Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Emigration and immigration
- Displaced persons
- narrow by region (e.g. Central, South, or Latin America)
- narrow by specific nation (e.g. Peru, Honduras, Chile) or state (e.g Florida, North Carolina)
Guide to Immigration and Displacement Collections
Americans For Immigrant Justice records
The Americans for Immigrant Justice (AIJ) records, formerly the Florida Immigrant Advocacy Center (FIAC), span the years of 1980-2011, and contain extensive documentation of the events and crises surrounding asylum, deportation, detention and abuses that took place within Florida detention centers from the years 1980 to 2011, as well as documentation regarding issues of repatriation.
Being undocumented is not a crime
Collection comprises an 11.87" x 11.75" poster on undocumented immigrants.
Caribbean Sea Migration collection
[Digital Content Available] Materials from (or related to) the migration by sea of Cubans, Dominicans, and Haitians, including the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, largely dating from 1991-1996.
Collection on Cuban migrants in indefinite detention
Collection consists largely of correspondence from Cuban migrants
Darrin Zammit Lupi photojournalism archive
[Digital Content Available] Collection consists of several thousand documentary images and supporting documents, data, videos, news stories, and interviews from the project On Board the MV Aquarius, December 2017, by photojournalist Darrin Zammit Lupi, on assignment for the Reuters news agency.
Gary Monroe photographs
[Digital Content Available] Collection comprises 100 16x20 black-and-white gelatin silver prints shot by Monroe from 1980 to 1998 in Haiti, in Haitian neighborhoods in Florida, and in Krome Camp, Florida, where Haitian refugees are detained by the U.S. government.
International Center for Transitional Justice (ICTJ) records
The International Center for Transitional Justice (ICTJ) is a non-profit organization that assists post-conflict, conflict, and democratic countries in pursuing accountability for mass atrocities and human rights abuses.
Joan Preiss papers
Community and labor movement organizer in Durham, N.C.; chair of the Triangle Friends of the United Farm Workers; board member of the National Farm Worker Ministry; member of the Farmworker Ministry Committee, N.C. Council of Churches.
Mark Danner papers
The Mark Danner Papers date from 1970 to 2004 and focus predominately on Danner's coverage of Haiti during the period of unrest that followed President Jean-Claude ("Baby Doc") Duvalier's exile in 1986.
Marshall T. Meyer papers
[Digital Content Available] Progressive and activist rabbi. During his time in New York city as head of B'nai Jeshuruan in the 1980's and 1990's Meyer worked on asylum and sanctuary issues with Central American immigrants.
Marty Rosenbluth was Amnesty International's area specialist for Israel/Occupied Territories in the 1980s. He is also an independent documentary film-maker. The Marty Rosenbluth papers include publications, reports, case studies, press-releases, mailings, communications, leaflets, audiovisual recordings, and ephemera created by Palestinian and Israeli human rights groups.
National Coalition for Haitian Rights records
The National Coalition for Haitian Rights (NCHR) operated between 1982 and 2006, advocating for the rights of Haitians in the United States, Haiti, and the Caribbean.
Palestinian Oral History Project
[Digital Content Available] Twelve oral history interviews with students and artists from Palestine and the Palestinian diaspora.
Petra Barth photographs
Collection compromises photography documenting the cultures, politics, environments, and crises in countries all over the world. Series include The Americas, whose images range from Central and South American countries to Caribbean countries of Haiti and the Bahamas; migrants and migrant services at the Arizona/Mexico border.
Refugee Lives Oral History Project Collection
[Digital Content Available] Oral history interviews with local (NC) refugee families from Iraq and Sudan, and Syrian refugees now residing in Canada, Brazil, Lebanon, Germany, and Italy. All items are digital.
Roberta Cohen papers
The Roberta Cohen papers document Cohen's involvement with many NGOs, think tanks, government and United Nations bodies working on issues of international human rights, displacement, war, and humanitarianism. The Internally Displaced Persons (IDP) subseries covers Cohen's research and writings developing the concept of IDPs and advocating for its importance and use in international conceptualizations of refugees.
Student Action With Farmworkers records
Founded in 1992 at Duke University, Student Action with Farmworkers is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization based in Durham, N.C., whose mission is to bring students and farmworkers together to learn about each other’s lives, share resources and skills, improve conditions for farmworkers, and build diverse coalitions working for social change.
Videos by Latina Women: New Visions of the Globalizing South
[Digital Content Available] Videos and fieldnotes created by students in 2003, in the CDS Continuing Education course "Visual Storytelling" in collaboration with 8 Latina immigrants in North Carolina.
Women's Refugee Commission Records
Established in New York, New York, in 1989 as part of the International Rescue Committee. It advocates for laws, policies, and programs to improve the lives and protect the rights of refugee and internally displaced women, children, and adolescents.
The Centro Library and Archives
Primary (historical documents) and secondary sources about the history and culture of the Puerto Rican diaspora.
Cuban Heritage Collection
Digital collections developed by the Cuban Heritage Collection documenting Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present.
The Densho Archives contain primary sources that document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s, with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.
Korean American Digital Archive
The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
New Roots / Nuevas Raíces
A digital archive that contains the oral histories of Latin American migrants in North Carolina and the experiences of North Carolinians that have worked for the integration of new settlers into this southern state.
SAADA (the South Asian American Digital Archive)
SAADA creates a more inclusive society by giving voice to South Asian Americans through documenting, preserving, and sharing stories that represent their unique and diverse experiences.
The Southeast Asian Archive
The UCI Libraries Southeast Asian Archive collects, preserves, and makes accessible primary and secondary source materials documenting the history of the Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, and Vietnamese diaspora.