Chinese Studies Recommended Databases: List of Databases

More than 3 million digitized books published in the PRC. Users can request the full text of selected books using the interlibrary loan system embedded in the DuXiu scholar search engine.

This full text article database covers the majority of academic journals published in the PRC in humanities and social sciences.

This full text article database covers many of the journals published in Taiwan in humanities and social sciences.

Full text journal database from mainland of China.

Full-text database of Chinese journals published in China after 1997 in Health & Medicine, some journals also include abstracts in English.

Maintained by the Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong, indexing academic journals published in Hong Kong in Chinese or English from 1990 to date.

full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong.

Full text database of Chinese journals published 1833-1949 from Shanghai Library

20 popular magazines from Mainland of China

Ebooks published from Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau.

A government-sponsored cooperative project of Chinese academic libraries to create electronic resources for the use of their patrons. The major resource created by CADAL is a collection of scanned books. Users need to set up their account (Free).

Pishu are reports feature exclusive research and analysis by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and authors from similar institutions.

Pre-modern Chinese texts with access to additional API functionality, including the ability to programmatically access the structure of a text and thus download entire texts in machine-readable format

20世紀初，通俗期刊以小報、晚報、三日刊、週刊、畫報及雜誌的形式，在省港澳地區大量編印，廣為流傳。它們多以嶺南舊學、廣東風俗、民間文學、地區商業和文化活動、當時的潮流新知為主要內容。再者，為了滿足當時為數眾多的祖藉廣東海外華人閱讀市場，這些刊物經常行銷至美加「華埠」和南洋，傳播甚廣，遍及海內外。這些刊物，對於我們了解和研究珠三角文化，包括香港通俗文化以及粵語文化的環球流通脈絡，甚具價值.

Featuring oral histories of the lift of modern and contemporary Chinese, from the starting issue in 1962 to current.

This open access platform includes nearly 2500 journals (期刊&集刊&辑刊), 20,000 Chinese rare books (high resolution scan but with water marks).

The database has magazines published in Taiwan and Hong Kong, including 民主評論(1949-1966); 文星雜誌(1957-1988); 時與潮(1959-1967); 思與言(1963-今) · 九十年代(1970-1998); 臺灣政論(1975); 夏潮(1976-1978); 美麗島 (1979); 當代雜誌 (1986-2010); 澄社報導 (1992-1999)

Includes the economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories; monthly and yearly reports on China’s macroeconomic development; statistical databases about China’s population and economy at the county and city level; and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.

There are 630 titles, 3606 volumes of statistical yearbooks and 1353370 entries (including 940371 statistical charts) in the database.

Offers China demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in the web-based delivery system

China's only national newsmagazine in English. It is launched in 1958 and published every week in Beijing.

In 1867, the Protestant missionaries began the Missionary Recorder at the Methodist Press in Foochow, it stopped & resumed publications & changed names several times until it ceased in 1941.

A digestible collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers from a wide variety of sources in China, translated into English.

Includes The North-China Herald (1850-1867), The Chinese recorder (1912-1938), The Shanghai gazette (1919-1921), Peking daily news (1914-1917) and The Canton times (1919-1920), etc.

292 newspapers from the Republican Era, for example: 大公晚報; 東南日報; 華北新報; 立報; 羣力報; 實報; 時事新報; 鐵報; 武漢日報; 西南日報; 新華日報; 新申報; 中央日報

The English-language Manchuria Daily News (1908 – 1940), published in Dalian (Darien), presents Japan’s case for its presence in China.

The collection provides digitized images of old Hong Kong newspapers from the library, which are accessible through the Multimedia Information System of Hong Kong Public Libraries.

Full text and original image of this daily newspaper. Keywords searchable includes title, author, full text, section, page, column., etc.

Shanghai-based Shen Bao (Shun Pao) was the longest-lasting newspaper in modern China. It was founded in 1872 and was closed 1949.

A large number of other top-tier newspapers, magazines, newswires, TV and radio broadcasts of Mainland, Taiwan and some Asia Pacific countries and all 18 Chinese and English newspapers of Hong Kong. Daily updates.

From Internet Archive, The collections here include 266 East Asian (plus Singapore) newspapers, journals, and magazines published in Chinese, Korean, and Japanese languages from 1850-1950.

This collection presents documents from 1945-1973. The Amerasia Affair was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era. The Amerasia Affair sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.

Rare pamphlets collection on East Asia plus secondary resources like essays, an interactive chronology and mini guides.

Original source materials on the activities and observations of British and American diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists in China, plus rare periodicals, color paintings, maps, photographs and drawings.

Laws and regulations from Mainland of China, many with English translations; also cases and legal journals articles. one concurrent user.

Interface in simplified or traditional Chinese, or English. Contains full text from 1995.

Orignial government documents, directives, bulletins,
speeches by Mao Zedong and other officials, editorials of major Chinese newspapers and magazines, articles written by the “rightists", articles published to denunciate the “rightists”, etc.

Declassified by the State Department, comprises all 41 reels of the former Scholarly Resources microfilm product entitled Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955

An archive of Cultural Revolution-related historical materials. The materials are indexed in both English and Chinese.

A collection of film advertisements and transcripts of Chinese films and newsreels. See more details of the film titles from the collection guide: https://archives.lib.duke.edu/catalog/chinesefilms

From land reform to the State-Private partnership

Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types. Module 3: Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East.

From the National Archives, Kew of Britain; full text files adressing developments in China and assessing US, Soviet, British, European and Commonwealth relations with China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), from 1949 onwards.

Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials, 16th century to present. The fifteen commodities explored in this resource are:Chocolate, Coffee, Cotton, Fur, Opium, Oil, Porcelain, Silver and Gold, Spices, Sugar, Tea, Timber, Tobacco, Wheat, Wine and Spirits

This collection reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics)

covers U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China's human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990

Including China Through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travellers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1792-1942 -- China Inland Mission, 1865-1951: From the School of Oriental and African Studies, London -- Asian Economic History: Series One: The Opium Trade and the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, 1945-48 -- Asian Economic History: Series Two: Economic Development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980.

China, America and the Pacific explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries that include the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum and the Massachusetts Historical Society, China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii.

Diplomacy and Political Secrets, 1869-1950 (British India office files and Burma Office files) -- Hong Kong, Britain and China, 1841-1951 -- Missionary, sinology, and literary periodicals (1817-1949); Imperial China and the West Parts 1 & 2, 1815–1881

With approximately 7,000 titles (100,000 volumes), originally held at the National Library of China,

Open-access datasets on Chinese village history and development. The data coverage period is 1949 to the present, though the final year of coverage for each village varies due to varying gazetteer compilation and publication dates. There are 18 datasets included in CCVG Data: Gazetteer Information; Village Information; Natural Environment; Natural Disasters; Year of First Availability; Last Names; Ethnic Groups; Population and Migration; Military, Politics and Management; Economy; Family Planning; Education. All are available for free download. For user’s convenience, CCVG Data is bilingual (Chinese/English)

Over 20,000 volumes of Chinese chorographic books, covering 31 provinces and autonomous regions, providing detailed geographic and historical records of provinces, prefectures, cities, and smaller district administration units.

The Memory Project collects oral histories from survivors of the Great Famine that devastated rural China between 1958 and 1961. Officially known in China as the “Three Years of Natural Disasters” or “The Difficult Three-Year Period,” the Great Famine caused the death of between 20 and 43 million people. More recently the project has also covered the Great Leap Forward of 1958-1960, the Land Reform and the Collectivization of 1949-1953, the Four Cleanups Movement in 1964, and the Cultural Revolution of 1966-1976.

English-language newspapers, magazines, pamphlets and books following the descent into war in East and South-East Asia from the turn of the twentieth century to the 1950s. This collection of newspapers and lavishly illustrated magazines, often in colour, shows the route from the defeat of Russia by Japan to Japan's own defeat, through seismic upheaval in China and the onset of systemic change in Asia.

Bibliographic information for the books, serials, dissertations, etc. held in the library & digitized collections on Minguo publications.

Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

About 5000 photographs, primarily of China, 1917-1932.

Download Client Program Installation Guide (http://www.eastview.com/online/sikudownload). This online version of the Wenyuange Edition includes 3,460 works with a total of more than 36,000 volumes and allows full-text retrieval and full-image browsing.

This collection of documentary, newsreel and feature films reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, and Latin American filmmakers. Ranging from the early 20th century to the 1980s, material encapsulates the themes of war, revolution, news, current affairs, culture and society.

Full-text documents of the Tokyo Trials of Japanese war criminals in World War II. Content includes transcripts of the proceedings and court exhibits of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East, transcripts of interrogation of the International Prosecution Section, along with historical photos, audio and video.

Books on medicine and health published between 1911-1949, from National Library of China

由李申先生执行主编，中华书局出版的佛教专题性典籍文献数据库，分为《史部佛迹》《子部佛影》《集部佛论》《金石佛踨》四部，主要取自《四库全书》系列丛书，同时搜罗散布于各地图书馆和博物馆，以及正史、地方志、丛书、文集中的佛教文献，以期呈现佛教典籍的完整面貌。其中，《子部佛影》和《集部佛论》两部专门收录有儒家和道家议论佛教相关文献，记载了中国主流文化和“外来宗教”之间复杂的历史进程。

From the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica (中研院歷史研究所), the database offers browsing and advanced search across the Veritable records of the Ming 明實錄; the Veritable records of the Qing 清實錄 and the Veritable records of the Joseon Dynasty 朝鮮王朝實錄.

中国历史研究院近代史研究所制作，包括图书、报纸、档案等资料。

From its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounters.
Module I: Global Missions and Contemporary Encounter, 1804-2009
Module II: Medical Journals, Asian Missions And The Historical Record, 1816-1986.