Religious Studies: Judaism

The Encyclopaedia Judaica is the premier reference work for Jewish religion and culture. Not limited strictly to the Jewish religion, the encyclopaedia also provides coverage for major figures and concepts in Jewish history and even into present-day Israel. The second edition was published in 2007, so it is filled with recent scholarship and touches even on the current landscape of Jewish religion and Israel, and bibliographies are provided for further study. An excellent resource to consult in any topic related to Judaism or Israel. Also available electronically.

This four-volume encyclopedia covers all major aspects of Judaism. Although it lacks the scope of the Encyclopaedia Judaica, the Encyclopedia of Judaism is more strictly focused on the religion rather than all things related to Jewish heritage. The two encyclopedias contain many similar entries, but they might approach the topics from different perspectives so you may want to consult both if one is not satisfactory. Some entries in this encyclopedia contain a bibliography or footnotes for further study, but not all of them.

This massive book provides coverage on major Jewish terms, thought, customs, laws, and practice. Although entries are not as comprehensive as the Encyclopaedia Judaica, it still provides a wealth of information and suggestions for further reading. A great resource to consult for quickly understanding a Jewish concept or for beginning research on a particular topic. Also available electronically.

This resource provides definitions and short summaries of major terms, people, and places from ancient Israel. Information is drawn from both the Old Testament and recent archaeological data to provide information. A great resource to check when seeking to understand Biblical figures or places from the Old Testament.