(Available in Print as well) Written by almost 100 experts from many countries, this award winning text is the first reference work to chart the full extent of this horrific subject with objectivity and authority.
Encyclopedia of War Crimes and Genocide, Revised Edition examines the contemporary history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. With more than 500 entries, this two-volume A-to-Z encyclopedia covers a wide range of relevant topics, including human rights, war criminals, war crimes, examples of genocide, international organizations and international law concerning war crimes, and much more. This revised edition also includes updated information on recent human rights and war crime trials. It features a primary resources section with documents that are vital to understanding this subject.
Based on decades of research at Yad Vashem, The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life before and during the Holocaust tells the story of thousands of Jewish communities in concise prose, illustrated with maps and poignant images of a world that can no longer be visited. The Encyclopedia is a rich source of information for students, teachers, genealogists and anyone interested in the pageant of Jewish life through the ages.
This award winning set is now available in an unabridged, two-volume set at a price lower than the original 4-volume format. The 1,000 original articles cover virtually every aspect of the "Final Solution." The articles are balanced, up-to-date, authoritative summaries of everything concerning the Holocaust.
Provides the reader with the facts of the Holocaust with an emphasis on the central role Jews played in the Nazi genocide. Intended for the non-specialist with some background in history, it will also be of use as an accessible reference tool for more advanced research. Extensive introduction, comprehensive bibliography, and a chronology further supplement the usefulness of this volume.
This two-part volume combines an accessible overview of contemporary Jewish history with a unique dictionary of Holocaust terms. In addition to assessing the Holocaust specifically, Part 1 of the book discusses the history of European Jewry, anti-Semitism, the rise and fall of Nazism and fascism, World War II, and the postwar implications of the Holocaust. The authors also consider key historiographical and methodological issues related to the Holocaust.Part Two provides a complete dictionary of terms relating to the Holocaust culled from dozens of primary and secondary sources in a range of languages.
This is the only comprehensive single-volume reference providing both a reflective overview and detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities and individuals involved in the Holocaust. Photos. Maps. Illustrations.
Seventy years after the outbreak of World War II, most of the European ghettos have still not been systematically researched. This pioneering two-volume encyclopedia gathers data from historical studies, testimonies, and documents dealing with more than 1,100 ghettos throughout Eastern Europe.