Duke Human Rights Archive: Other Geographic Areas

Photographic collection includes projects on the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone and residents in nearby areas in the Ukraine; and portraits of military veterans of the Bosnia-Herzegovina War.

Collection contains documents and records produced and maintained by IMI related to the monitoring of the genocide in the former Yugoslavia. The series focuses on IMI's searches, solicitation, and acquisition of audiovisual material from various news outlets and production companies, such as the BBC, as well as from independent organizations and individuals. The collection also has numerous transcripts from the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY).

Collection consists of several thousand documentary images and supporting documents, data, videos, news stories, and interviews documenting immigration and detention in the Mediterranean region.

The International Center for Transitional Justice (ICTJ) is a non-profit organization that assists post-conflict, conflict, and democratic countries in pursuing accountability for mass atrocities and human rights abuses. Each African country contains journal articles and other publications, including ICTJ reports, related to governance, rule of law, political stability, truth and reconciliation, reparations, and human rights violations. Materials are chiefly in English, but these records do contain some materials in French.

The non-profit agency International Monitor Institute (IMI) operated between 1993 and 2003, primarily to assist international war-crimes tribunals by collecting, indexing and organizing visual evidence of violations of international human rights law. Collection contains videotape segments of news broadcasts as well as documentaries of the Rwandan genocide, including footage of massacre sites and refugee camps, and interviews with both victims and perpetrators of the genocide. The collection also contains audiotapes of broadcasts from Radio Télévision Libres des Milles Collines (RTLM) and Radio Rwanda, classified as incitement to genocide, as well as several recordings produced by Reporters without Borders.

Areas of highest impact and results in the Africa region by Ipas include: assisting governments in national scale-up of postabortion care initiatives to improve quality of and access to treatment of abortion complications; conducting health systems and cost research studies on services; developing quality of care and instructional tools for improving postabortion care services and preventing repeat abortion via postabortion family planning; establishing comprehensive abortion care services in countries where laws were supportive; creating national standards and guidelines for best practices in comprehensive abortion care; advocating for reform to expand legal indications for abortion services; documenting coverage and utilization models in safe abortion care; provision of postabortion care services by mid-level and primary care providers; provision of reproductive health services for special needs populations, such as refugees, adolescents and people with HIV/AIDS; and advancement of women's sexual and reproductive rights as part of human rights.

South African Methodist Church leader and anti-apartheid activist. The Peter Storey Papers contain correspondence, datebooks, articles, lectures, sermons, committee and subject files, clippings, scrapbooks, videotapes, and electronic records. The collection documents Peter Storey's leadership and active involvement in the Methodist Church of Southern Africa, the South African Council of Churches, the Central Methodist Mission in Johannesburg, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Gun Free South Africa, and other religious and anti-apartheid groups.

Oral histories, transcriptions, videos, and field notes created by students in partnership with refugees and asylees from Syria, Sudan, and Iraq. Interviews were conducted between 2015 and 2018.

The Women's Refugee Commission was established in 1989 as part of the International Rescue Committee. It advocates for laws, policies, and programs to improve the lives and protect the rights of refugee and internally displaced women, children, and adolescents. Countries represented include Cambodia, Afghanistan, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Thailand, Myanmar, Israel, Guatemala, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Pakistan, Liberia, Kosovo, Iraq, Zambia, Tanzania, the United States, and others.

Accession (2012-0074) contains papers of Selig Harrison, a senior associate and program director of the Asia Project for the Center for International Policy. He is also a senior scholar of the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars and director of the Century Foundation's Program on the United States and the Future of Korea. He has specialized in South Asia and East Asia for fifty years as a journalist and scholar, including as a South Asia correspondent of the Associated Press. Selig Harrison became one of the first Americans to visit North Korea since the Korean War and to interview Kim Il Sung in 1972.

Selection of reports and publications issued by the Committee for Human Rights in North Korea, formed in 2001 in Washington DC. Topics of reports include: North Korean surveillance, gulags and prison camps, political propaganda, women and children's health, living conditions in the country, refugees and asylum seekers in China, and state violence against North Koreans.

Global Rights is an international human rights advocacy organization headquartered in Washington D.C. The Global Rights Records span the dates 1980-2006 and consist of correspondence, administrative, research and project files, and printed material related to the work of Global Rights (known before 2003 as the International Human Rights Law Group - IHRLG), a human rights advocacy organization based in Washington D.C. Material in this collection documents human rights abuses in various contexts while also providing insight into the complex administrative issues facing nongovernmental organizations working to curb those violations

Chilean politician, diplomat, author, and ambassador to the United Nations. In 2009, Heraldo Muñoz was charged with investigating the assassination of former Pakistani prime minister Benizar Bhutto. Collection includes Muñoz' files related to the United Nations Commission of Inquiry which investigated the assassination.

The International Center for Transitional Justice (ICTJ) is a non-profit organization that assists countries in pursuing accountability for mass atrocities and human rights abuses. Asian nations represented include Sri Lanka, Indonesia, India, Cambodia, and many others. Asian nation files are found throughout the collection, and may contain journal articles and other publications, including ICTJ reports, related to governance, rule of law, political stability, truth and reconciliation, reparations, and human rights violations. The material is chiefly in English, but large portions of the records, specifically the Iraqi records, are in Arabic.

he non-profit agency International Monitor Institute (IMI) operated between 1993 and 2003, primarily to assist international war-crimes tribunals by collecting, indexing and organizing visual evidence of violations of international human rights law. The International Monitor Institute Records, Burma Videotapes span the dates 1992-2002, and comprise audiovisual materials related to IMI's documentation of contemporary conflicts and human rights violations in Burma (Myanmar).

Ipas's main strategy in Asia was to work in countries where abortion was legal to remove barriers to access and demonstrate models of quality comprehensive abortion care, including medication abortion primarily in India and Vietnam. Asian countries presented great potential for impact to improve women's lives through public sector programs and integration with other reproductive health initiatives.

Patricia Murphy Derian is an activist, organizer, researcher, and served as the first Assistant Secretary of State for Human Rights (HR) and Humanitarian Affairs (HA), a bureau of the executive branch created in 1977 during the Carter Administration. The papers of Patricia M. Derian cover the years 1962-2007 and document Derian's involvement and interventions concerning international human rights, and to a lesser extent, civil liberties and women's rights.

The Roberta Cohen papers document Cohen's involvement with many NGOs, and government and United Nations bodies working on issues of international human rights, displacement, war, and humanitarianism. The North Korea subseries contains Cohen's research and writings about the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, especially pertaining to political prisoners. The subseries includes research materials like annotated articles as well as Cohen's policy recommendations.

The South Asian Pamphlets Collection spans the years 1920-2005, with the bulk of the material dating from the 1950s to the 1990s, and with only a few items from the 1910s-1940s. It is arranged by country. Topics commonly covered in each country series include but are not limited to agriculture, arts, defense, economic development, education, ethnic or cultural conflict, industry and commerce, international relations, politics and government, population issues, religion and philosophy, rural development, tourism, and the status of women. While the majority of the pamphlets were published by organizations and agencies and do not list individual authors' names, there are also pamphlets with individual authors listed.

The Women's Refugee Commission was established in 1989 as part of the International Rescue Committee. It advocates for laws, policies, and programs to improve the lives and protect the rights of refugee and internally displaced women, children, and adolescents. Countries represented include Cambodia, Afghanistan, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Thailand, Myanmar, Israel, Guatemala, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Pakistan, Liberia, Kosovo, Iraq, Zambia, Tanzania, the United States, and others.