LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Jews in the South

Rosenwald by Kempner, Aviva
Call Number: DVD 30806
ISBN: 0692957391
Publication Date: 2017
"The remarkable story of a Jewish partnership with African American communities"--from cover.
Land of promise : the Jews of South Carolina by produced by Big Pictures for the Jewish Historical Society of South Carolina.
Call Number: DVD 5794
Publication Date: 2003
(Available Online) Land of Promise is a fascinating, richly illustrated documentary that explores the Jewish experience in South Carolina from colonial days to modern times. It is a heartwarming story of religious tolerance, economic and political opportunity By 1800, Charleston was home to the largest and wealthiest Jewish community in North America. The settling of Jews in South Carolina mirrors the Jewish immigration to the United States with Sephardic Jews in the 17th century being followed by German Jews, then Eastern Jews and Russian Jews today.The film relates many surprising firsts. For example: the first Jew in the western world, (not merely in the U.S.) to be elected to a popular assembly was a South Carolinian, Francis Salvador, in 1774 . He was also the first Jew to have died in the Revolutionary War. The first reform temple in America was built in Charleston in 1841. The first Jewish Secretary of State in the U.S. was not Henry Kissinger but Judah Benjamin during the Confederacy.With archival material, photographs and paintings, the film touches on all aspects of Southern Jewish life -- their involvement with slavery, the Civil War and civil rights, the prospering of the cities after Reconstruction and their transition from family businesses into the professions. It addresses the challenges Jews face in maintaining their cultural identity as they integrate into the broader Southern communities where they live.

American Jewish Archives Journal
The American Jewish Archives Journal (AJAJ) has provided its readers for over sixty years with informative articles, interesting documentary analyses, and helpful review essays. The Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives (AJA) is now pleased to present the entire run (114 issues and counting) of its award-winning publication in a freely accessible searchable database.
American Jewish Committee Archives
Filled with more than a million documents and hundreds of movies and radio shows, the New York-based American Jewish Committee Archives house an extraordinary range of resources on the past century of American Jewish history.
Goldring/Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life
The ISJL delivers programs and services directly to communities, no matter how small. The services we provide range from rabbinical visits to congregations with no rabbis of their own, to community engagement opportunities, historical preservation and cultural programs, and an education program that serves thousands of students.
Jewish Heritage Foundation of North Carolina
The Jewish Heritage Foundation of North Carolina is the only statewide independent organization dedicated to collect, preserve, and present the history of the Jewish people of our State. To serve our mission we honor our history, celebrate our culture and connect our communities.
The Occident and American Jewish Advocate
A monthly periodical devoted to the diffusion of knowledge on Jewish literature and religion.
Southern Jewish Historical Society
Since 1977, the Southern Jewish Historical Society has worked to foster scholarship about the experience of southern Jews. With an annual conference, academic journal, and active grant and award programs, the society has helped to move southern Jewish history from the margins of the American Jewish narrative into the mainstream. The SJHS has been in the forefront of the study of the Jewish South for over 40 years.

Down Home: A Virtual Museum
Duke Center for Jewish Studies and the Jewish Heritage Foundation of North Carolina
Encyclopedia of Southern Jewish Communities
The Goldring/Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life
Selected Bibliography of the Southern Jewish Experience
The Goldring/Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life
South Carolina Jews Tell Their Stories
Jewish Heritage Collection at the College of Charleston

Abraham Ephraim Frankland autobiographical memoir, testament, and family record book, 1863-1912
Collection comprises the Frankland's autobiographical memoir, testament, and family record book (approx. 390 pages), with 14 illustrations, 5 newspaper clippings pasted in, and one printed card pasted in. The manuscript is divided into approximately six parts: an extended farewell address to his wife on death and immortality; a separate address to his children providing guidelines they should live by; an autobiography and history of his association with Freemasonry and Scottish Rite Freemason Albert Pike; a record of his involvement with the Independent Order B'nai B'rith with its "Congregational Record" and an outline of his charitable and civic work; and a record of family marriages, births, and deaths.
Guide to the Evans Family Papers, 1920s-1990s
Collection contains correspondence, scrapbooks, albums, clippings, addresses, writings, and other materials that concern the personal lives and careers of Mr. and Mrs. Emanuel J. ("Mutt") and Sara Evans, and their sons, Robert and Eli. Mutt Evans's mayoral correspondence is divided into a general file and a subject file. Some materials depict the private lives of the Evanses, including photographs, albums, and personal correspondence. Sara's family, the Nachamsons, is often represented. The collection also includes extensive documentation about Sara's role in Hadassah, both locally and nationally, as well as the family's participation in other Isareli and Jewish causes. Also included are materials from their work in developing and fundraising for the Judaic Studies Program at Duke University.

A Coat of Many Colors by Abraham D. Lavender
Call Number: E184.36.S65 C638 1977 c.1
ISBN: 083719539X
Publication Date: 1977-10-11
Crossing the River by Shalom Eilati; Yad va-shem, rashut ha-zikaron la-Shoah vela-Gevurah Staff (Contribution by); Dan J. Puckett
ISBN: 9780817381073
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
(Available Online) In the Shadow of Hitler chronicles the experiences of Alabama Jews as they worked to overcome their own divisions in order to aid European Jews before, during, and after the Second World War.
Heart of a Wife by Helen J. Apte; Marcus D. Rosenbaum (Editor)
Call Number: F220.J5 A68 1998 c.1
In 1995, NPR editor and producer Marcus D. Rosenbaum met his grandmother-fifty years after her death. Rosenbaum and his family were attending to the bittersweet business of cleaning out the family home after his father died when, in an old closet, in a ziplock bag, his niece discovered a gateway to the early part of the century and into the life of Helen Jacobus Apte, a Southern Jewish woman living in post-Victorian era Florida and Georgia. The covers of his grandmother's diary were cracked and the pages were beginning to yellow, but there it was: almost forty years of passion, doubt, love, and life, penned in unflinching candor.
Homelands by Leonard Rogoff
ISBN: 9780817310554
Publication Date: 2001-08-15
Available Online. Homelands blends oral history, documentary studies, and quantitative research to present a colorful local history with much to say about multicultural identity in the South. Homelands is a case study of a unique ethnic group in North America--small-town southern Jews.
Jews in the South by Leonard Dinnerstein (Editor); Mary D. Palsson (Editor)
Call Number: 296.0975 D585J c.1
ISBN: 0807102261
Publication Date: 1973-03-01
Jews of South Florida by Andrea Greenbaum (Editor)
Call Number: F320.J5 J49 2005
ISBN: 1584653094
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
When we think of Jewish South Florida, we may think first of the generation of aging Jews who moved to South Beach from the 1940s to the 1970s to create a rich Yiddish culture on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Yet these "snowbirds" are just one group in what has become an increasingly diverse South Florida Jewish population. The tri-county area of Miami-Dade, Broward, and Palm Beach is home to a community of more than 625,000 Jews---about --10 percent of American Jews--and comprises nearly 200 congregations, 3 major Jewish federations, 20 Hebrew day schools, a world-recognized Holocaust memorial, and more. Yet no single book offers an overview of this vital Jewish community. The South Florida Jewish community is distinguished from other Jewish communities in the U.S. by its diverse population.
Jews of the South by Samuel Proctor (Editor); Louis Schmier (Editor); Malcolm Stern (Editor)
Call Number: F220.J5 J48 1984 c.1
ISBN: 0865541027
Publication Date: 1984-05-01
Jews and Gentiles in a south Georgia town / by Louis Schmier -- Moses Elias Levy and attempts to colonize Florida / by Joseph Gary Adler -- Penina Moise, southern Jewish poetess / by Solomon Breibart -- Rabbi Bernard C. Ehrenreich / by Harold S. Wechsler -- The Sheftalls of Savannah / by John McKay Sheftall -- Reminiscences of Joseph Joel in Europe and America / by Myron Berman -- Eugenia Levy Phillips / by David T. Morgan -- Philip Phillips, jurist and statesman / by David T. Morgan -- Ludwig Lewisohn / by Daniel Walden.
Judah P. Benjamin by Eli N. Evans
ISBN: 0029088801
This biography was acclaimed by The New York Times as "deeply interesting" and "an absorbing account" of the life of the man called "the brains of the Confederacy". 16 pages of illustrations.
The Lonely Days Were Sundays by Eli N. Evans
ISBN: 0878056270
Publication Date: 1993-06-01
In 33 entertaining essays, Evans explores southern politics, history, and culture; the state of Israel; and the Civil war--delineating them through the prism of his Jewish-Southern identity and reflecting upon the paradox of the Southern Jewish experience: to be a part of things yet set apart from them.
Mordecai by Emily Bingham
Call Number: CS71 .M8345 2003 c.1
ISBN: 0809027569
Publication Date: 2003-04-16
An Intimate Portrait of a Jewish American Family in America's First Century Mordecai is a brilliant multigenerational history at the forefront of a new way of exploring our past, one that follows the course of national events through the relationships that speak most immediately to us--between parent and child, sibling and sibling, husband and wife.
My Father's People by Louis D. Rubin
Call Number: F279.C49 J5787 2002 c.1
ISBN: 0807128082
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Louis Rubin's people on his father's side were odd, inscrutable, and remarkable. In contrast to his mother's family, who were "normal, good people devoid of mystery," the ways of the Rubins both puzzled and attracted him. In My Father's People, Rubin tells "as best I can about them all -- my father, his three brothers, and his three sisters." It is a searching, sensitive story of Americanization, assimilation, and the displacement -- and survival -- of a religious heritage.
The Provincials by Eli N. Evans; Willie Morris (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0807829587
Publication Date: 2005-02-28
Available Online. In this classic portrait of Jews in the South, Eli N. Evans takes readers inside the nexus of southern and Jewish histories, from the earliest immigrants to the present day. Evoking the rhythms and heartbeat of Jewish life in the Bible belt, Evans weaves together chapters of recollections from his youth and early years in North Carolina with chapters that explore the experiences of Jews in cities and small towns across the South.
Uneasy at Home by Leonard Dinnerstein
Call Number: E184.355 .D566 1987 c.1
ISBN: 0231062524
Publication Date: 1987-11-05
Over the last twenty years Leonard Dinnerstein has not only become one of the leading scholars of American Jewish history, but also has helped bring that field to the forefront of historical scholarship. Uneasy at Home assembles his most important essays--one never before published--on a wide range of subjects from the nineteenth century to the present.
Voices of Jacob, hands of Esau: Jews in American life and thought by Stephen J. Whitfield
Call Number: E184.36.I58 W458 1984 c.1
ISBN: 0208020071
Publication Date: 1984-12-01

Jewish Studies

Contact Us

Services for...