LibGuides: Religious Studies: Chinese Religions

Databases and e-Resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books published worldwide pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences)

The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Religion in China
This eBook provides a good overview of religion in China. It is divided into three sections: a historical survey, looking at religion in China over the course of its long history; a section on traditions, which looks at the distinct religions of China, including chapters on Christianity and Islam; and a section on major terms in Chinese religions. An excellent introductory resource.
Other Religion Databases
A broader list of databases related to subjects in religion.

Primary Resources at Rubenstein

Search for Books

Here are some examples of subject headings that can be used when searching for books on Chinese religions in Duke's library catalog or in other library catalogs via WorldCat. Use the facets on the left hand side of the search results page to further refine results.

China -- Religion	China -- Religious Life and Customs
Confucianism	Philosophy, Confucian
Taoism	Taoist Philosophy
Buddhism -- China	China -- Religion -- 20th Century

Reference Books

The Encylcopedia of Confucianism
Call Number: Ref BL1840 .R68 2003 v.1 c.1 in Divinity
The Encyclopedia of Confucianism is a comprehensive resource for information on the Confucian philosophy and religion. Entries are provided on important figures, doctrines, schools, rituals, and sacred places with bibliographies for further studies. A great resource for beginning research into Confucianism.
The Encyclopedia of Taoism
Call Number: Ref BL1920 .E539 2008 v.2 c.1 in Divinity
The Encyclopedia of Taoism is a comprehensive resource for information on Taoism. A detailed overview is provided at the beginning of the text explaining Taoist concepts, cosmology, and organization. This is followed by the encyclopedic entries, with bibliographic information usually provided. An excellent resource for understanding Taoism.
Historical Dictionary of Taoism
Call Number: Ref BL1923 .P37 1998 c.1 in Divinity
This dictionary provides coverage and definitions on topics for both Taoist philosophy and religion. An extensive bibliography is included at the end, organized by subject, and an introduction and chronology at the beginning provide great background information on Taoism.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ref BL31 .E46 2005 in Divinity, Lily, Perkins
The Encyclopedia of Religion is a standard reference work in the field, providing a wide variety of information in its 15 volumes. Although it is not as detailed as subject-specific encyclopedias, it still provides a wealth of information and bibliography for further study. Also available electronically