LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Culture

Art

Jewish Art Now
Jewish Art Now is a central portal for the convergence of Judaism and contemporary art with a fresh and innovative perspective. We build community, guiding participants to available resources, as well as hosting our own programs and events. Jewish Art Now recharges Jewish identity and its relationship to the visual through engaging exhibitions, interactive events, and dynamic media content on the web .
Jewish Virtual Library
Comprehensive list of Jewish artists

Jewish Art in America by Matthew Baigell
Call Number: N6538.J4 B347 2007
ISBN: 0742546403
Publication Date: 2006-11-27
Reinventing Ritual by Daniel Belasco; Arnold M. Eisen; Jewish Museum (New York, N.Y.) Staff (Contribution by); Contemporary Jewish Museum (San Francisco, Calif.) Staff (Contribution by); Tamar Rubin; Julie Lasky; Danya Ruttenberg
Call Number: N7414.75.N48 J483 2009
ISBN: 9780300146820
Publication Date: 2009-09-29
A guidebook to the most current trends in contemporary Jewish art and design, Reinventing Ritual provides an unprecedented look at the work and thought of contemporary artists as they respond to the needs and practices of traditional culture. Beautifully illustrated with new art from Israel, Europe, and the Americas, this publication features both traditional and avant-garde sculpture, textiles, architecture, metalwork, and ceramics by forty leading artists.

Exhibit: Art of the Hebrew tradition; Jewish ceremonial objects for synagogue and home.
An exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City, commenorating the American Jewish tercentenary; arranged by the Jewish Museum of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America, January 20, 1955 to February 27, 1955.

Film

American Jewish Films by Lawrence J. Epstein
ISBN: 9780786469628
Publication Date: 2013-03-29
(Available Online) This is a thematic survey of American films with significant Jewish content that made an important statement about America. Both familiar and lesser known films are included. An introduction discusses why American Jews were attracted to films as audiences, performers and business people, and evaluates how films help audiences think about their lives. The book then focuses on themes and representative and important films, placing them in their cultural contexts. One of the aspects of American Jewish life brought out by the films in general is the tensions between an American and a Jewish identity and between a Jewish identity and a broader human identity. Other themes are assimilation and acculturation, interfaith relations, Israel, marriage and family relations, the role of women, Jews and American politics, and anti-Semitism including the Holocaust.

Journal of Jewish Music and Liturgy
Online, Duke Only
Jewish film & new media
Jewish Film & New Media provides an outlet for research into any aspect of Jewish film, television, and new media and is unique in its interdisciplinary nature, exploring the rich and diverse cultural heritage across the globe. The journal is distinctive in bringing together a range of cinemas, televisions, films, programs, and other digital material in one volume and in its positioning of the discussions within a range of contexts—the cultural, historical, textual, and many others.

Ergo: Jewish Video and Film
Ergo Media, Inc. was founded in 1986. From the start, Ergo Media has focused its attention on making film, video and DVD's available about the Jewish experience for the discriminating individual who wants to learn more about Jewish life and culture, Israel, the Holocaust, Jewish tradition and World Jewry. The Ergo Collection, which has over 300 titles, includes children's videos, documentaries, "how-to" videos, Israeli and Yiddish film classics, educational programs and music/art videos.
National Center for Jewish Film
The National Center for Jewish Film is a unique, independent nonprofit motion picture archive, distributor, resource center and exhibitor. NCJF's ongoing mission is the collection, preservation and exhibition of films with artistic and educational value relevant to the Jewish experience and the dissemination of these materials to the widest possible audience. NCJF exclusively owns the largest collection of Jewish content film in the world, outside of Israel.
The Jewish Film Archive
The Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
The Stephen Spielberg Jewish Film Archive is the largest collection of Jewish documentary films in the world. The archive stores over 18,000 titles from different periods of history, from the time of the Ottoman Empire to this day. The archive contains titles in almost every visual format; this includes film, different types of video and digital files.

Museums

Links

Contemporary Jewish Museum
Located in San Francisco, CA
Council of American Jewish Museums
The Goldring/Woldenberg Institute of Southern Jewish Life
Located in Jackson, MS
The Jewish Museum
Located in NYC
Leo Baeck Institute
New York City-based research library devoted to the study of the history and culture of German-speaking Jewry
The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life
Located at University of California, Berkeley
Museum of Tolerance - Simon Wiesenthal Center
Located in Los Angeles, CA
The National Museum of American Jewish History
Located in Philadelphia, PA
National Museum of American Jewish Military History
Located in Washington, D.C.
Tenement Museum
Located in NYC
United States Holocaust Museum
Located in Washington, D.C.
Yeshiva Museum
Located in NYC

Music

Links

American Cantorate Site
This website details the results of the 1984-1986 History of the American Cantorate project.
Dartmouth Jewish Sound Archive
Includes all types of music, in eight languages
Der Yidisher Gramofon
Recordings of European Jewish Music
Jewish Music Research Centre
Major database documenting oral and written musical traditions of global Jewish communities (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Jewish Music WebCenter
Keynote: Jewish Music Database
Produced by the Jewish Music Institute at the University of London; database of recorded and notated music
The Klezmer Shack
The Milken Archive of Jewish Music
Robert and Molly Freedman Jewish Sound Archive
Catalog of Yiddish music; searchable by composer, author, title, first line, subject, genre, and style
Sephardic Music
A Century of Recordings
Shul Music
Scores of liturgical music and MIDI sound
Tara Publications
Jewish music publisher
VirtualCantor
Digital recordings of daily, Shabbat, and holiday nusah
Yiddish American Popular Sheet Music
From The Library of Congress
Yiddish Sheet Music Brown University
The Yiddish language sheet music in this digital collection is part of the large Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library. The digital collection is composed of public domain (pre-1923) titles; when the project is completed it is expected that it will be comprised of approximately 700 titles.
Zamir Chorale
Jewish music resources

Theater

Links

All About Jewish Theater (Archive)
All About Jewish Theatre is the only global network dedicated to Jewish theatre and performing arts. Reaching 150,000 weekly visitors from more than 100 countries, this unique online resource presents a worldwide audience with the vital history and daily streaming of information on Jewish theatre and performing arts. This was their website from 2002- 2014. Their current site is available here in all Hebrew.
Alliance for Jewish Theatre
ALLIANCE FOR JEWISH THEATRE is 501(c)3 non-profit organization made up of theatre-artists, theatres, and other people connected to theatre to promote the creation, presentation, and preservation of both traditional and non-traditional theatrical endeavors by, for, and about the Jewish experience.
The National Yiddish Theatre
The Award-winning National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene [NYTF] is the longest continuously producing Yiddish theatre company in the world. The company presents plays, musicals, concerts, lectures, interactive educational workshops and community-building activities in English and Yiddish, with English and Russian supertitles accompanying performances.

Jewish Studies

Art

Film

Museums

Music

Theater

Contact Us

Services for...