LibGuides: Religious Studies: Buddhism

Databases and e-Resources

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Search for academic journal articles, essays, and book reviews on major world religions. Includes Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books published worldwide pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences)
Oxford Bibliographies: Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in Buddhism

Other Religion Databases
A broader list of databases related to subjects in religion.

Primary Resources at Rubenstein

The following primary resources are housed at Duke's Rubenstein Library. Information on accessing these documents can be obtained by contacting the librarians at Rubenstein.

Search for Books

Here are some examples of subject headings that can be used when searching for books on Buddhism in Duke's library catalog or in other library catalogs via WorldCat. Use the facets on the left hand side of the search results page to further refine results.

Buddhism	Buddhism -- Sacred Books
Buddhism -- Doctrines	Buddhism -- History
Mahayana Buddhism	Buddhism -- India
Buddhism -- Japan	Buddhism -- China -- Tibet Autonomous Region

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BQ128 .E62 2004 in Divinity
This two-volume encyclopedia is a great resource for learning more about major Buddhist figures, beliefs, or even Buddhist perspectives on contemporary issues such as gender. The encyclopedia gathers articles from a number of authors for a variety of diverse perspectives, and entries include suggestions for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Damien Keown (Editor)
Call Number: Ref BQ128 .E53 2007 in Divinity
This encyclopedia serves as a great complement to Buswell's Encyclopedia of Buddhism. Although fewer authors contributed to this, there is still a great scope and depth to the work. However, entries do not provide a bibliography or suggestions for further reading so this may be a better resource for learning the basics of a topic rather than trying to find more resources for study.
A Dictionary of Buddhism
Call Number: Ref BQ130 .K469 2003 c.1 in Divinity
This dictionary provides definitions and explanations of many Hindu terms, figures, and concepts. Some maps documenting the Buddha's travels and the spread of Buddhism are provided. Since it is a dictionary, entries are not as comprehensive as the encyclopedias, but this is a great resource for quickly checking the meaning of a term.
Guide to Buddhist Religion
Call Number: Ref BQ4012 .R496 1981 c.1 in Divinity
This book provides bibliographies for a wide variety of fields of study in Buddhism, including its development and role in many nations of Asia. Because the text was written in 1981, it does not contain any recent scholarship. However, it may provide good resources as a starting point for study.