About This Guide
This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of religion at Duke University.

Naive drawing in the style of of an ancient map of Jerusalem [Image Credit].
Note About Spelling
When performing research in religious studies, there are often many variant spellings for the same term (especially in Asian religions, such as Tao versus Dao). Thus, it can be helpful to try out multiple spellings if you are having trouble finding information.
Table of Contents
- ChristianityDatabases & e-resources; Books; Primary sources; Encyclopedias & Dictionaries; Internet Resources pertaining to the study of Christianity.
- JudaismDatabases & e-resources; Books; Primary sources; Encyclopedias & Dictionaries; Internet Resources pertaining to the study of Judaism.
- IslamDatabases & e-resources; Books; Primary sources; Encyclopedias & Dictionaries; Internet Resources pertaining to the study of Islam. Additional resources listed in this Islamic Studies guide.
- HinduismDatabases & e-resources; Books; Primary sources; Encyclopedias & Dictionaries; Internet Resources pertaining to the study of Hinduism.
- BuddhismDatabases & e-resources; Books; Primary sources; Encyclopedias & Dictionaries; Internet Resources pertaining to the study of Buddhism.
- Chinese ReligionsDatabases & e-resources; Books; Primary sources; Encyclopedias & Dictionaries on the often intertwining religions of China. The main focus of these resources is Confucianism and Taoism, but some resources are provided for Chinese Buddhism and popular religion.
- World ReligionsDatabases & e-resources; Books; Primary sources; Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, on world religions, with a special emphasis on Shinto, Sikhism, Sufism, and Jainism.
General Resources
- ATLA Religion DatabaseThe ATLA Religion Database is a great resource to begin exploring peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in religious studies. It contains a wide scope of material concerning both Eastern and Western religions.
- Divinity School DatabasesThis page contains annotated links to several databases available to Duke students that are particularly useful for religious studies. Browse the list and see if there is a database that might be relevant to your specific information needs.
- Encyclopedia of ReligionThe Encyclopedia of Religion is a standard reference work in the field, providing a wide variety of information in its 15 volumes. Although it is not as detailed as subject-specific encyclopedias, it provides a wealth of information and bibliographies for further study.
Librarian |
![]() Contact Info Divinity School Library Lead contributor: Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Religion |









Loading...
