Duke Human Rights Archive: Incarceration, Detention, Capital Punishment

Americans for Immigrant Justice (formerly Florida Immigrant Advocacy Center [FIAC]) is a not-for-profit legal assistance organization dedicated to protecting and promoting the basic human rights of immigrants of all nationalities. The collection contains project files and correspondence regarding immigrant detention policy and conditions in the state of Florida, particularly concerning the Haitian community; legal documents regarding the same, including restricted and confidential legal files; and audiovisual material produced by or for FIAC.

The Baher Azmy Papers span the years 1986-2007, and consist of legal papers, correspondence, writings and press clippings. Materials pertain to the 2001 arrest in Pakistan of Turkish citizen and legal resident of Germany Murat Kurnaz, and his subsequent detention at the U.S. military base in Kandahar, Afghanistan and eventually at Guantánamo Bay Naval Base, Cuba

Materials from (or related to) the migration by sea of Cubans, Dominicans, and Haitians, including the refugee camp for Cuban and Haitian rafters that existed in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, largely dating from 1991-1996. Collection includes camp newspapers and artwork created by refugees held at Guantánamo Bay, Cuba; materials from the U.S. Coast Guard and other military sources, such as newspapers written in Haitian Creole, photocopies of camp rules and refugee intake procedures, and a transcript from an introductory video shown to refugees arriving at the camps; magazines and media coverage of refugee situations, including some material on Elián González; photographs and slides of refugees, Coast Guard personnel, and conditions in the camps in Cuba.

Dorsey & Whitney LLP is a Minneapolis-based business law firm whose lawyers took on the pro bono cases of Bahraini detainees at the Guantánamo Bay detention center.

Juan E. Méndez is a lawyer and human rights activist who is the former president of the International Center for Transitional Justice. This collection contains a portion of his writings, conference materials, subject and research files, and materials documenting his work with ICTJ and the United Nations, where he served as the Special Rapporteur on Torture and the Special Adviser for the Prevention of Genocide.

The National Coalition for Haitian Rights (NCHR) operated between 1982 and 2006, advocating for the rights of Haitians in the United States, Haiti, and the Caribbean.

The Preventing Medical Complicity in Torture collection includes research materials, video interviews, and other materials related to the creation and distribution of Martha Davis's documentary films Doctors of the Dark Side and Expert Witness on the participation of psychologists in interrogations and torture of detainees by the United States.

One hundred fifty-three video files of interviews with 149 former detainees and others -- attornies, chaplains, guards, government officials, human rights advocates, journalists -- who witnessed the impact of the Guantanamo Bay detention center in the post-911 years.

North Carolina affiliate of the American Civil Liberties Union, founded in 1965 and based in Raleigh.

Professor of law at Seton Hall University and attorney representing Guantánamo detainee Murat Kurnaz.

The Carolina Justice Policy Center (CJPC) was a nonprofit organization founded in 1975 under the name Prison and Jail Project in Durham, North Carolina, whose primary mission was criminal justice reform in North Carolina. The collection comprises CJPC's office files and records documenting its staff and activities over the span of four decades, as well as the work of other local, regional, and national organizations.

The Center for Death Penalty Litigation is a non-profit law firm that represents inmates on North Carolina’s death row. Its work often involves the investigation of racism and the judicial process, and the treatment of people with mental disabilities charged with crimes in North Carolina.

Progressive policy think-tank based in North Carolina. Spanning the years 1983 to 2008, the Common Sense Foundation (CSF) Records contain manuscript, print, audiovisual, and electronic materials related to the foundation's administration and work on various policy initiatives, which include the death penalty, taxation and economic justice, the environment, gay rights, health care, testing in public schools and other education issues, the tobacco industry, and North Carolina politics.

Dorsey & Whitney LLP is a Minneapolis-based business law firm whose lawyers took on the pro bono cases of Bahraini detainees at the Guantánamo Bay detention center.

Elizabeth Fink was a human rights lawyer who represented prisoners killed and injured during the 1971 Attica prison uprising.

Collection of incarceration and anarchist publications produced by South Chicago ABC Zine Distro.

Collection includes zines, newsletters, flyers, and a petition which document Inside-Outside Alliance's activism concerning the Durham County Jail and policing in Durham, North Carolina.

Jomo Joka Omowale, born as Cleveland McKinley Davis and also known as Eric Thompson, is a parolee in North Carolina who spent much of his life imprisoned in New York and Virginia. He was a leader of the Attica prison riot in 1971.

Juan E. Méndez is a lawyer and human rights activist who is the former president of the International Center for Transitional Justice, and served as the Special Rapporteur on Torture and the Special Adviser for the Prevention of Genocide for the UN.

Malcolm Bell is an author, lawyer, and whistle blower; he was formerly a prosecuting attorney for the State of New York's Department of Law task force investigating the September 1971 Attica Prison Uprising. Collection comprises Bell's extensive investigative notes, witness statements, legal memoranda, trial records, correspondence, writings, clippings, and subject files related to the Attica Uprising.

Marty Rosenbluth was Amnesty International's area specialist for Israel/Occupied Territories in the 1980s. He is also an independent documentary film-maker.

Established in 1935, The North Carolina Council of Churches is a statewide ecumenical organization promoting Christian unity and working towards a more just society. Prison reform is one theme within the collection.

The Preventing Medical Complicity in Torture collection includes research materials, video interviews, and other materials related to the creation and distribution of Martha Davis's documentary films Doctors of the Dark Side and Expert Witness on the participation of psychologists in interrogations and torture of detainees by the United States.

Law professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Former president of the North Carolina Center for Death Penalty Litigation. Collection focuses on the case of John Wesley Oliver, a former death row inmate in North Carolina.

This box set archives every issue of Tenacious: art & writings by women in prison, spanning two decades.

Walter J. Taylor was incarcerated at San Quentin and Folsom prisons from 1968 to 1973. While in jail, he founded the Sisters of Motivation and the Community Concern for Prisoners organizations to help African American convicts.

The Witness to Guantanamo project interviews those involved with detention at the post-9/11 Guantanamo Bay Naval Base. Subjects include former detainees, their legal counsel, family members of detainees, and personnel at the camps.

A Japanese-American artist's experiences during the war, including her life in relocation centers. From the Lisa Unger Baskin Collection.

This collection consists of a group of 38 diaries, 140 x 65 mm each, kept by Katsuichi Satow (also possible as Satō Katsuichi), a Japanese-American pastor who served at various Japanese Congregational churches between 1935 and 1981. Most notably, Satow and his family were detained during World War II at the Gila River War Relocation Center, an internment camp in Arizona. Diaries from 1941 and 1942 are missing, but volumes for 1943 and 1944 include occasional descriptions of his daily life at the camp.

Fictional narrative. The friendship between San Francisco girls Mitzi Fujimoto and Ruthie Fox is changed when World War II begins and Mitzi and her family are forced to go into an internment camp.

Collection comprises a Post War World Council newsletter (4 pgs.) from September 1942; topics include Japanese internment camps, the draft, India's independence, and feeding Europe.

School yearbooks from the Gila River Relocation Center, where many Japanese-Americans were interned during World War II.

High school yearbook from Butte High School in Rivers, Arizona. The high school was part of the Gila River Relocation Center, where many Japanese-Americans were interned during World War II.

Collection consists of examples of loyalty questionnaires issued by the United States' War Relocation Authority to interned and incarcerated first- and second-generation Japanese Americans in 1943.