Middle East & Islamic Studies: Palestine

Palestine is a Feminist Issue.

Palestinian Feminist Collective. We are committed to achieving Palestinian social and political liberation by confronting systemic gendered, sexual, and colonial violence, oppression, and dispossession.

Union of Palestinian Women Committees. A progressive feminist community organization. Founded in 1980, struggles to build a progressive, democratic Palestinian civil society free of all forms of discrimination in pursuit of justice.

Palestinian Women's Research & Documentation Center.

Joseph ,Suad, ed. Encyclopedia of Women in Islamic Countries.

Alqaisiya, Walaa. Decolonial queering in Palestine.

Atshan, Sa'ed. Queer Palestine and the empire of critique.

Cowper-Coles, Minna. Gender and political support : women and Hamas in the occupied Palestinian territories.

Hasso, Frances. Buried in the red dirt: race, reproduction, and death in modern Palestine.

Jād, Iṣlāḥ. Palestinian women's activism : nationalism, secularism, Islamism.

Kayali, Liyanna. Palestinian women and popular resistance: perceptions, attitudes and strategies.

Richter-Devroe, Sophie. Women's political activism in Palestine : peacebuilding, resistance, and survival.

Wick, Livia. Sumud: birth, oral history, and persisting in Palestine.

Libraries & Archives

Israeli Damage to Archives, Libraries, and Museums in Gaza, October 2023–January 2024: A Preliminary Report from Librarians and Archivists with Palestine.

Amit, Gash."Salvage or Plunder? Israel's "Collection" of Private Palestinian Libraries in West Jerusalem," in Journal of Palestine Studies 40 (4), Summer 2011. 

Doumani, Beshara. Archiving Palestine and the Palestinians: The Patrimony of Ihsan Nimr, in Jerusalem Quarterly 36, Winter 2009. 

Khader, Majed. “Challenges and Obstacles in Palestinian Libraries,” in Libraries in the Early 21st Century: An International Perspective. Volume 2, ed. Ravindra N. Sharma (Berlin: De Gruyter Saur, 2012), 17.

Sleiman, Hana. The Paper trail of a Liberation Movement, in Arab Studies Journal Vol. 24, Iss. 1, Spring 2016: 42-67.

Whitman-Abdelkarim, Chris. "Letters from Jerusalem: On Gaza You Cannot Erase Gaza!" in Jerusalem Quarterly 96, Winter 2023.  

Great Book Robbery film (2012, Al Jazeera)

Resources

Khalidi Library (Al Khalidiyya). The Khalidi Library (Al Khalidiyya), established in Jerusalem in 1900 by Haj Raghib al Khalidi (d.1951), is the first Arab public library established by private initiative in Palestine.

Birzeit University Digital Palestinian Archive. The project, launched in 2011, aims to preserve a large variety of documents, written and audio-visual, relating to the history of the Palestinian people over the past century, and donated by individuals, families and popular organizations. Birzeit, as a national university, is fully committed to placing its technical and academic resources at the service of this project, which continually digitizes, places online and makes available a wide variety of documents.

Palestine Nexus (Zachary Foster et al.): Rare Documents, Manuscripts, Books & Newspapers on the history of Palestine, Egypt, Lebanon, Turkey & the Ottoman Empire. 

 Palestine Liberation Organization Research Center, Beirut. 

Palestine Liberation Organization. The "activities" of the Hagana, Irgun and Stern bands: as recorded in British Command Paper no. 6873.

American University of Beirut (AUB): Palestine Oral History Project. 

Library of Congress. Muhammad Ali Eltaher Collection. 

Eltaher Collection (Library of Congress): The Palestine Arab case, a statement by the Arab Higher Committee, the body representing the Palestine Arabs. April 1947.

Eltaher Collection (Library of Congress): Palestine, the Arab case. Being a statement made...before the first committee of the General Assembly of the United Nation's [sic] Organization on 9th May 1947. 

United Nations, The Question of Palestine.

Palestine Remembered. 

Palestine: Spaces and Politics (PSP), is an open-access project that offers resources for education and research on Palestine’s built and natural environments through a critical lens. This initiative is a response to the growing demand for grounded academic resources on Palestine that offer depth and context beyond immediate colonial destruction.

Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP): Documents.

Fusako Shigenobu Archive.  Fusako Shigenobu (1945- ) is a political prisoner, poet, writer, mother, and revolutionary fighter for the liberation of Palestine. She was imprisoned for 21.5 years after dedicating her life to the fight against global imperialism.

Khazaaen. Khazaeen is a voluntary independent assosication, centered in Jerusalem, where it first started as an initiative in October of 2016 as a result of the collective effort of our Arab youth from different parts of the world.

At Duke University

"Frances Hasso collection, 1983-2015." This collection consists of printed materials collected by Hasso in the Middle East relating to gender, feminism, marriage, and women's rights in Egypt, Dubai, Palestine, and Jordan. Most of these items are printed materials from organizations such as the Palestinian Federation of Women's Action Committes, the National Council for Women (Egypt), and the Center for Egyptian Legal Assistance (CELWA).

Arab Political Posters. Collection contains 10 posters related to Palestine, e.g., Sabra and Shatilla (1982), Battle of Karameh (1968), etc. 

Palestine Student Films, 2012-2019. Forty-three films by 44 Palestinian student filmmakers, created between 2012 and 2020, documenting or portraying the political context and lived experience in the West Bank and Gaza.

Palestinian Oral History Project, 2017-2020.  Oral history interviews with Palestinian students and artists, created by Duke students for the course AMES 204FS, "Documenting the Middle East," taught by Nancy Kalow.

The Middle East online. Arab-Israeli relations, 1917-1970.

Foreign Office files for the Middle East, 1971-1981.

Accountability Archive is a crowdsourced record of journalists, politicians, and public figures endorsing or encouraging the ethnic cleansing of Gaza and/or defaming pro-Palestinian activists.

al-Mezan, s a non-governmental organization based in the Palestinian Jabalia refugee camp in the Gaza Strip. 

al-Haq, an independent Palestinian non-governmental human rights organisation based in Ramallah, West Bank. 

al-Shabaka, The Palestinian Policy Network. 

Bisan Centre for Research and Development, is a civil society non-profit, non-governmental organization in Ramallah. 

B’Tselem, is a Jerusalem-based non-profit organization whose stated goals are to document human rights violations in the Israeli-occupied Palestinian territories. 

Columbia Human Rights Web Archive (HRWA), Palestine.

Euro Med Human Rights Monitor.

Law for Palestine: Database of Israeli Incitement to Genocide. 

Palestinian Centre for Human Rights (PCHR).

Arab Canadian Lawyers Association. Anti-Palestinian Racism: Naming, Framing and Manifestations. 

Question of Palestine (United Nations): The Republic of South Africa institutes proceedings against the State of Israel and requests the Court to indicate provisional measures. 

International Court of Justice ruling 24 May 2024: Application of the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide in the Gaza Strip

Palestine Ministry of Culture. The Second Preliminary Report on the Cultural Sector Damage: War on Gaza Strip Oct. 7th - Dec. 6th 2023.  

Toward Nakba as a Legal Concept, Rabea Eghbariah (Columbia Law Reivew, 2024). 

Union of Palestinian Women’s Committee (UPWC).

Blog Series: Genocide in Gaza (Institute of Palestine Studies).

Books

Albanese, Francesca. Palestinian refugees in international law. 

Allen, Lorie. A history of false hope : investigative commissions in Palestine.

Welchman, Lynn. Al-Haq : a global history of the first Palestinian human rights organization.

Subject Heading Searches

SU: Human Rights & Gaza.

SU: Human Rights & West Bank.

SU: Human Rights & Palestine.

Jrayed – Arabic Newspaper Archive of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine.

Periodical collection of the al-Aqsa Mosque Library (1874-1955).

Al-Quds.

Official Gazette of the Palestinian Authority.

Early imprint publications on Palestine, 1921-1939.

Mideastwire.com.

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (Eastview/ Global Press archive).

الاهرام. / al-Ahrām.

Cumhuriyet.

Jara'id: A Chronology of Arabic Periodicals (1800-1929).

Palestine Land Society.

American University of Beirut (AUB): The Palestine Land Studies Center. 

Palestine Open Maps.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection West Bank and Gaza Maps.

مجعم اسماء المدن والقرى الفلسطينية : معانيها لغوين، ومعالها تاريخين وجغرافين / Mujʻam asmāʼ al-mudun wa-al-qurá al-Filasṭīnīyah : maʻānīhā lughawīyan, wa-maʻālimuhā tārīkhīyan wa-jughrāfīyan.

Abu-Sitta, Salman H. Atlas of Palestine, 1948.

Abu-Sitta, Salman H. Atlas of Palestine, 1917-1966.

An atlas of Palestine: The West Bank and Gaza.

Statistical atlas of Palestine, 2004.

Arab Barometer. Arab Barometer is a nonpartisan research network that provides insight into the social, political, and economic attitudes and values of ordinary citizens across the Arab world.

Arab Centre for Research and Policy Studies. The Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies is an independent social sciences and humanities institute that conducts applied and theoretical research seeking to foster communication between Arab intellectuals and specialists and global and regional intellectual hubs and based in Doha. 

Arab World for Research and Development (AWRAD). AWRAD is a pioneering research, consulting and development firm and based in Palestine. 

Palestine Centre for Policy and Survey Research. PSR is an independent nonprofit institution and think tank of policy analysis and academic research and based in Ramallah. 

Palestinian Museum Digital Archive.

Palestine Poster Project.

Arab political posters collection, 1970s, 2020-2021. Duke University. 

Palestinian and Lebanese Poster collection, 1960-1991. Duke University.

Bonfils studio photograph albums of Palestine, circa 1881. Duke University. 

Palestinian liberation movement collection. Yale University. 

Kempf, Hervé. Gaza: life in a cage.

Taranto, Ken. The settlements.

Snaije, Olivia and Mitchell Albert. Keep your eye on the wall : Palestinian landscapes.

Film

Ginsburg, Terri. Visualizing the Palestinian struggle : towards a critical analytic of Palestine solidarity film.

Yaqub, Nadia. Gaza on screen.

Yaqub, Nadia. Palestinian cinema in the days of revolution.

Subject Heading search, "Motion pictures -- Palestine."

A magical substance flows into me. 2016. 

Bye, Bye, Tiberias. 2023. 

Gaza. 2019. 

Gaza Ghetto: Portrait of a Palestinian Family, 1948-1984. at UNC, VHS, 1984. 

Gaza in Context. 2016. 

Home Movies Gaza. 2013. 

Omar. 2019. 

Palestine Film Institute. 

Paradise Now. 2005.

Palestinian women: a guide to cultural resistance. 2020.

Tantura.2022. 

Noce en Galilée = Wedding in Galilee. 1987, DVD.

Palestine Film Index. A list of over 400 Palestinian films. 

Additional films click here. 

Music

Radio alHara. Airing from Bethlehem, Palestine, Radio alHara began airing in 2020. 

Society for Arab Music Research (SAMAR): Educational Resources on Palestine.

Kofia: A revolution through music

Brehony, Louis. Palestinian music in exile: voices of resistance.

Kanaaneh, Moslih, Stig-Magnus Thorsén, Heather Bursheh, and David A. McDonald. Palestinian music and song: expression and resistance since 1900.

McDonald, David A. My voice is my weapon: music, nationalism, and the poetics of Palestinian resistance.

Rajieen | راجعين

Macklemore. Hind's Hall.

Mohammed Assef. Dami Falasteeni.

Daboor & Shabjdeed. Inn Ann. 

Elyanna. Olive branch. 

Elyanna. Ala Bali. 

Elyanna. Al Kawn Janni Maak. 

47SOUL  "Mo Light", "Don't Care Where You From" and "Jerusalem." (on NPR).

Kofia. Leve Palestina. 

Marcel Khalife. Ommi.

Marcel Khalife. At the Border. 

Le Trio Joubran. Dabke.

Omar Offendum. God is Love. 

Sanaa Moussa. Wea'youneha. 

Saint Levant. From Gaza, With Love.

Sary Hany Peaceful Night in Gaza. 

Zeyne featuring Saint Levant. Balak.