Skip to Main Content
Books & Journals on Chinese art & artists
Looking for books & journals in the catalog ? The following subject terms are often used:
- Art, Chinese
- Art, Chinese -- Exhibitions
- Art, Chinese -- History
- Art, China
- Artists, China
- Ars orientalis: the arts of Islan and the East: Co-sponsored by the Department of the History of Art, University of Michigan, and the Freer Gallery of Art, Smithsonian Institution. It is an annual volume of scholarly articles and book reviews on the art and archeology of Asia.
- Asia Pacific Arts: from University of Southern California, the online magazine covers Asian and Asian American arti and entertainment: art, fim, television, music and fashion beginning in 2003.
- Art and AsiaPacific: started in 1993 in Australia, the magazine covers contemporary art and culture within Asia, the Pacific and the Middle East. Published 6 times a year, the magazine contains features, profiles, essays and reviews.
- Arts Asiatiques: founded in 1924, published in Paris, the journal covers art and archeology from a scholarly perspective.
- Artibus Asiae: established in 1925, published in Germany, the journal covers art and archeology of Asia. Articles are in German, French and English.
- Artibus Asiae supplementum series: 50 monograph series have been published since 1937, covering a broad range of studies.
- Archives of Asian Art: started in 1945 as the Archives of Chinese Art Society of American, the journal publishes new scholarship on art and architecture of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia.
- Collector & Connoisseur 收藏家: started in 1993 in Beijing, the magazine has text in Chinese, TOC in Chinese and English.
- 美術: founded in 1950 in Beijing by 中國美術家協會, is a core scholarly journal in China.
- Orientations: a bimonthly magazine published in Hong Kong since 1969. the magazine covers many and varied aspects of the arts of East and Southeast Asia, the HImalayas, the Indian Indian subcontinent and the Middle East., from the latest scholarly research to market analysis and current news.
Internet resources on Chinese art
Art & visual culture:
- Arts of China Consortium(ACC) : from NYU, collects websites on Chinese art history, archaeology and visual and material culture
- Asia-art.net: artists, exhibitions and museums of Asian art, Asian art collectors, Asian art historians, art blogs, travelogues & fabric designs.
- MIT's Visualizing Cultures - Image-driven scholarship: images are introduced with essays.
- Visualizing Modern China: Image, history and memory, 1750-present: the companion site of the book with resources on modern Chinese history and modern visual culture.
- Asian Art Includes associations, exhibitions, articles, and galleries. An active message board for communication.
- Asian Art Archive: through essays, exhibitions and pedagogy, the site covers the recent history of art from Asia.
- Asian Historical Architecture : contains over 6450 photos of 457 sites across seventeen countries. The geographical parameters of the site are limited to areas heavily influenced by Buddhism, Confucianism, or Hinduism.
- The International Dunhuang Project (IDP): an international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archeological sites of the Eastern Silk road freely available.
- Himalayan Art: database of images and links to related site
- Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, and Myanmar (Burma). Works range from approximately 2500 B.C.E. to the present, and documentation includes contemporary religious activities in various parts of Asia. Contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, Islamic, and other works.
- Taoism and the Arts of China (special exhibition at The Art Institute of Chicago Museum)
- East Asia Image Collection at Lafayette College with over 4,200 colonial-era postcards (1895-1945) from Taiwan, Japan, China, Korea and Manchuria.
- Manchukuo Postcards 滿洲國明信片: this collection contains 276 postcards depicting people and views in Manchuria during the Manchukuo period