LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Getting Started

Librarian for Jewish Studies

Contact:

Email me: rachel.ariel@duke.edu
International and Area Studies
237 Bostock/Perkins Library
Call me: 919-660-5842

Subjects: Jewish Studies

Access through Duke Library

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Index to Hebrew Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from Hebrew periodicals,monographs, newspapers and articles in other languages dealing with the land of Israel
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Search for English-language journal articles on Jewish history, activity, and thought
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source materials related to the history of Jewish communities in the United States from the 17th century to present
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970 This link opens in a new window
Search primary source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from 1917 to 1971.
Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in Jewish studies
Shoah Foundation Institute Visual History Archive This link opens in a new window
Find and view streaming video from testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Strong collection of Jewish Holocaust testimonies
Note: Users must create a personal account to access.

The National Library of Israel
The Jewish History Resource Center
Jerusalem Center for Public Affairs: The Daniel Elazar On-Line Library
Historical Jewish Press
A collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Union List of Digitized Jewish Historic Newspapers, Periodicals and e-Journals
Comprehensive list in numerous languages including Hebrew, English, German, and Ladino.
Center for Jewish History
Research history, culture and heritage through the collections, archives and exhibits of five partner organizations: American Jewish Historical Society, American Sephardi Federation, Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
The Jewish Guide to the Internet
Online directory of Jewish sites
Jewish Digital Collections
An annotated list of links to a vast array of Jewish Digital Collections and Jewish Studies Guides
Virtual Religion Index: Judaic Studies

Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Primary Sources in History, Economics, Law, Politics, Diplomacy, and Government

When searching Duke's catalog for Hebrew or Yiddish-language materials, here are several helpful methods:

Searching using romanized terms:
- This method will theoretically retrieve the most results.
- When using this method, follow the romanization table provided by the Library of Congress
Searching in Hebrew characters
- This method may not retrieve all relevant results, but will likely return some different results than a romanized search term
Searching under author's name (Last name, first name)
- This is a good method to employ to pull in the most complete results when the author's name is known.