Skip to main content

Chinese Studies

The guide provides some starting points for your research of China at Duke

Resources By Subject

Chifeng Collaborative Archaeological Research Project Detailed information on an archaeological research program in the Chifeng region complete with images of excavations, locations and artifacts. The site also outlines socio-political change in the region over thousands of years, from Early Neolithic cultures to the Han Dynasty.

Society for East Asian Anthropology

Hong Kong Anthropological Society

Princeton East Asian Library Digitized Medical Texts.The East Asian Library of Princeton University has for the past few years been engaged in the digitization of some of its rare books… Full processing and the provision of enhanced navigation to each title will only take place at the end of the ongoing project.

Peter Parker Collection (from Yale) This digital collection consists of 80 paintings of Chinese patients with large tumors or other major deformities. The portraits were painted by Chinese artist Lam Qua in 1830s, under the commission of Peter Parker, the first protestant medical missionary to China.

Harvard University Library's Open Collections on disease and contagion, presents thousands of full-text documents and
publications: The "Related Links" tab leads to even more digitized resources.

GlobalEDGE (TM) from Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI, US. The site has wealth of  information, insights, and learning resources on doing business in China.

Chinese Economic Information Network 中国经济信息网 (Chinese State Information Center) Provides information on current economic trends, important laws and regulations, etc. Note: Some parts require registration and are not free.

Beijing city business management center An extensive links to business and company web site and information.

北京大学中国经济研究中心

全国政策咨询信息网 国务院发展研究中心 on governmental policy, economy and investigation reports. 

中国经济50人论坛

中國免費名錄資源

Tibet Environmental Watch : This site will be used to update important Tibetan environmental information as new data becomes available and to build upon the concept of a "Zone of Peace" as presented by His Holiness the Dalai lama.

綠色和平 Greenpeace China, Hong Kong

綠色力量 Green Power, Hong Kong

地球仁學會 Earth Care, Hong Kong

自然之友

绿色江河

北京市环保局

中国环保网

环境与发展研究所

中华人民共和国生态环境部

中国环境

WWW Virtual Library: Chinese History

Created by Paul Halsall of Brooklyn College, this site is organized by subject, including Classic Chinese Sources in Translation, Gender, Chinese Women, Philosophy and Religion, and Movies Addressing Chinese History and Culture. Historical texts are divided into periods, from the Zhou Dynasty to Post-Mao China. A Guide to Chinese Philosophical Texts for Inclusion in Introductory Courses is also featured.

Hong Kong History resources maintained by Chinese university of Hong Kong, focuses on the history of Hong Kong, including pictures, books, articles and primary research materials.

John Fairbank Memorial Chinese History Virtual Library This page provides links to sites related to modern Chinese history (Qing, Republic, PRC); good pictures.

燦爛的中國文明 on Chinese civilization. From HK.

中國大陸地方誌書目查詢系統

內閣大庫檔案 Institute of history and philology, Academic Sinica, Taiwan. 中央研究院歷史語言研究所。

文物圖象研究室資料庫檢索系統(簡帛金石資料庫 - 全文)

臺灣記憶

书同文中西历转换工具

The Rev. Claude L. Pickens, Jr. Collection on Muslims in China is the culmination of a two-year project to catalog and digitize some 1000 photos of China's Muslim population in western China in the 1920s and 1930s and the activities of
Christian missionaries working among them.

Cultural Revolution 

A Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China (PRC) by Wei Luo

CEI Legal Database 国信中国法律网 Includes laws and regulations from 1949 to 2001, full text. Subscription required.

中国法律大全 at Beijing City Business Management Center. An extensive collection of Chinese laws and regulations, available fulltext free. Including the most recently published laws and regulations.

全国法规资料库(台湾) 

香港法例資料庫 HK Bilingual Laws Information System (Department of Justice, Hong Kong Government, China) The database contains the statutory Laws of Hong Kong in English and Chinese (about 95000 A4 pages). In addition, it also contains selected constitutional documents, including the Sino-British Joint Declaration, Basic Law of the HKSAR and Chinese National laws applying to Hong Kong. An English/Chinese Glossary of terms used in the Laws will be available soon." Site contents: Hong Kong Letters Patent; Hong Kong Royal Instructions; Standing Orders of the Legislative Council; Revised Edition of the Laws Ordinance; Laws (Loose-leaf Publication) Ordinance; Sino-British Joint Declaration; Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region; Chinese National laws applying to HK. 

Buddhism

Taoism/Daoism

1989 Movement:

  • China 89' Provides documents and pictures on student movement in 1989
  • The Gate of Heavenly Peace (Long Bow Group, Inc.) THE GATE OF HEAVENLY PEACE documents the history of the 1989 movement and reflects the drama, tension, humor, absurdity, heroism, and many tragedies of the six weeks from April to June in 1989." Very useful, not only for its information on the film THE GATE OF HEAVENLY PEACE (Tiananmen) made by Carma Hinton but also for numerous documents about the Beijing spring of 1989 and the symbolism of the Tiananmen Square.
  • 六四檔案

China Leadership Monitor offers authoritative assessments of trends in Chinese leadership politics and policy. you’ll find articles from the current issue as well as an archive of back issues, and subscription information.

China Politics Links: a site by Prof. William A. Joseph, Department of Political Science, Wellesley College, Wellesley, MA, US

Digital Archive for Chinese Studies (DACHS) (Institute of Chinese Studies, University of Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany)

Foreign relations of the United States This site is part of the U.S. Department of State website and contains declassified archival material on the diplomatic relations between the USA and China. The documents are drawn from the files of the Department of State and the Bureau, Office, and other lot files of the relevant Departmental units.

Human Rights Watch

政策信息 government policy and analysis.

中国网 Includes government White Papers and China News from the People's Republic of China. Links to some of very useful information, such as recent government laws and policy, important government official speeches.

中国选举与治理网 Established by The Carter Center and the Research Center on Chinese Local Governance at Beijing University. It provides Chinese officials at all levels a resource center for governance and election affairs and gives scholars worldwide the opportunity to study Chinese politics and offer reform measures. Users can access news, articles, academic papers, laws and regulations, and data on Chinese elections and governance on all levels. The site also features exclusive reports on election and governance matters commissioned by the China Elections Project at The Carter Center.

Selected Works of Deng Xiaoping in English.

勞改基金會 (The Laogai Research Foundation, Washington, DC, USA) A non-profit organization [est. in 1992 by Hongda Harry Wu] dedicated to collecting information about China's "vast system of forced labor camps."

中國人權 (Human Rights in China, USA/Hong Kong) This site contains information, in both English and Chinese, produced by the organization, Human Rights in China. It includes regular press releases, reports, articles from the quarterly journal, China Rights Forum, organizational work reports, educational materials, action ideas and links to other sites. Subjects covered include political prisoners and dissent, legal reform, freedom of association, women's rights, workers' rights, children's rights and so on. Since its founding in March 1989, Human Rights in China has become one of the major sources of information about human rights conditions in the PRC."

中国改革论坛

中華民國总统府公報

改革开放论坛

强国论坛

China Confidential China Confidential has been reporting and analyzing political developments in China since 2005. Although repeatedly being cited by various sources (incl. BBC) the identity of its author "Confidential Reporter" has [as of May 2006] not yet been revealed.

EastSouthWestNorth 东南西北 one of the most relevant blogs about current China. Also included are issues related to Taiwan and Hong Kong. Born 1949 in Shanghai and having spent 32 years in the US, its author Roland Soong currently lives in Hong Kong. In the real world Robert Soong is the chief technical officer for KMR, the world's second-largest media research firm.

马克思主义文库

中国妇女网(China Women Net)(中华全国妇女联合会(All China Women's Fed.), Beijing, China) including important docments, laws and regulations, history, brief biography, and women's organizations, etc.

中国妇女发展基金会 China women development foundation

中华妇女网 mainly for women's newspaper:中国妇女报

香港婦女事務委員會

Loading ...

Resources by Region

Loading ...