Chinese Studies

The China Biographical Database is a freely accessible relational database with biographical information about approximately 470,000 individuals as of May 2020, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. The image below shows the spatial distribution of a cross dynastic subset of 190,000 people in CBDB by basic affiliations (籍貫).

launched in January 2001 to establish a database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 221 BCE and 1911 CE. CHGIS provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use in spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.

國立臺灣大學數位人文研究中心: 平台提供學者在平台上建置符合國際標準格式的個人雲端資料庫，並利用平台上所提供的各種工具，進行個人文本的格式轉換、標記與建庫、探勘與分析，以及視覺化觀察、 GIS 整合等學術研究工作

The Max Planck Institute: LoGaRT is a software for searching, analyzing, and collecting data from digitized Chinese local gazetteers. It provides historians with a bird’s-eye view on a collection of gazetteers beyond browsing and reading individually. The philosophy behind LoGaRT is to treat all the digitized gazetteers available as a conceptual database for historical inquiries. Thus, LoGaRT allows historians to ask larger-scale questions that are not necessarily bounded by geographical regions, time periods, or individual efforts. There are many collections of digitized Chinese local gazetteers with differing quality and licensing conditions. Currently, two high-quality collections are accessible via LoGaRT: Rare Local Gazetteers at Harvard-Yenching Library and Erudition’s Zhongguo fangzhi ku (中国方志库).