Skip to Main Content
Collections G-M
- Gaeta (Lois A.) Papers, 1956–1961
- Radio and television commercial script writer with J. Walter Thompson Co.
- George (Ed) Papers, 1980s
- Items comprising primarily finished advertisements for a variety of clients, ad mockups, package designs, original art, billboard sheets, and other memorabilia.
- Gilow (Peter) Papers, 1960–1978
- See full entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Glah (Roy) Papers, 1976–2002
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. New York, San Francisco, Tokyo, and Amsterdam offices.
- Goldfarb Consultants' Ford Research Reports, 1974–1988
- See full entry under Detroit Office.
- Grisman (Arnold) Papers, 1969–1994
- Creative Director of JWT's New York Office and an Executive Vice President.
- Gutierrez (Victor) Papers, 1970–1987
- Served as Executive Vice President of the Finance division, and as Chief Financial Officer, at JWT.
- Hamilton (John J.) Papers, 1978–1982
- Copy writer and account representative with J. Walter Thompson Co. Unprocessed.
- Hatcher (Edgar) Papers, 1952–1992
- Executive with Benton & Bowles; Ogilvy Benson and Mather; Kenyon & Eckhardt; Batton, Barton, Durstine & Osborn; McCann Erickson; and J. Walter Thompson.
- Henderson (Howard) Papers, 1867–1978
- Bulk of materials from 1954–1960, particularly illustrates the changes in company advertising philosophy through the 1960s. Well-documented clients include: Jergens, Chesebrough-Ponds, Kodak, General Cigar, NATO, US Playing Card Company, Union Central Life Insurance, Arbuckle, and Standard Brands.
- Henkel (Wilfried) Papers, 1957–1987 (bulk 1975–1984)
- See full entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Hilton (Jack) Papers, 1969-1979 and undated
- President, Telecommunications Department, JWT, and Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, JWT.Files primarily relate to Hilton's work in the Public Relations Department.
- Hinks (Kennett Webb) Papers, 1955–1963
- Materials are copies of Hinks's outgoing office correspondence and memoranda on print, film, radio, market research, product design, selling strategies, and summaries of business meetings. Major clients include Level Brothers, Wool Bureau, and the New Holland Machine Co.
- Holland (Maury) Papers, 1948–1959
- Includes scripts for outgoing memoranda regarding content and format of TV programs and advertisements, all produced by the New York Office's Radio and Television Department; clients include Kraft, Quaker Oats, Rinso Blue, and Advertising Council.
- Iconographic Collection, 1848–2005
- Collection consists of photographs of meetings and events of significance to JWT; photographs of officers and individuals who work or have worked for J. Walter Thompson Co. (including those taken for publicity purposes); and photographs of the exteriors and interiors of buildings housing J. Walter Thompson Co. Company offices around the world.
- Ihlfeld (Hans) Papers, 1969–1978
- See full entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Information Center Records, 1890s–1987
- Reports, memoranda, clippings, financial papers, and printed material relating to specific J. Walter Thompson Co. accounts.
- Information Center Vertical Files, ca. 1920s–1990s
- Collection contains vertical files created by the J. Walter Thompson Co. Information Center for staff use. The Internal Information Files Series holds information on the company itself, including files on advertising intelligence, recruitment, and organizational charts, as well as foreign office reports.
- International Advertisements Collection, ca. 1920s–2000s
- Advertisements produced internationally or for an international market, or for multinational clients by the J. Walter Thompson Company; most ads date from the 1980s. Additional Frankfurt, Germany office advertisements are available in a separate collection.
- International Offices Records, 1929–1998 and undated
- Collection contains primarily financial records, correspondence, presentations, campaign drafts, account lists, meeting minutes and printed materials. The bulk of material dates from the 1970s-1980s.
- Jones (Alun), 1930–1984
- Financial executive at JWT's Toronto and New York offices during the 1960s–1970s, holding the positions of Secretary–Treasurer and Executive Vice-President; elected to their Board of Directors in 1974. The bulk of the collection dates from the late 1970s, and contains files primarily relating to Jones's work as a financial executive and administrator.
- Johnston (Don) Papers, 1964-1996
- CEO of J. Walter Thompson in the 1970s. Chairman of JWT Group in the 1980s.
- Kaatz (Ronald B.) Papers, 1915–1996
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co.; taught at Northwestern University.
- Kennedy (James W.) Papers, 1979–1982
- Executive and Director of Human Resources with J. Walter Thompson Co. Unprocessed.
- Lanigan (Denis) Papers, 1958–1964
- See full entry under Frankfurt Office
- Legal Department Records, 1936-1979
- The Legal Department Records contain releases for models and photographers associated with JWT campaigns between 1936–1979, and especially the 1950s. The collection also contains publications associated with JWT clients which required model releases. A wide range of companies are represented in this collection. Photographers mentioned or whose work appears in the collection include Richard Avedon, Ralph Bartholomew, Anton Bruehl, Horst, Otto Mayo, Valentino Sarra, and Francesco Scavullo.
- London Office
- Bullen (Terry) Papers, 1967–1992
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. London Office.
- London Office Records, 1920s–2005 and undated
- Collection consists primarily of account files, Knowledge Center subject files, books and publications, general office files, and the papers of some executives.
- Soper(Sam) Papers, 1941-1996 and undated
- Associate Director, JWT Lonon. Papers consist of World War II-era correspondence and company newsletters, along with an autobiography.
- Maher (John R.) Papers, 1970–1987 and undated
- Executive specializing in corporate development and account management.
- Manning (Burt) Papers, ca. 1970s–1986
- Administrative files including client and account files, newspaper clippings, correspondence, personal materials, and speeches. Unprocessed. Access restricted.
- Marketing Vertical File, 1946–1999
- Subject files on a wide range of marketing topics used by J. Walter Thompson Co. staff, including financial and legal information, employment trends, awards, and particular individuals in the industry, media, packaging, trademarks and research.
- Marketing Vertical File, Chicago Office
- See entry under Chicago Office
- Media Center Audio-Visual Collection
- See full entry under New York Office
- Media Resources and Research Department Records, Chicago Office
- See full entry under Chicago Office.
- Meek (Samuel Williams) Papers, 1917–1980 (bulk 1945–1962)
- Contains Meek's correspondence as the head of the International Department of the J. Walter Thompson Co. New York Office on international operations and policy decisions.
- Memoranda, 1915–1999
- Official in-house memos documenting a range of administrative policies and procedures.
- Metter (Bertram) Papers, 1960s–1980s
- Direct marketing specialist; Chairman of the Board of J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1980s.
- Microfilm 16mm As-Broadcast Scripts Collection, 1928-1958
- Contains transcripts of radio and television dramas and variety shows, news programs, commercials, and sports programming
- Microfilm 16mm Investigations, 1913-1950
- Consists of research reports, market studies, account histories, office overviews, campaign studies and other investigative documents.
- Microfilm 35mm Proofs, 1906-1960 and undated
- Consists primarily of images of print advertisements and proofs taken from proof books and portfolios of domestic and foreign JWT offices.
- Miscellaneous Files, Frankfurt Office
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
