LibGuides: Chinese Studies: Statistics

Center for Data and Visualization Sciences

https://library.duke.edu/data/

The Center for Data and Visualization Sciences is located within Duke University Libraries and serves Duke University and Duke University Health System. The center's team of consultants and interns offers support in data science, data sources, data management and curation, data visualization, and mapping and GIS (geographic information systems).

Census data on China

Population census: China conducts population census every 10 years. The first time was in 1953, the second time 1964; the third time 1982; the forth time 1990; the fifth time 2000; the sixth time 2010, the seventh time 2020. The database China Geo-explorer II provides county level data on the 2000 and 2010 census. Earlier census data at country level can be found at the database China Data Online. County level census data from 1982 and 1990 can be found in print in most provinces.

Print census data:

Social & economic census: the database China Data Online (CDO) has some of the data.

Basic unit census 基本单位普查: was conducted twice in 1995 and 2001, both included in CDO.
Industrial census 全国工业普查：was conducted three times in 1950, 1985 and 1995. CDO has 1985 & 1995.
General survey of tertiary industry 第三产业普查：was conducted once in 1993, included in CDO.
Economic census 全国经济普查: combines all three above census and is conducted every 5 years. The first time was in 2004; the second time 2008; the third time 2013 and the forth time 2018. CDO has 2004. 《第二次全国经济普查主要数据公报》2008 is included in China Statistical Yearbooks Database CSYD.
Agriculture census 全国农业普查: is conducted every 10 years in 1997, 2007 and 2017. CDO has 1997. Both 1997 and 2007 provincial census are also included in China Statistical Yearbooks Database CSYD.

Statistical databases

China Data Online 中国数据在线 (bilingual)
Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the provincial, county, and city level, and financial indicators of industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.
China Statistical Yearbooks Database CSYD 中国经济社会发展统计数据库 (bilingual interface)
It collects all important statistical yearbooks published by Mainland China presses.
China Geo-Explorer II
It offers China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in the web-based delivery system.
China economy, public policy, and security database (皮书)
Pishu, which literally means "cover-books," are high-value analytical reports intended to guide policymaking in the People's Republic of China. Pishu are published by the Social Sciences Academic Press, a branch of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. These reports feature exclusive research and analysis by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and authors from similar institutions, and present objective analysis versus official government messaging on strategic issues.
UNdata : a world of information
UNdata pools major UN databases and those of several international organizations into a single internet environment. The interface allows users to access a large number of UN statistical databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search. Data sources include, but are not limited to, WHO, ILO, WTU, UNESCO, and FAO. For more information see the UNdata wiki at http://data.un.org/wiki/AboutUs.ashx. For search tips and data definitions see: http://data.un.org/wiki/faq.ashx
World databank
A complilation of a number of World Bank data products, the most significant one being World development indicators (WDI).
UN comtrade database
Every year over 130 countries provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. These data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. Quantities are, if provided by the country and if possible, converted into metric units. The data are then stored in a computerized data base system, called UN COMTRADE. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. Commodities are classified according to SITC (Rev.1 from 1962, Rev.2 from 1976 and Rev.3 from 1988) and the Harmonized System (HS) (from 1988 with revisions in 1996 and 2002). Currently most data are reported according to HS, version 2002. The original data are also converted and stored in all the other classifications.
International financial statistics
Published by International Monetary Fund since January 1948.

Statistical Websites

National Bureau of Statistics of China 中华人民共和国国家统计局
The gateway to a dataset of many subcategories. Includes links to provincial statistical websites.
National Statistics, Taiwan 中華民國統計資訊網
Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department 香港特別行政區政府統計處
Macau Statistics and Census 澳門特別行政區政府統計暨普查局
资源学科创新平台
A platform of databases by Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research, CAS.
CIA - The World Factbook
provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.

Chinese Studies

Center for Data and Visualization Sciences

Census data on China

Statistical databases

Statistical Websites

Contact Us

Services for...