The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. Part of Yale University's department of Manuscripts and Archives, the archive is located at Sterling Memorial Library.
This catalog offers important access to the memories and perceptions of those who survived the Holocaust. It provides full descriptive listings of 43 institutions and their holdings of audio and video tapes of interviews with Holocaust survivors. Access is provided to more than 11,600 interviews. Included is information on the form and content of each collection as well as specifics on the institutions themselves, access to their holdings, their addresses, and other directory-type information.
Guides the reader through all films-fictional, documentary, and propaganda-related to the Holocaust and its effects, including filmographies, bibliographies, production histories, and spotlight essays on key pictures.
In this masterpiece of Holocaust literature, David Clay Large tells the wrenching story of Max Schohl, a German Jew who, in the midst of the Second World War, could not find a government that would allow his family to immigrate, despite wealth, education, and business and family connections. After repeated but fruitless efforts to gain entry first to the United States and then to Britain, Chile, and Brazil, Max died in Auschwitz and his wife and daughters were sent to hard labor in Wiesbaden.Much has been written about the West's unwillingness to attempt the rescue of tens of thousands of European Jews from the hands of the Nazis; now David Clay Large gives a human face to this tragedy of bureaucratic inertia and ill will.
This resource guide will help readers locate over 800 first-person accounts, fiction, poetry, art interpretations, and music by Holocaust victims and survivors, as well as videos relating the testimony and experiences of Holocaust survivors.
Searching Duke Film Collections
To find films and documentaries, try an advanced search and limit the "Resource Type" to "Video". Enter terms such as: