Noteworthy Site
Explore the lives of men and women in the Muslim world – from the sixteenth century to now – through their autobiographical writings. Writings are by Muslims and non-Muslims living in various social, cultural and political contexts. The authors range from scholars, saints and socio-religious reformers to princes, bureaucrats, nationalists, educators, writers and actors. Browse by category, region, time or name.
Open Acces Resources
is a blog which gathers and distributes information on materials relating to the Middle East housed in open access repositories (OAR) around the world.
Loading...
Noteworthy: Arab Spring
Ever since a man in Tunisia burned himself to death in December 2010 in protest at his treatment by police, pro-democracy rebellions have erupted across the Middle East. This timeline tracks the events up to early July, 2011.
> Go to Arab Spring 2011 Guide <
The Nobel Peace Prize 2011 Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee, Tawakkul Karman
BBC Profile: Nobel peace laureate Tawakul Karman
Democracy Now: Tawakkul Karman on Human Rights Abuses Enabled by 'War on Terror'
Guardian: Tawakul Karman, Yemeni activist, and thorn in the side of Saleh
New Report
Freedom on the Net 2012
Press Freedom in 2011: Breakthroughs and Pushback in the Middle East
(released April 2012)
The Middle East and North Africa saw dramatic if precarious gains in press freedom in 2011, and for the first time in eight years, global media freedom did not experience an overall decline, according to a Freedom House report released today. However, due to downgrades in some previously free countries, the percentage of the world’s population living in societies with a fully free press has fallen to its lowest level in over a decade.
Poor Places, Thriving People
(released Jan. 2011)
Duke only!
Geographical differences in living standards are a pressing concern for policymakers in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA). Economies of agglomeration mean that production is most efficient when concentrated in leading areas. So how can the region reduce spatial disparities in well-being without compromising growth? The solution to spatial disparities lies in matching the policy package to a lagging area’s specific characteristics. Key questions include: is the lagging area problem really as serious as one thinks; is it a problem of low economic opportunity or of poor human development; are lagging area populations close enough to agglomerations to benefit from spillovers; and is there manifest private investor interest?
A decade following September 11, 2001, Muslim Americans still face some public distrust and are more skeptical of law enforcement than are other U.S. faith communities. Despite these challenges, American followers of Islam are optimistic about their future, and they embrace their country's civic institutions and religious pluralism.
Common Concerns About Islamic Extremism: Muslim-Western Tensions Persist (released 7/21/2011)
Muslim and Western publics continue to see relations between them as generally bad, with both sides holding negative stereotypes of the other. Many in the West see Muslims as fanatical and violent, while few say Muslims are tolerant or respectful of women. Meanwhile, Muslims in the Middle East and Asia generally see Westerners as selfish, immoral and greedy – as well as violent and fanatical.
New: ONI Report
OpenNet Initiative’s mission is to identify and document Internet filtering and surveillance, and to promote and inform wider public dialogs about such practices.Their latest report examines these practices in Middle Eastern and North African contexts. Click on the link below to see the report.
The OpenNet Initiative (ONI) is a collaborative partnership of four leading academic institutions: the Citizen Lab at the Munk Centre for International Studies, University of Toronto; Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University; the Advanced Network Research Group at the Cambridge Security Programme, University of Cambridge; and the Oxford Internet Institute, Oxford University.
Noteworthy Sites
Arab Knowledge Report 2011
Digital Islam
Reserch on Middle East, Islam and digital media.
Euro-Islam.info
Euro-Islam.info is an active network of researchers and scholars who conduct comparative research on Islam and Muslims in the West and disseminate key information to politicians, media, and the public. Sponsored by GSRL Paris/CNRS France and Harvard University, the Euro-Islam research network consists of over forty researchers and hosts over 50,000 unique visitors each month. The site is recognized in political and media circles as the most reliable online reference for Islam in Europe.
EURISLAM: a bibliographical database on Islam in Europe
EURISLAM is an open access database available to all but designed especially for academics, public organisations and officials. It indexes publications concerning two major aspects of Islam in geographical Europe: the current state of Muslim populations in European societies (minority groups, immigration issues, leadership, institutions, public policies, trends, etc.) and Islam as religion (beliefs, practices, values, movements and schools of thought, etc.). The database contains reviews of press articles, books, contributions to collective publications, studies and reports, theses and grey literature. Currently, more than 4,300 references are consultable free of charge in French or English
New & Noteworthy
The Long Divergence: How Islamic Law Held Back the Middle East
Check Availability at Duke: Hardcopy
E-book
Table of Contents
Excerpt from Chapter 1
Visit the book's
facebook page
New Report
U.S.-Muslim Engagement Project in affiliation with the Search for Common Ground (SFCG) organization released a report entitled: "Changing Course: A New Direction for U.S. Relations with the Muslim World."
The report "represents the consensus of an exceptionally diverse, senior, bipartisan and inter-faith group of 34 American leaders who have worked together over the last 18 months. Their work was supported by Search for Common Ground and CBI, two organizations that specialize in building consensus on controversial public issues."
Conference
Key Reference Works

- Annual Reviews
- The Arabian Nights Encyclopedia
- Arabic Almanac (Searchable Arabic Dictionaries)
- Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
- Blackwell Companion to Contemporary Islamic Thought
- Blackwell Companion to the Qur'an
- Brockelmann Online
- Cambridge Companion to Muhammad
- The Cambridge History of Arabic Literature
- The Cambridge History of Egypt
- The Cambridge History of Iran
- The Cambridge History of Islam
- The Cambridge History of Turkey
- Christian-Muslim Relations: a Bibliographical History
- Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia (free)
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)
- Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers
- Encyclopædia of Islam
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
- Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
- Encyclopædia Iranica
- Encyclopædia Judaica
- Encyclopædia of the Qur'ān
- Islam in World Cultures
- Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon

- Literature Resource Center
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- The Statesman's Year-Book (1864-)
Current Events:
On the Internet
Note: For help with off-Campus access to databases, please see here.
Key Online Databases
| Streaming Films AsiaPacific Films This database contains films from Bangladesh, India, Iran, Iraq, and Lebanon as well as several Central Asian countries. Films are readily available online for Duke-affiliated patrons. For more streaming film resources, see here. |
Find Articles in:
- Anthropology Plus
- Art Full Text
- ATLA Religion Database
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- Central Asian Survey
- eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
- Historical Abstracts
- Index Islamicus
- International Bibliography of Periodical Literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences (IBZ)
- JSTOR
- Lexis/Nexis Academic
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS thru EBSCO)
- Multidata Online (Arabic Fulltext)
- Public Affairs International Service (PAIS)
- RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Find Primary Documents in:
- Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Dept. Central Classified Files
- Confidential Print (British): Middle East (1812-1969)
- Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Dept. Classified Files
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1949-1996
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
- Foreign Relations of the United States (US State Dept. Office of the Historian)
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), 1861-1960 (U Wisconsin)
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration
- Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994
- Middle East Online. Series 1: Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970
- Middle East Online. Series 2: Iraq, 1914-1974
- Digital National Security Archive
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
- United Nations General Assembly Resolutions 1946-
- United Nations Security Council Resolutions 1946-
- United Nations Official Documents System (ODS)
- U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958
- World News Connection (for FBIS/JPRS), 2003-
- Yearbook of the United Nations, 1946-2005
Find Country Statistics in:
- Datamonitor 360
- Global Development Finance (World Databank)
- Global Insight
- IMF eLibrary - Data
- OECD and IEA Statistics
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
- UN comtrade
- UNdata (free)
- World Bank Data (free) Incl. WDI & GDF
Find Images in:
- AP Images
- ArchNet
- ARTstor
- Flickr.com (free)
- Visual Media Collections at Duke (formerly MDID@Duke)
- Bridgeman Archive [use "Search for Images Only" box]
- Camio
- Artnet.com
- JSTOR [Select 'Advanced Search'; then make sure that you select 'caption' as the field to be searched from the drop-down list.]
- Insight Visual Collections
Note: For help with off-Campus access to databases, please see here.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Email christof.galli@duke.edu 227 Bostock Library Phone: (919) 660-5850 Fax: (919) 668-3134 Links: Profile & Guides |
Middle East @ Duke
- Duke in the Arab World, Summer 2012
- Duke Engage 2012 Cairo
- Duke Engage 2011 Cairo
- Duke in Turkey 2011 Blog
- Duke Islamic Studies Center (DISC)
- Duke U. Middle East Studies Center (DUMESC)
- DISC Core & Affiliated Faculty
- Courses
- Undergraduate Islamic Studies Certificate
- FOCUS Program
- Duke Engage Program
- Nomads of North Carolina
League of Arab States

League of Arab States
جامعة الدول العربية
The Arab League or League of the Arab States is a regional intergovernmental organization of Arab States in the Middle East and North Africa formed in Cairo on March 22, 1945. Seven states formed the League, defining its main goals as to: "draw closer the relations between member States and co-ordinate collaboration between them, to safeguard their independence and sovereignty, and to consider in a general way the affairs and interests of the Arab countries."
To find materials in Duke's Libraries about the Arab League, click here.










Loading...
