LibGuides: Duke Human Rights Archive: Human Rights in Palestine and the Middle East

Key Words

Search by region (Israel, Palestine, Jordan, Gaza Strip, West Bank, etc.)
Search by specific city (Jerusalem, Ramallah, Gaza, Amman, etc.)

Related Resources

Middle East & Islamic Studies (Duke)
Middle East & Islamic Studies (UNC)

Collections

Arab Political Posters Collection
A collection of posters advocating for Arab rights in Palestine, Yemen, Oman, Syria, and other locations.
Darrin Zammit Lupi photojournalism archive
Collection consists of several thousand documentary images and supporting documents, data, videos, news stories, and interviews documenting the immigration and detention of individuals from Italy and Africa to Malta.
Frances Hasso Collection
Printed materials collected by Frances Hasson about women’s rights, feminism, and political activism in Egypt, Palestine, Jordan, and Dubai.
International Monitor Institute. Middle East Videotapes
Audiovisual materials documenting human rights violations, chemical warfare, refugees, and other conflicts in Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Israel, Palestine, and Lebanon. Some major events include the Iranian revolution, the Kurdish genocide in Iraq, the US involvement in Iraq following the Sep 11, 2001 attack on the World Trade Center, and the Israel-Palestine conflict.
Librarians & Archivists with Palestine box set
Collection of art objects made upon the return of a delegation of librarians and archivists, who met with Palestinians throughout the West Bank and Israel in June 2013.
Marty Rosenbluth papers
Marty Rosenbluth was Amnesty International's area specialist for Israel/Occupied Territories in the 1980s. He is also an independent documentary film-maker. The Marty Rosenbluth papers include publications, reports, case studies, press-releases, mailings, communications, leaflets, audiovisual recordings, and ephemera created by Palestinian and Israeli human rights groups.
Palestinian and Lebanese Poster Collection
A collection of posters designed to raise awareness for the Palestinian struggle for nationhood and promote tourism in Jordan, Syria, Yemen, Egypt, and Lebanon.
Palestinian Oral History Project
Twelve oral history interviews with Palestinian students and artists who share their perspectives on daily life, Palestinian identity, living in refugee camps, life under occupation, and their personal and professional interests.
Palestinian Student Films
Thirty-five films by 36 Palestinian student filmmakers, created between 2012 and 2019, documenting or portraying the political context and lived experience in the West Bank and Gaza.
Petra Barth Photograph collection
The Jerusalem/West Bank/Jordan series contains 16 black-and-white digital photographs featuring the city of Jerusalem and the West Bank have as their focus buildings, streets, and inhabitants. The 31 black-and-white digital prints in Jordan were taken by Barth in refugee camps housing thousands of displaced people, mainly from Syria, but also from Iraq and Palestine. Portraits include men, women, children, and family groups, in their temporary housing and at refugee processing centers.
Ralph Gibson Photographs and Publication Materials
208 photographs taken in 2019 of Israel and the surrounding areas of Galilee, Jordan, and Palestine called “Sacred Land: Israel before and after time” (Lustrom Press, 2020). Gibson portrays both ancient landscapes and contemporary civilization in Israel and the surrounding areas.
Refugee Lives Oral History Project
Oral histories, transcriptions, videos, and field notes created by students in partnership with refugees and asylees from Syria, Sudan, and Iraq. Interviews were conducted between 2015 and 2018.
Women's Refugee Commission
The Women's Refugee Commission was established in 1989 as part of the International Rescue Committee. It advocates for laws, policies, and programs to improve the lives and protect the rights of refugee and internally displaced women, children, and adolescents. Countries represented include Cambodia, Afghanistan, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Thailand, Myanmar, Israel, Guatemala, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Pakistan, Liberia, Kosovo, Iraq, Zambia, Tanzania, the United States, and others.

Print Materials

The Colonizing self: or, home/homelessness in Israel/Palestine by Hagar Kotef (2020): A book exploring the social and emotional repercussions of displacement and its impact in the lives of Palestinians.

The Palestine refugees: statements made before the General Assembly of the United Nations on the question of the Palestine Refugees by Ahmad Shukairy (approximately 1958): A record of statements made by the Sadia Arabia delegation to the United Nations in response to the issue of Palestinian refugees.

Partition or Zionism?: The fate of Palestine and the Jewish national home by Abraham Revusky (1938): Published by the Zionist Committee for an Undivided Palestine in New York City, this pamphlet presents argumentation for and against a partition in Israel.

Persecution of the Arabs in Israel; facts that every American should know about the tragedy of the Holy Land by the Palestine Arab Refugee Office (1956): A pamphlet of quotes and facts surrounding issues of Palestinian rights in Israel.

Zionism and the Arab world; testimony submitted to the Committee of Foreign Affairs of the House of Representatives by Emanuel Neumann (1944): A pamphlet with Neumann's arguments to the Committee of Foreign Affairs in favor of a Jewish Commonwealth in Israel and the potential benefits for both Jews and Arabs.

Geography

Palestine and Transjordan 1:500,000: Amman: Iraq Lambert grid, central zone (1933): A map of Palestine and Transjordan during the British Mandate.

Jerusalem, old and new (1941-1942) by Ben-David Shelomoh: A pictorial map of Jerusalem.

Other Resources

Haifa Feminist Institute: A feminist library and archive in Haifa documenting the history of feminist activity in Israel.

Khazaaen: A digital archive of ephemeral materials about Palestinian identity, daily life, and culture.

Librarians and Archivists with Palestine: A network of librarians and archivists working in solidarity with Palestinians on issues of access, memory, identity, and self-determination.

Nakba Archive: A grassroots digital archive featuring the oral histories of Palestinian refugees who were expelled into Lebanon following the Nakba in 1948.

Palestine Film Institute: A nonprofit organization featuring the documentary works of Palestinian film makers.

Palestine Poster Project: A collection of Palestinian posters (printed and born-digital) documenting the Palestinian struggle for identity and nationhood.

Palestine Remembered: A grassroots collection of research, oral histories, maps, photographs, and other resources about Palestine, Zionism, and the events leading up to the Nakba in 1948.

Palestinian Oral History Archive (American University of Beirut): A collection of over one thousand oral histories of first-generation Palestinian refugees in Lebanon which have been cataloged and indexed for online access.