Middle East & Islamic Studies: Egypt (Cairo)

Newspapers

Mideast Wire. Translation into English of select Arabic news articles. 

Middle Eastern and North African newspapers. CRL & Eastview project of digitised newspapers. 

الاهرام. / al-Ahrām. The most prominent Egyptian newspaper. 

Cumhuriyet. The most prominent Turkish newspaper. 

Baghdad Observer. Ba'athist Iraqi newspaper. 

Mada Masr. Prominent Egyptian newspaper. 

Egypt Independent.

Arab World Newspapers at the Library of Congress, Egypt.

Primary Sources

The Avalon Project (Yale University). Documentary sources from 20th century. 

Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969. "The collection covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad."

Egyptian Postcards @Duke. Short description of the collection with images: Greetings from Egypt! أهلاً في مصر. 

Egyptian Postcards @American University in Cairo. 

The Giza Archives (Harvard & BMFA), Surrounding the Giza Pyramids are thousands of ancient tombs, temples, settlements, and artifacts. Archaeological discoveries continue to this day.

The Red Sea Region : sovereignty, boundaries & conflict, 1839-1967, collection documents the political and territorial changes within and between states bordering the Red Sea, or linked with it, including islands and European colonies. "This collection documents the political and territorial changes within and between states bordering the Red Sea, or linked with it, including islands and European colonies. Interstate and civil conflict, often, though not invariably, the result of such changes, is also well to the fore, with some attention to port development and oil concessions - except in the Gulf of Suez, there was no exploitation of coastal or seabed oil reserves before 1967, and has been none subsequently. The dates chosen inevitably reflect the British provenance of the records, corresponding as they do with Britain's acquisition of Aden in 1839 and departure from it in 1967, a period that saw the development and then the recession of European influence in the Red Sea. The European presence was not finally extinguished until 1977, when the Afars and Issas, the former French Somaliland, gained independence from France."

University on the Square: Documenting Egypt's 21st Century Revolution. "The University on the Square: Documenting Egypt's 21st Century Revolution digital collection features oral histories, photographs, video recordings, and visual art that document the January 25th Revolution. The digital collection preserves the history of the 18 Days in Egypt and beyond by collecting content from activists, participants, and observers from the American University in Cairo as well as members of the larger Egyptian and global communities."

Vannetzel, Marie, The Muslim Bothers in society : everyday politics, social action, and Islamism in Mubarak's Egypt.

Pahwa, Sumita, Politics as worship : righteous activism and the Egyptian Muslim Brothers.

Tonsy, Sara, The Egyptian army and the Muslim Brotherhood : contemporary political power dynamics.

Lo, Mbaye, Political Islam, justice and governance.

Sedgwick, Mark J., Muhammad Abduh.

Naiem, Girgis, Egypt's identities in conflict : the political and religious landscape of Copts and Muslims.

Gabra, Gawdat, Hany N. Takla (eds), Christianity and monasticism in northern Egypt : Beni Suef, Giza, Cairo, and the Nile Delta.

Tadros, Mariz, Copts at the crossroads : the challenges of building inclusive democracy in contemporary Egypt.

Gabra, Gawdat, Coptic civilization : two thousand years of Christianity in Egypt.

Buzi Paola, Alberto Camplani (eds.), Christianity in Egypt : literary production and intellectual trends : studies in honor of Tito Orlandi.

Hoffman, Adina, Sacred trash : the lost and found world of the Cairo Geniza.

Gabra, Gawdat, The history and religious heritage of old Cairo : its fortress, churches, synagogue, and mosque.

Sohn, Ruth H., Crossing Cairo : a Jewish woman's encounter with Egypt.

Beinin, Joel, The dispersion of Egyptian Jewry : culture, politics, and the formation of a modern diaspora.

Tahrir Documents.

Said, Atef Shahat, Revolution squared : Tahrir, political possibilities, and counterrevolution in Egypt.

Hydlig, Mikala (e.d), Cairo : images of transition : perspectives on visuality in Egypt, 2011-2013.

Mehrez, Samia (ed.), Translating Egypt's revolution: the language of Tahrir.

Ahmed Mansour, Mohamed Hassan, Digitizing historical Arabic typography: Bulaq Press contributions.

ʻAzab, Khālid Muḥammad, مطبعة بولاق / Maṭbaʻat Būlāq. 

ʻAzab, Khālid Muḥammad, الكتاب العربي المطبوع : من الجذور إلى مطبعة بولاق / al-Kitāb al-ʻArabī al-maṭbūʻ : min al-judhūr ilá maṭbaʻat Būlāq. 

Bulaq Press. Short history from the Biblioteca Alexandrina. 

Fāyiz, Sāmiḥ, Best seller : حكايات عن القراءة / Best seller : ḥikāyāt ʻan al-qirāʼah.

González-Quijano, Yves, Les gens du livre : édition et champ intellectuel dans l'Egypte républicaine. 

Hanna, Nelly, In praise of books : a cultural history of Cairo's middle class, sixteenth to the eighteenth century. 

Mestyan, Adam, Primordial History, Print Capitalism, and Egyptology in Nineteenth-Century Cairo : Mustafa Salama Al-Naggari's The Garden of Ismail's Praise. 

Wassef, Nadia, Shelf life : chronicles of a Cairo bookseller.

Yousef, Hoda A., Composing Egypt : reading, writing, and the emergence of a modern nation, 1870-1930. 

Duke University Libraries holds 49 Bulaq Press publications in Ottoman Turkish.

El-Kazaz, Sarah, Politics in the crevices : urban design and the making of property markets in Cairo and Istanbul.

AlSayya, Nezar d and Heba Safey Eldeen (eds.), Cinematic Cairo : Egyptian urban modernity from reel to real.

Selim, Gehan, Unfinished places : the politics of (re)making Cairo's old quarters.

Sedky, Ahmed, Living with heritage in Cairo : area conservation in the Arab-Islamic city:

Sanders, Paula, Creating medieval Cairo : empire, religion, and architectural preservation in nineteenth-century Egypt.

Elshahed, Mohamed, Cairo since 1900 : an architectural guide.

Prestel, Joseph Ben, Emotional cities : debates on urban change in Berlin and Cairo, 1860-1910.

Warner, Nicholas, The true description of Cairo : a sixteenth-century Venetian view.

Al Aswany, Alaa; translated by Humphrey Davies. The Yacoubian building

Al Khamissi, Khaled ; translated by Jonathan Wright, Taxi.

Ghali, Waguih, Beer in the Snooker Club.

Gokelaere-Nazir, Férial, Naguib Mahfouz et la société du Caire : romans et nouvelles 1938-1980.

Le Va, Britta, The Cairo of Naguib Mahfouz.

Lukas, Michael David, The last watchman of Old Cairo : a novel.

El Shafee, Magdy; translated by Chip Rossetti, Metro : a story of Cairo.

Mehrez, Samia (ed.), The literary life of Cairo : one hundred years in the heart of the city.

Mehrez, Samia (ed.), The literary atlas of Cairo : one hundred years on the streets of the city.

Arabic Literature in Translation. A website dedicated to English translations of Arabic literature, poetry, short stories, etc.