"We counter the tide that separates most Jews alive today from their own remarkable heritage. We seek to inspire the local and broader Jewish community by illuminating a uniquely creative and influential culture that was shattered in its prime. We challenge the fog of lost memory and ignorance about Yiddish that puts a vast and precious vital legacy at risk of completely expiring. Encountering Yiddish culture is an opportunity to experience an uncommon joy."
Welcome to the Digital Yiddish Theatre Project, a research consortium dedicated to the application of digital humanities tools and methods to the study of Yiddish theatre and drama. Founded in 2012, the DYTP is an experiment in scholarly collaboration across dozens of fields, methodologies, and institutions. Our team is comprised of scholars from a range of disciplines and professional backgrounds who are among the world's leading authorities on Yiddish theatre and drama.
The Award-winning National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene [NYTF] is the longest continuously producing Yiddish theatre company in the world. The company presents plays, musicals, concerts, lectures, interactive educational workshops and community-building activities in English and Yiddish, with English and Russian supertitles accompanying performances.
The Yiddish language sheet music in this digital collection is part of the large Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library. The digital collection is composed of public domain (pre-1923) titles; when the project is completed it is expected that it will be comprised of approximately 700 titles.
The collection consists of several hundred pieces and serves as a testament to the volume and vibrancy of the music of the Eastern European Jewish immigrant community that settled in the Lower East Side.
(Available Online) "The Collection "Yiddish Prints" contains about 800 very valuable Yiddish books that belong to the Frankfurt University Library. The texts were printed in Hebrew letters in West, Central and East Europe. The dates range from the middle of the 16th century to the beginning of the 20th century. The collection contains the whole spectrum of Yiddish books, women’s bibles in Yiddish translation, liturgy, practical guide books, works on religious customs, legends, chronicles and classical Jewish fiction of famous East European Yiddish authors."
The Yiddish Book Center is a nonprofit organization working to recover, celebrate, and regenerate Yiddish and modern Jewish literature and culture. Their digital library contains 11,000+ titles that can be downloaded free of charge.
A Hebrew-language periodical devoted to research in Yiddish literature with particular emphasis on its connections to Hebrew literature. Founded at the University of Haifa in 1993, the annual now appears under the aegis of Tel-Aviv and Bar-Ilan universities as well. Edited by Shalom Luria and Haya Bar-Yitzchak, and guided by an international editorial board composed of experts in Yiddish and related disciplines, Khulyot is read worldwide by scholars and lay persons seeking to understand the literary culture of Ashkenazic Jewry.
Containing nearly 50,000 entries and 33,000 subentries, the Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary emphasizes Yiddish as a living language that is spoken in many places around the world. The late Mordkhe Schaechter collected and researched spoken and literary Yiddish in all its varieties and this landmark dictionary reflects his vision for present-day and future Yiddish usage. The richness of dialect differences and historical developments are noted in entries ranging from "agriculture" to "zoology" and include words and expressions that can be found in classic and contemporary literature, newspapers, and other sources of the written word and have long been used by professionals and tradesmen, in synagogues, at home, in intimate life, and wherever Yiddish-speaking Jews have lived and worked.
While much early Yiddish literature belonged to pious genres, quasi-secular genres--epic, drama, and lyric--also developed. Jerold Frakes contends that the historical context of the emergence of Yiddish literature is an essential factor in any understanding of its cultural relevance in a time and place where Jewish life was defined by expulsions, massacres, and discriminatory legislation that profoundly altered European Judaism and shook the very foundations of traditional Jewish society.
Jean Baumgarten's Introduction to Old Yiddish Literature, thoroughly revised from the first edition and translated into English, provides students and scholars of medieval, Renaissance, and early modern European cultures with an exemplary survey of the broad and deep literary tradition inYiddish. Baumgarten conceives of his work as the study of an entire culture via its literature, and thus he conceives of literature in a broad sense: he begins with four chapters addressing pertinent issues of the larger cultural context of the literature and moves on to a consideration of theprimary genres in which the culture is expressed (epic, romance, prose narrative, drama, biblical translation and commentary, ethical and moral treatises, prayers, and the broad range of literature of daily use - medical, legal, and historical).
Taking stock of Yiddish literature in 1939, critic Shmuel Niger highlighted the increasing number and importance of women writers. However, awareness of women Yiddish writers diminished over the years. Today, a modest body of novels, short stories, poems and essays by Yiddish women may be found in English translation online and in print, and little in the way of literary history and criticism is available. This collection of critical essays is the first dedicated to the works of Yiddish women writers, introducing them to a new audience of English-speaking scholars and readers.
As the main spoken language of the Jews for more than a thousand years, Yiddish has had plenty to lament, plenty to conceal. Its phrases, idioms, and expressions paint a comprehensive picture of the mind-set that enabled the Jews of Europe to survive a millennium of unrelenting persecution: they never stopped kvetching ---about God, gentiles, children, food, and everything (and anything) else. They even learned how to smile through their kvetching and express satisfaction in the form of complaint.
Max Weinreich's History of the Yiddish Language is a classic of Yiddish scholarship and is the only comprehensive scholarly account of the Yiddish language from its origin to the present. A monumental, definitive work, History of the Yiddish Language demonstrates the integrity of Yiddish as a language, its evolution from other languages, its unique properties, and its versatility and range in both spoken and written form. Originally published in 1973 in Yiddish by the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research and partially translated in 1980, it is now being published in full in English for the first time. In addition to his text, Weinreich's copious references and footnotes are also included in this two-volume set.
Splendor, Decline, and Rediscovery of Yiddish in Latin America presents Yiddish culture as it developed in an area seldom associated with the language. Yet several countries--Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Mexico and Uruguay--became centers for Yiddish literature, journalism, political activism, theater, and music. Chapters by historians, linguists, and literary critics explore the flourishing of Yiddish there in the early 20th century, its retraction in the 1960's, and contemporary endeavors to rescue this marginalized legacy.
Written entirely in Yiddish, this accessible language text provides opportunities for intermediate level students of Yiddish to improve their conversational skills, grammar and vocabulary. It includes numerous written exercises designed to clarify difficult language problems, as well as conversational exercises that invite role play and discussions of readings from Yiddish literature, folklore and the social sciences.
Originally published in 1966, An Anthology of Modern Yiddish Poetry was the first bilingual anthology to feature the rich, spirited, and passionate Yiddish poetry of the twentieth century. Nearly thirty years after the original publication, the interest in Yiddish studies continues to grow, making this definitive collection all the more Significant as a study of influences and developments in Yiddish poetry.
Sing, Stranger is a comprehensive historical anthology of a century of American poetry written in Yiddish and now translated into English for the first time. Here are the Proletarian or "sweat-shop" poets, sympathizing with Socialist Anarchists, who were highly popular with Yiddish audiences at the end of the nineteenth century; the lyrical moods and ironies of the "Young Generation" at the beginning of the twentieth century; the sophisticated poetry of the modern world seen through the individualistic prism of the "Introspectivists" after World War I; samples of epic poetry; and, finally, the poetry of the Holocaust and the decline of the Yiddish language. This anthology reveals both an amazing achievement of Jewish creative work and an important body of American poetry, written in a minority language, practically unknown to most readers.
The Joe Fishstein Collection of Yiddish Poetry, housed in the Division of Rare Books and Special Collections at McLennan Library, McGill University, is considered to be one of the finest private collections of its kind in the world. It consists of some 2300 Yiddish works, mostly poetry, and includes many rare volumes, most of which have been preserved in vintage condition by beautiful hand-made jackets fashioned by Joe Fishstein, the Bronx garment worker who amassed them.