Papers, 1968–1989
Includes long-term account planning for individual clients, regional strategy planning for Scandinavia and for the GSA, comparison of international advertising styles and regulations, and J. Walter Thompson Co. worldwide organizational changes. Well-documented clients include: Braun, Campari, DeBeers, Elida Gibbs, Ford, Jacobs, Kellogg, Kraft, Lever-Sunlicht (Unilever), Nestle, Singer, Pepsi, Warner-Lambert, and Wick.
Brungs (Herbert) Papers, 1969–1988
Account manager and executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt Office in the 1970s and 1980s.
Clark (Harry) Papers, 1970–1973
Focus on his career at J. Walter Thompson Co. GmbH (Frankfurt) Office, major clients include De Beers, Pan American, and Unilever. Majority of collection is in English, the remainder is in German.
Gilow (Peter) Papers, 1960–1978
Papers document the development of the J. Walter Thompson Co. GmbH/Frankfurt Office, specifically covers the developments and transformation of German advertising since the end of World War II in television, radio, and print.
Henkel (Wilfried) Papers, 1957–1987 (bulk 1975–1984)
Papers of the managing director of J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt, an early proponent of corporate advertising and the T-plan (target plan) of JWT's corporate strategy, 70% of collection is in German.
Ihlfeld (Hans) Papers, 1969–1978
Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. offices in Frankfurt, Zurich and Vienna in the 1970s.
Lanigan (Denis) Papers, 1958–1964
Covers J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt Office, specifically the efforts to increase and improve the use of television and print advertising in Europe and to improve coordination of international J. Walter Thompson Co. Offices, majority of documents are in English.
Miscellaneous Files, 1960–1992
Contains small quantities of surviving files that document the activities of a number of high-ranking officers at J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt, along with material from subject files. Unprocessed.
Schwarz (Burkhard) Papers, 1973–1989
Correspondence, personnel files, financial summaries, client files, and files of prospective business contacts. Clients include Nestle, Kodak, Burger King, Ford, Sunlicht, Elida, Kellogg, and DeBeers.
Siebel (Paul-G.) Papers, 1968–1975 (bulk 1969–1975)
Primarily in German, contains correspondence with domestic and international offices, mostly concerned with the advertising industry, media planning, account direction, production of advertisements, and business management of J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt.