LibGuides: Chinese Studies: Religion

Buddhism

The following subject terms are often used when searching for Chinese Buddhism:

Selected books:

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism: A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc., found in Buddhist canonical sources.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism: encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism.
A Dictionary of Buddhism: Oxford reference covers beliefs, doctrines, major teachersand scholars, place names, and artefacts.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism: Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites, ceremonies, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.

Selected digital resources/projects:

The following subject terms are often used when searching for Chinese Taoism (Daoism):

Selected books:

Chinese Christian Posters
Between 1927 and 1951 millions of Christian posters entered the Chinese market. Printed by the thousands onto the cheapest paper, most were used in street preaching and teaching. Others were hung in tearooms and shop windows, or put up with starch and brooms on city gates and local temples. The bright-colored posters briefly attracted attention before they tore, were covered by a more current notice, or dissolved in the rain.
The China Historical Christian Database (CHCD)
It quantifies and visualizes the place of Christianity in modern China (1550-1950). It provides users the tools to discover where every Christian church, school, hospital, orphanage, publishing house, and the like were located in China, and it documents who worked inside those buildings, both foreign and Chinese. Collectively, this information creates spatial maps and generates relational networks that reveal where, when, and how Western ideas, technologies, and practices entered China. Simultaneously, it uncovers how and through whom Chinese ideas, technologies, and practices were conveyed to the West.