Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search by region (e.g. Central, South, or Latin America)
- Search by specific nation (e.g. Peru, Honduras, Chile)
Guide to Latin American and Caribbean Collections
Americans for Immigrant Justice records
Americans for Immigrant Justice (formerly Florida Immigrant Advocacy Center [FIAC]) is a not-for-profit legal assistance organization dedicated to protecting and promoting the basic human rights of immigrants of all nationalities.
Asamblea Permanente de los Derechos Humanos de Bolivia records
Small collection of printed material generated by APDHB: posters, books, reports, pamphlets, and fliers. Topics covered in the material include women's rights, children's rights, victims' right, rights education, the state of human rights in Bolivia, state-sponsored torture and kidmapping, government corruption, the massacres of Amayapampa and Capasirca, and political violence in Bolivian history.
Caribbean Sea Migration collection
Materials from (or related to) the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, the bulk of which dates from 1994-1996.
Center for International Policy records
Non-profit organization founded in 1975, based in Washington, DC, whose chief focus is promoting changes in U.S. foreign and military policy in support of global human rights.
Coletta Youngers papers
Human rights researcher and policy advocate at the Washington Office on Latin America.
Deena Stryker photographs
The Deena Stryker Photographs collection contains photographs and related materials generated by the journalist, then known as Deena Boyer, during two trips to Cuba between July 1963 and July 1964. During her second trip to the island, she interviewed Fidel and Raúl Castro as well as other major figures in the Cuban Revolution.
Defensor del Pueblo Republica de Bolivia records
Small collection of printed material published by the organization: booklets, pamphlets, and fliers. Topics covered in the material include workers' rights, sexual workers, youth rights, children's rights, women's rights, LGBT rights, domestic and family violence, and rights education.
Ecumenical Program on Central America and the Caribbean (EPICA) records
Clippings, reports, publications, and photographs from Puerto Rico, Jamaica, Dominican Repulic, Grenada, and other Caribbean countries, collected and produced by the Ecumenical Program on Central America and the Caribbean (EPICA).
Frederick Herzog papers
Former faculty member at the Duke Divinity School, was well known for his work on civil rights and liberation theology.
Gary Monroe photographs
Collection comprises 100 16x20 black-and-white gelatin silver prints shot by Monroe from 1980 to 1998 in Haiti, in Haitian neighborhoods in Florida, and in Krome Camp, Florida, where Haitian refugees are detained by the U.S. government.
Global Rights records
Global Rights is an international human rights advocacy organization headquartered in Washington D.C.
Heraldo Muñoz papers
Chilean politician, diplomat, author, and ambassador to the United Nations.
Ipas works around the world to increase women's ability to exercise their sexual and reproductive rights, especially the right to safe abortion. The collection documents this global nongovernmental organization dedicated to ending preventable deaths and disabilities from unsafe abortion, including in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Las Libres Center records
Collection comprises brochures about sexual violence and access to emergency contraception in Guanajuato, and three note cards. Materials are primarily in Spanish, all but one include English translations. There is also a digital video disk created by the organization that provides the historical background for its work since 2000 and a general overview of its programs and outreach efforts (30:08 minutes; in Spanish and English with English subtitles; no credits; master copy not for research, use copy available).
Mark Danner papers
The Mark Danner Papers date from 1970 to 2004 and focus predominately on Danner's coverage of Haiti during the period of unrest that followed President Jean-Claude ("Baby Doc") Duvalier's exile in 1986.
Marshall T. Meyer Papers
Progressive and activist rabbi. Meyer was particularly involved in calling attention to human rights violations and working with the victims of violent political oppression in South and Central America in the 1970’s and 1980’s and served as a member of CONADEP, Argentina’s truth commission.
Memoria Abierta records
A small collection of printed material and ephemara created by Memoria Abierta contains three CD-ROMs, pamphlets, and maps. Acquired as part of the Archive for Human Rights.
National Coalition for Haitian Rights (NCHR) records
The National Coalition for Haitian Rights (NCHR) operated between 1982 and 2006, advocating for the rights of Haitians in the United States, Haiti, and the Caribbean.
Patricia Murphy Derian papers
Patt Derian was Assistant Secretary for Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs under President Jimmy Carter. After leaving her post Patt remained very active in the human rights community.
Petra Barth photographs
Documentary photographer working primarily in Latin America and Asia.
Radio Haiti audio recordings
Audio recordings from Radio Haiti-Inter, documenting Haitian politics and culture from 1957 to 2003 (bulk 1972-2003).
Radio Haiti papers
Radio Haïti-Inter was Haiti's first and most prominent independent radio station from the early 1970s until 2003. Under the direction of Jean Léopold Dominique and Michèle Montas, Radio Haiti was a voice of social change and democracy, speaking out against oppression and impunity while advocating for human rights and celebrating Haitian culture and heritage. The Radio Haiti papers contain mainly the station's on-air scripts and research materials covering a wide variety of subjects. The Radio Haiti audio recordings are described in a separate collection guide.
Roberta Cohen papers
Roberta Cohen is one of America's earliest international human rights professionals. Over the course of her career, she has served as diplomat, policy maker, scholar, author, and activist who has worked with the United Nations and for the Jimmy Carter Administration on humanitarian and human rights issues.
Robert J. Cox papers
Robert Cox was a journalist in Buenos Aires during the Dirty War/El Proceso and covered the cases of many disappeared people. He and his family were forced to flee to the United States after receiving numerous death threats.
Robin Kirk papers
Robin Kirk is the Faculty co-chair of the Duke University Human Rights Center at the Franklin Humanities Institute. At the time these files were created, Kirk was serving both as a journalist and a Human Rights Watch researcher. Subject files include notes; research materials; newspaper clippings, magazines; reports, many from human rights organizations; correspondence; copies of governmental documents; notebooks; and other items on human rights, primarily in Peru. There are small amounts of material related to Colombia, Haiti and the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, and Bolivia.
Student Action with Farmworkers records
Founded in 1992 at Duke University, Student Action with Farmworkers is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization based in Durham, N.C., whose mission is to bring students and farmworkers together to learn about each other’s lives, share resources and skills, improve conditions for farmworkers, and build diverse coalitions working for social change.
Videos by Latina Women: New Visions of the Globalizing South
Videos and fieldnotes created by students in 2003, in the CDS Continuing Education course "Visual Storytelling" in collaboration with 8 Latina immigrants in North Carolina.
Washington Committee for Human Rights in Argentina records
The Washington Committee for Human Rights in Argentina operated out of Washington DC in the late 1970s and early 1980s to advocate for human rights in Argentina.
Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) records
The Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) is an international human rights advocacy organization headquartered in Washington D.C. The Washington Office on Latin America records span the dates 1962 to 2008 and consist of research and project files on nearly every country in Latin America.