Sidney Gamble photographs, 1906-2007 and undated: collection guide, digital collection
The Sidney D. Gamble collection consists primarily of contact sheets, hand-colored glass slides, 35mm duplicate slides, contact prints, negatives, and other photographic formats documenting Gamble's four visits to China from 1908 to 1932. In total, there are over 5,000 unique images covering 12 provinces and Beijing, Chongqing, Tianjin and Shanghai.
William Hillman Shockley Photographs, 1897-1922: collection guide
The collection contains the prints and negatives of thousands of black and white photographstaken by William Shockleyduring his travels as a mining engineer in China (including Manchuria), Korea, India, Western Australia, and Russia (including Siberia) between the years of 1897 and 1905, shortly before and during the period of the Boxer Rebellion.
Friedrich Carl Peetz photographs: 127 black-and-white ambrotypes (several are hand tinted; most are 4.5 x 6 in.) mounted on 22 boards in a photograph album. The album probably belonged to Friedrich Carl Peetz, most likely an officer in the German Navy (Kaiserliche Marine) and crew member of the S.M.S. Hertha during the Boxer Rebellion. The images were mostly taken in Tsingtao (Qingdao), Chefoo (Yantai), Hong Kong, Peking (Beijing), and Shanhaiguan during the Boxer Rebellion in 1900.
The Lucy Monroe Calhoun family photographs and papers: Collection Guide. Lucy Monroe Calhoun was born in 1865. She became a freelance art critic for Chicago and national newspapers, and served as an editorial reader for the Herbert S. Stone publishing company (1898-1905). In 1904, she married William James Calhoun, who was appointed U.S. minister to China by William Howard Taft, a position he held from 1909-1913. In the 1920s Calhoun returned to China, established her home in an ancient temple, collected art, and became the unofficial "First Lady" of the diplomatic corps in Peking. She remained there until the Japanese occupation of Peking in 1937. The photographs include 740 loose black-and-white photographs, featuring Lucy's residence in Beijing and locations in and around Beijing and elsewhere in China. The papers include mainly her 276-page memoir of her life in China (1910-1936) and five typescript articles on China.
Edward James Parrish Papers, 1894-1926
Primarily business and personal correspondence (chiefly 1900-1921) of Parrish and of his wife, Rosa Bryan Parrish. Parrish was connected to the American Tobacco Company. The early papers, including turn-of-the-century photo albums, relate to the Murai family and to Murai Brothers, a Tokyo cigarette manufacturing company of which Parrish was the first vice-president. Also included are photographs of travels in China.
Carl Mydans photographs, 1935-1968: collection guide
The collection consists of 66 black and white photographs.The majority of the collection dates from his time working for Life magazine as a war photographer. Mydan's subjects include the Sino-Japanese war beginning in 1941, his time in the Philippines and the battle for Manila, his coverage of the Allies in France and Italy during the liberation of Europe, and his travels with General Douglas MacArthur during MacArthur's return to the Philippines and the subsequent surrender of the Japanese.