Several collections in the Rubenstein Library provide rich material on the growing confluence between human rights and gender and sexual rights movements. Researchers can trace this emerging gendered dimension of human rights through various threads in our collections. Some material directly address gender and sexuality in a human rights framework. More often, though, the connection is more obtuse. Below is a list of collections in the Rubenstein Library that contain material related to human rights, gender, and sexuality.
Colleta Youngers papers. Colleta Youngers is a human rights researcher and policy advocate and has been with the Washington Office on Latin America (WOLA) since 1987.
Global Rights records: the Project Files Series includes documentation on Global Rights' work in advocating for women's rights (economic and sexual) and targeting sexual slavery and human trafficking.
International Center for Transitional Justice records: Collection includes material related to gender rights, sexual violence, and children.
International Monitor Institute records: The non-profit agency International Monitor Institute (IMI) was founded by Pippa Scott and operated between 1993 and 2003, primarily to assist international war-crimes tribunals by collecting, indexing and organizing visual evidence of violations of international human rights law. Their work with the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) helped establish rape as a war crime.
Ipas records: Collection of this global nongovernmental organization dedicated to ending preventable deaths and disabilities from unsafe abortion. Consists of Ipas publications from 1975 through 2010, including both electronic and printed formats, as well as Latin America and Carribean Programs material from 1987-2003, African Programs material from 1973-2004, and Marketing/Technology and Logistics/Product Promotion, and Distribution material from 1973-2004.
Jill Over Papers, 1966-2011: Feminist and social activist: involved in anti-war movement, abortion rights campaigns, youth and adolescent sex education, and pro-democracy movements in Latin America and Africa. Collection includes publications and research files related to human rights, social justice activism, and peace in Latin America and the United States; as well as ephemera, pamphlets, periodicals, and clippings related to youth liberation, sex education, reproductive health, and feminism, especially during the 1970s and 1980s. Acquired as part of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture and the Human Rights Archive (Duke University).
Las Libres Center records, around 2000-2008: Collection comprises brochures about sexual violence and access to emergency contraception in Guanajuato, and three note cards. Materials are primarily in Spanish, all but one include English translations.
Marshall T. Meyer papers: The collection documents Argentina's Dirty War and includes testimonies by female prisoners and mothers of the disappeared, as well as material related to Madres de Plaza de Mayo and Abuelas de Plaza de Mayo, two important Argentine human rights organizations founded and led by women.
Patricia Murphy Derian Papers: The Patricia Murphy Derian papers cover the years 1962-2008 and document Derian's involvement and interventions concerning human rights and civil liberties in the U.S. and worldwide. Derian was an activist, organizer, researcher, and served as the first Assistant Secretary of State for Bureau for Human Rights (HR) and Humanitarian Affairs (HA), created in 1977 by President Jimmy Carter. The collection includes materials about women's rights.
Robin Morgan Papers: The collection documents the personal, political, and professional aspects of the life of a leading feminist activist, political theorist, author, and poet of the twentieth century. Amongst many other aspects of her life, the files document Morgan's work as an early and long-standing editor of Ms. Magazine and the co-founder of feminist human rights organization, Sisterhood is Global Institute. (Part of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke)
Sisterhood is Global Institute (SIGI): International nonprofit NGO with Consultative Status to the United Nations, established in 1984 in New York, N.Y., with the goal of improving women's rights on local, regional, national, and global levels. SIGI founders included Robin Morgan, editor of the anthology SISTERHOOD IS GLOBAL, pioneering French feminist, Simone de Beauvoir, and a group of the anthology's international contributors. (Part of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture at Duke)
Small collections: Two small collections of printed material, Asamblea Permanente por los Derechos Humanos de Bolivia records, and Las Libres Center records contain material related to women's rights in Latin America.
Women's Refugee Commission: The Women's Refugee Commission, originally known as the Women's Commission for Refugee Women and Children, was founded in 1989 by Catherine O'Neill, Liv Ullmann, Susan Forbes Martin, and Susan Stark, with the support of the International Rescue Committee (IRC). It advocates for laws, policies, and programs to improve the lives and protect the rights of refugee and internally displaced women, children, and adolescents. The collection includes audiovisual materials (interviews, Voices of Courage luncheons, and footage from trips to refugee camps); field and research reports; children, education, and youth program materials; foundation files; former board and commission member files; Reproductive Health program materials and reports; and media binders for the Women's Refugee Commission. Countries represented include Cambodia, Afghanistan, Uganda, Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Thailand, Myanmar, Israel, Guatemala, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Pakistan, Liberia, Kosovo, Iraq, Zambia, Tanzania, the United States, and others.
