Duke Human Rights Archive: Digital Collections for Remote Access

Materials from (or related to) the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, the bulk of which dates from 1994-1996.

This archive comprises two bodies of documentary work. The earlier project, Malta Detention, consists of color photographs, taken by Lupi from 2004-2013, of African migrants and asylum seekers in Malta detention camps. This series includes over 1800 digital files containing low-resolution images, contact sheets, and a group of news articles. The second project, On Board the MV Aquarius, comprises color photographs and supporting image files, documents, data, videos, news stories, and interviews compiled by Lupi in December, 2017, while on board the Aquarius, a migrant search and rescue ship operated by the non-profit organizations SOS Méditerranée and Médecins sans frontières.

The Deena Stryker Photographs collection contains photographs and related materials generated by the journalist, then known as Deena Boyer, during two trips to Cuba between July 1963 and July 1964. During her second trip to the island, she interviewed Fidel and Raúl Castro as well as other major figures in the Cuban Revolution.

Collection comprises 100 16x20 black-and-white gelatin silver prints shot by Monroe from 1980 to 1998 in Haiti, in Haitian neighborhoods in Florida, and in Krome Camp, Florida, where Haitian refugees are detained by the U.S. government.

Progressive and activist rabbi. Meyer was particularly involved in calling attention to human rights violations and working with the victims of violent political oppression in South and Central America in the 1970’s and 1980’s and served as a member of CONADEP, Argentina’s truth commission.

Twelve oral history interviews with students and artists from Palestine and the Palestinian diaspora.

Thirty-five films by 36 Palestinian student filmmakers, created between 2012 and 2019, documenting or portraying the political context and lived experience in the West Bank and Gaza. The films were made in journalism, media, and film classes at nine Palestinian universities, and range from experimental and poetic, to documentary essay and ethnography, to scripted narrative fiction. The films are characterized by their high technical quality, their local feel and community-centered focus, and their varied expression of Palestinian identity.

Under the leadership of station directors Jean Dominique and Michèle Montas, Radio Haiti was a voice of social change and democracy, speaking out against oppression and impunity while advocating for human rights and celebrating Haitian culture and heritage.

Oral history interviews with local (NC) refugee families from Iraq and Sudan, and Syrian refugees now residing in Canada, Brazil, Lebanon, Germany, and Italy. All items are digital.

The collection includes eight interviews with North Carolina social justice activists.

Videos and fieldnotes created by students in 2003, in the CDS Continuing Education course "Visual Storytelling" in collaboration with 8 Latina immigrants in North Carolina.

El Pueblo Inc. is a non-profit organization based in Raleigh, NC that serves and supports the Latin American community of North Carolina through advocacy work, programs in Latino culture, health, public safety, and youth leadership. Electronic records are integrated into the collection's series structure.

Collection includes zines, newsletters in physical and digital forms, fliers, and a petition which document Inside-Outside Alliance's activism concerning the Durham County Jail and policing in Durham, North Carolina. Digital copies of I/O's zine as well as archived version of their social media are available,

The International Center for Transitional Justice (ICTJ) is a non-profit organization that assists post-conflict, conflict, and democratic countries in pursuing accountability for mass atrocities and human rights abuses.

Within each series in the collection are audiovisual materials and digital files. These materials are inserted into the series they correspond with. The audiovisual materials include trial recordings, staff interviews, conference recordings, and truth commission proceedings. Some of these were digitized by ICTJ staff. The born-digital records contain similar materials and also include training materials, ICTJ administrative materials, and program specific documents.

The non-profit agency International Monitor Institute (IMI) operated between 1993 and 2003, primarily to assist international war-crimes tribunals by collecting, indexing and organizing visual evidence of violations of international human rights law. The International Monitor Institute Records, Burma Videotapes comprise audiovisual materials related to IMI's documentation of contemporary conflicts and human rights violations in Burma (Myanmar)

In the Videotape Series, "electronic record (use copy)" indicates an item has been digitized and may be requested by remote users.

The non-profit agency International Monitor Institute (IMI) operated between 1993 and 2003, primarily to assist international war-crimes tribunals by collecting, indexing and organizing visual evidence of violations of international human rights law. The International Monitor Institute Records, Rwanda Videotapes and Audiotapes comprise audiovisual materials related to IMI's documentation of contemporary conflicts and human rights violations in Rwanda.

In the Videotape Series, "electronic record (use copy)" indicates an item has been digitized and may be requested by remote users. The Audio Tapes (Electronic Records) Series contains digital files related to the RTLM audio cassettes. The Documents folder (389 files; 426 MB) includes transcripts, tape logs, and court documents related to the translation and transcription of the audio cassettes. Files are in .tiff format. The Audio folder (266 files; 11 folders; 6,791 MB) contains digital surrogates of many of the audio cassettes. Files are in MP3 format. The MP3 files are listed by their Exhibit number. A cross index between RTLM number and the Exhibit number is available in Box 719 or you may request a digital copy.

Collection includes 726 associated digital image and project files, and two digital videos by photographer Petra Barth. Arranged by project, Barth's images document cultures, politics, environments, and crises in countries all over the world, through landscape and portraiture. Series include images from Central and South American countries to the Caribbean countries of Haiti and the Bahamas; portraits of migrants and images of migrant services at Arizona/Mexico border stations; images from the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone and residents in nearby areas in the Ukraine; scenes in Jerusalem and the West Bank; images of Syrian refugees and others in Jordan camps; and portraits of military veterans of the Bosnia-Herzegovina War. Electronic records are included as digital materials sets and integrated into the collection's series.

Oral history interviews with local (NC) refugee families from Iraq and Sudan, and Syrian refugees now residing in Canada, Brazil, Lebanon, Germany, and Italy. All items are digital.

Student Action with Farmworkers (SAF) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to bring students and farmworkers together to learn about each other's lives, share resources and skills, improve conditions for farmworkers, and build diverse coalitions working for social change. Electronic records are contained in the Student Documentary Project series and the Audiovisual Series.