Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TIP: Newspaper articles are primary documents for the time period in which they were published. See the list of Recommended Databases for Newspapers - Latin American/Caribbean Studies.
An index to archival finding aids derived from major archival libraries and sources in the United States and the United Kingdom.
Primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
British Online Archives
Provide access to digitized copies of archives held in Britain, with a detailed finding aid for each archive. Includes material on the Americas
Historical documents, archives, photos, video from a collaboration of Mexican institutions.
Colonial State Papers
Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
In the First Person
Indexes 4000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives in English from around the world.
Latin American Government Documents Archive
A project of the U. of Texas that includes selected documents from the Presidents and ministries of 18 Latin American Countries.
Latin American Travelogues
A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. Presented by Brown University.
Making of the modern world: the Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature
The title is deceptive. This is NOT just about economics. The collection contains a wide variety of primary documents on social and political issues from the 15th century to the mid-19th century.
Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Online collection of thousands of documents on slavery and anti-slavery. The collection will be released in four parts. Duke currently has Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition.
UT-LANIC - University of Texas Latin American Network Information Center
A searchable collection of web sites relevant to all aspects of Latin American and Caribbean Studies, organized by country, theme and discipline.