Skip to main content

Middle East & Islamic Studies: Newspapers, Periodicals

EU and the Middle East

Working Group on the Middle East (WGME) of the European Parliamant

Ottoman History Podcast

A history podcast dedicated to presenting accessible and relevant information about the Ottoman Empire, the Mediterranean and Middle East. If you would like to come on the podcast to contribute a topic or discuss a recent publication, please email chrisgratien[at]gmail.com.

Loading ...

Islamopedia online

The mission of Islamopedia Online is to provide access to news and background analysis on Muslim countries and Islamic topics that are often absent from Western media because of language barriers or lack of familiarity with the country, the issues or players at stake. Islamopedia Online is a comprehensive database of the most influential religious figures across Muslim countries and their positions translated from Arabic, Urdu, and Farsi on issues like political violence, women and the rights of religious minorities. Islamopedia Online also provides a translation in English of major news at the intersection of religion and politics, as well as background analysis country profiles. There is also an original production of videos from scholars and journalists to better understand the current debates on Islam either in the West or in Muslim-majority countries.

Loading ...

Streaming Media

Streaming Movie Databases

AsiaPacific Films
This database contains films from Bangladesh, India, Iran, Iraq, and Lebanon as well as several Central Asian countries. Films are readily available online for Duke-affiliated patrons.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Films on demand
Films On Demand is a digital video delivery system hosting educational videos from the Films Media Group. to find films about the Middle East, browse Subjects -> Area Studies.
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
NC LIVE Video Collection
"The NC LIVE Video Collection is a collection of more than 250 high quality documentary and educational video programs produced for the Public Broadcasting Corporation. Chosen by North Carolina librarians for use in supporting education and for general interest, the collection includes programming covering the sciences, US and world history, biography, current events, and the arts, as well as a variety of other subjects. In addition, several educational series for children are included." Includes Islam: Empire of Faith.

Noteworthy

OpenNet Initiative (ONI)

OpenNet Initiative’s mission is to identify and document Internet filtering and surveillance, and to promote and inform wider public dialogs about such practices.Their latest report examines these practices in Middle Eastern and North African contexts. Click on the link below to see the report.

New Report:
Pro-Government Hackers


OpenNet Initiative (ONI)
Middle East & North Africa

 

The OpenNet Initiative (ONI) is a collaborative partnership of four leading academic institutions: the Citizen Lab at the Munk Centre for International Studies, University of Toronto; Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University; the Advanced Network Research Group at the Cambridge Security Programme, University of Cambridge; and the Oxford Internet Institute, Oxford University.

al-Tayyib Salih, 1929-2009 | الطيب صالح

Orhan Pamuk

Historical Newspapers, Periodicals

Go to: Arabic - Hebrew - Turkish - Ottoman Turkish - European Languages

Arabic

al-Ahram [microfilm]
Cairo
Perkins/Bostock Microfilm S25 - Available: 1973-present Check availability @ Duke
al-Daʻwah [microfiche].
al-Qāhirah: s.n.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms S9637 - Available: 1976-1981 Check availability @ Duke
al-Fuṣūl.
al-Qāhirah: s.n.
Library Service Center F996U - Available: 1950-1958; some missing issues. Check availability @ Duke
al-Iʻtiṣām [microfiche].
al-Qāhirah: s.n.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microforms S9638 - Available: 1978-1981 Check availability @ Duke
al-Jamiah al-Arabiyah [microfilm].
al-Quds al-Sharif: Munif al-Husayni, 1927-
Library Service Center S9561 rl.1(1927)-rl.5(1931:Jan./June) - Available: 1927-1935 Check availability @ Duke
al-Musawwar.
al-Qahirah : Muassasat Dar al-Hilal, 1924-
Library Service Center M985 U472 LSC - Avaialble no. 2963 (1981)-no. 3194 (1985) Check availability @ Duke
al-Shihab = Ach-Chihab
Bayrut : Dar al-Gharb al-Islami, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Periodicals S555B - Available 1925-1939; Index v. 16 Check availability @ Duke
al-Tawhid [microfiche].
Cairo : Jamaat Ansar al-Sunnah al-Muhammadiyah
Perkins/Bostock Library Microfiche S9639 - Available 1973-1981 Check availability @ Duke
Uktubir [serial].
al-Qahirah: Muassasat Uktubir al-Suhufiyah.
Library Service Center U35S K574 LSC - Available: no. 248 (July 26, 1981)-no. 479 (1985) Check availability @ Duke

Hebrew

ha-Aḥdut [microfiche].
Yerushalayim: Mifleget ha-poalim ha-Ivrim ha-sotsyal-demoḳratim be-Erets Yiśrael (Poale-Tsiyon)
Perkins/Bostock Library S9377 - Available: 1910-1915 Check availability @ Duke
ha-Boker [microfilm].
Tel Aviv: ha-Boker
Library Service Center S9366 - Available: 1935-1965 Check availability @ Duke
Do'ar ha-yom [microfilm]. / דאר היום.
Jerusalem: [s.n.], 1919-
Perkins/Bostock Library S9784 - Available: Aug. 8, 1919-June 19, 1936; Jan. 26-Feb. 16, 1940 Check availability @ Duke
Eshnav.
Tel-Aviv: Mifleget puale erets-Yisrael.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microfiche Check availability @ Duke

See also: Jewish Studies Guide

Turkish

Akbaba.
Istanbul: Çınar Yayınevı.
Rubenstein Library NC1660.T9 A313 yil.43:cilt.8:sayi.1-27(1964-1965) Check availability @ Duke
Bozkurt.Bozkurt
İstanbul, Turkey: Arkadaş Matbaası, 1939-
Rubenstein Library DS26 .B695 yil.1:sayi.1-2 (1939) Check availability @ Duke
Cafcaf.
Beşiktaş [Istanbul]: Küresel İletişim Merkezi Medya Yayıncılık Bilgisayar ve İnternet Hizmetleri Ticaret A.Ş.
Rubenstein Library Rare Books NC1660.T9 C129 - Available: issues 7, 33-48, 50-53, 56-58  Check availability @ Duke
Rubenstein Library Rare Books NC1660.T9 C129a - Available: issues sayi.18-32 Check availability @ Duke
Cumhuriyet. [microfilm]
Istanbul : Cumhuriyet Matbaacilik ve Gazetecilik.
Perkins/Bostock Library Microfilm S77S - Available: 1973-Nov. 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Dolmuş : Siyasi Mizah Mecmuasi.
Rubenstein Library NC1660.T9 D663 v.1(1956) - v.5(1958) Check availability @ Duke
Firt.
Cağaloğlu-İstanbul: Haldun Simavi, 1976-
Rubenstein Library NC1660.T9 F57 Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only) 1976-1986 Check availability @ Duke
Karikatür.
Istanbul: Ekicigil, 1958-
Rubenstein Library NC1660.T9 T198 cilt.1:sayi.14-26(1959) Check availability @ Duke
Rubenstein Library NC1660.T9 K375 1936-1946 Check availability @ Duke
Mizah.
Istanbul: Ramiz Gökçe, 1946-
Rubenstein Library NC1660.T9 M685 sayi.1-52:cilt.1-2(1946-1947) and cilt.3-4(1947-1948) Check availability @ Duke
Taş.
Istanbul, Turkey: Semih Balcıoğlu, 1958-
Rubenstein Library (Library Service Center, Rare Books (Reading Room only)) NC1660.T9 T198 cilt.1:sayi.14-26(1959) Check availability @ Duke

>>More Modern Turkish Periodicals...

Turkish, Ottoman

Afiyet. / عافىت.
İstanbul: Lüsyen Matbaası, استانبول : لوسين مطبعه‌سي، 1329 - 1913
Rubenstein Library RA770.5 .A4 sene.1-2(1913-1915) Check availability @ Duke

Bin Bir Buse

Arkadaş.
İstanbul: Arkadaş
Rubenstein Library AP95.T8 A75 1910, 1928
Bin bir buse : en şen en şuh hikâyeler. / بيگ بر بوسه : اگ شن، اگ شوخ حکايه‌لر.
İstanbul: Âmedi Matbaası
Rubenstein Library HQ470.T87 B56 no.4-10, 12, 14-15 (1923/1924) Check availability @ Duke
Cover of CemCem : haftalik musavver mizah mecmuasidir = Djém : revue politique, humoristique et satirique illustrée.
Istanbul : Matbaayi Ahmet Ihsan.
Rubenstein Library Rare Books Check availability @ Duke
Ceride-yi adliye.
Ankara, Turkey: Adliye Nezareti
Rubenstein Library K3 .E75  1909/10-1928
Check availability @ Duke
Çocuk dünyası. / چوجوق دنىاسي.
İstanbul: İkdam Matbaası
Rubenstein Library PL230 .C63 1913-1914
Check availability @ Duke
Kelebek. / کلبک.
İstanbul: Matbaa-yi Amire
Rubenstein Library PN6222.T87 K45 (1923-1924)
Check availability @ Duke
Mihrab. / مهراب.
İstanbul: Evkaf İslamiye Matbaası
Rubenstein Library DR401 .M54 1924  Check availability @ Duke
Muhazarat : muktatafât. / محاضرات : مقتطفات
İstanbul: Mihran Matbaası / استانبول : مهران مطبعه سى
Rubenstein Library Rare Books BP1 .M832 v.1-24
Check availability @ Duke Hathi Trust Digital Library and Internet Archive
Musavver PapağanMusavver papağan. / مصور پاپاغان.
Istanbul: Bağdadliyan Matbaası, 1908-1909.
Rubenstein Library NC1355.P36 Check availability @ Duke
 
 
 
 
 
 
Resimli kitab. / رسملى كتاب.
İstanbul, [s.n.], 1324-1329/1908-1913
Rubenstein Library (Reading Room Only) DR401 .R47 Check availability @ Duke
Şehbāl.
Istanbul: s.n., 1909-1914
Rubenstein Library AP95.T8 S4 Check availability @ Duke
Türk hayatı. / .تورک حىاتى
İstanbul: Waṭan Maṭbaʻasï
Rubenstein Library DR401 .T87 1925 - 1926
Check availability @ Duke

  >>More Ottoman-Turkish Periodicals...

European Languages

L'Egypte contemporaine.
Le Caire : Impr. de l'Institut français d'archéologie orientale, 1910-
Library Service Center E32C LSC Check availability @ Duke
The Jerusalem post [microfilm].
Jerusalem: Jerusalem Post Publications Ltd.
Perkins/Bostock Library S136 - Available: 1950- Check availability @ Duke
La Lettre.
Other Titles: La lettre de Rencontre et développement/CCSA; Lettre, Rencontre et développement, C.S.S.A.; Rencontre et développement.
Algeriers, Algeria
Rubenstein Library HN39.A35 .L64 1978-1988  Check availability @ Duke
La Nation arabe.
Farnham Common, England: Archive Editions, 1988.
Originally published monthly: Genève : Bureau de la délégation syro-palestinienne, 1930-1938
Library Service Center N277AB v.1 (1930)- v.4 (1938) Check availability @ Duke
The Palestine post.
Jerusalem: Palestine Bulletin.
Rubenstein Library 7933 Pamphlets - Available: Scattered issues for 1948 Check availability @ Duke

BBC Arabic Podcast

BBCArabic.com برامجنا
BBC Extra بي بي سي إكسترا خدمة

Loading ...

reuters.com

Loading ...

UN News - Middle East

Loading ...