Open-access datasets on Chinese village history and development. The data coverage period is 1949 to the present, though the final year of coverage for each village varies due to varying gazetteer compilation and publication dates. There are 18 datasets included in CCVG Data: Gazetteer Information; Village Information; Natural Environment; Natural Disasters; Year of First Availability; Last Names; Ethnic Groups; Population and Migration; Military, Politics and Management; Economy; Family Planning; Education. All are available for free download. For user’s convenience, CCVG Data is bilingual (Chinese/English).
Over 20,000 volumes of Chinese chorographic books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions, providing detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units.
Download Client Program Installation Guide (http://www.eastview.com/online/sikudownload). This online version of the Wenyuange Edition includes 3,460 works with a total of more than 36,000 volumes and allows full-text retrieval and full-image browsing.
The Amerasia Affair was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era. The Amerasia Affair sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.
Including China Through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travellers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1792-1942 -- China Inland Mission, 1865-1951: From the School of Oriental and African Studies, London -- Asian Economic History: Series One: The Opium Trade and the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, 1945-48 -- Asian Economic History: Series Two: Economic Development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980.
Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii.
Original source materials on the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China, plus rare periodicals, color paintings, maps, photographs and drawings.
Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types. Module 3: Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East.
From the National Archives, Kew of Britain; full text files adressing developments in China and assessing US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan).
Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials, 16th century to present. The fifteen commodities explored in this resource are:Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Opium, Oil, Porcelain, Silver and Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, Wine and Spirits.
English-language newspapers, magazines, pamphlets and books following the descent into war in East and South-East Asia from the turn of the twentieth century to the 1950s. This collection of newspapers and lavishly illustrated magazines, often in colour, shows the route from the defeat of Russia by Japan to Japan's own defeat, through seismic upheaval in China and the onset of systemic change in Asia.
This collection reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics).
covers U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990.
Full-text documents of the Tokyo Trials of Japanese war criminals in World War II. Content includes transcripts of the proceedings and court exhibits of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East, transcripts of interrogation of the International Prosecution Section, along with historical photos, audio and video.